Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
205 ILCS 665/10
(205 ILCS 665/10)
(from Ch. 17, par. 5310)
Revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew license.
(a) The Secretary may revoke or suspend or refuse to renew any license if he finds that:
(1) any licensee has failed to pay the annual license
fee, or to maintain in effect the bond required under the provisions of this Act;
(2) the licensee has violated any provisions of this
Act or any rule, lawfully made by the Secretary within the authority of this Act;
(3) any fact or condition exists which, if it had
existed at the time of the original application for a license, would have warranted the Secretary in refusing its issuance; or
(4) any applicant has made any false statement or
representation to the Secretary in applying for a license hereunder.
(b) In every case in which a license is suspended or revoked or an
application for a license or renewal of a license is denied, the Secretary shall
serve notice of his action, including a statement of the reasons for his
actions, either personally or by certified mail, return receipt requested.
Service by mail shall be deemed completed if the notice is deposited in the
(c) In the case of a denial of an application or renewal of a license,
the applicant or licensee may request in writing, within
30 days after the date of service, a hearing. In the case of a denial of a
renewal of a license, the license shall be deemed to continue in force until 30
days after the service of the notice of denial, or if a hearing is requested
during that period, until a final administrative order is entered.
(d) An order of revocation or suspension of a license shall take effect upon
service of the order unless the licensee requests, in writing, within 10 days
after the date of service, a hearing. In the event a hearing is requested, the
order shall be stayed until a final administrative order is entered.
(e) If the licensee requests a hearing, the Secretary shall schedule either a status date or a
hearing within 30 days after the request for a hearing unless otherwise agreed
to by the parties.
(f) The hearing shall be held at the time and place designated by the
Secretary. The Secretary and any administrative law judge designated by him have
the power to administer oaths and affirmations, subpoena witnesses and compel
their attendance, take evidence, and require the production of books, papers,
correspondence, and other records or information that he considers relevant or
material to the injury.
(g) The costs for the administrative hearing shall be set by rule and shall be borne by the respondent.
(Source: P.A. 96-1420, eff. 8-3-10.)