Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

40 ILCS 5/6-128.4

    (40 ILCS 5/6-128.4) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 6-128.4)
    Sec. 6-128.4. Minimum widow's annuities.
    (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Article, beginning January 1, 1996, the minimum amount of widow's annuity payable to any person who is entitled to receive a widow's annuity under this Article is $700 per month, without regard to whether the deceased fireman is in service on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1995.
    (b) Notwithstanding Section 6-128.3, beginning January 1, 1994, the minimum widow's annuity under this Article shall be $700 per month for (1) all persons receiving widow's annuities on that date who are survivors of employees who retired at age 50 or over with at least 20 years of service, and (2) persons who become eligible for widow's annuities and are survivors of employees who retired at age 50 or over with at least 20 years of service.
    (c) Notwithstanding Section 6-128.3, beginning January 1, 1999, the minimum widow's annuity under this Article shall be $800 per month for (1) all persons receiving widow's annuities on that date who are survivors of employees who retired at age 50 or over with at least 20 years of service, and (2) persons who become eligible for widow's annuities and are survivors of employees who retired at age 50 or over with at least 20 years of service.
    (d) Notwithstanding Section 6-128.3, beginning January 1, 2004, the minimum widow's annuity under this Article shall be $900 per month for all persons receiving widow's annuities on or after that date, without regard to whether the deceased fireman is in service on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 93rd General Assembly.
    (e) Notwithstanding Section 6-128.3, beginning January 1, 2005, the minimum widow's annuity under this Article shall be $1,000 per month for all persons receiving widow's annuities on or after that date, without regard to whether the deceased fireman is in service on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 93rd General Assembly.
    (f) Notwithstanding Section 6-128.3, beginning January 1, 2017, the minimum widow's annuity under this Article shall be no less than 125% of the Federal Poverty Level for all persons receiving widow's annuities on or after that date, without regard to whether the deceased fireman is in service on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly. For purposes of this Section, "Federal Poverty Level" means the poverty guidelines applicable to an individual in a single-person household located in Illinois, as updated periodically in the Federal Register by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under the authority of 42 U.S.C. 9902(2).
(Source: P.A. 99-905, eff. 11-29-16.)