Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
35 ILCS 505/13a.5
(35 ILCS 505/13a.5)
(from Ch. 120, par. 429a5)
As to a commercial motor vehicle operated in Illinois in
the course of interstate traffic by a motor carrier not holding a motor fuel
use tax license issued under this Act, a single trip permit
authorizing operation of such commercial motor vehicle for a single trip into the State of Illinois,
through the State of Illinois, or from a point on the border of this State to a
point within and return to the border may be issued by the Department or its
agents after proper application. The fee for each single trip permit shall be
$40 and such single trip permit shall be valid for a period of 96 hours.
shall be in lieu of the tax required by
Section 13a of this Act, all reports required by Section 13a.3 of this
Act, and the registration, decal display and
furnishing of bond required by Section 13a.4 of this Act. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section to the contrary, however, the Director of Revenue or his designee may, upon determining that a disaster exists in Illinois or in any other jurisdiction, temporarily waive the permit provisions of this Section for commercial motor vehicles that travel into the State of Illinois, through Illinois, or return to Illinois from a point outside Illinois, for the purpose of assisting in disaster relief efforts. Temporary waiver of the permit provisions of this Section shall not exceed a period of 30 days from the date the Director waives the permit provisions of this Section. For purposes of this Section, a disaster includes flood, tornado, hurricane, fire, earthquake, or any other disaster that causes or threatens loss of life or destruction or damage to property of such a magnitude as to endanger the public health, safety, and welfare. The permit provisions of this Section shall be temporarily waived only if the operator of the commercial motor vehicle can provide proof by manifest that the commercial motor vehicle is traveling through Illinois or returning to Illinois from a point outside Illinois for purposes of assisting in disaster relief efforts. Rules or regulations
promulgated by the Department under this Section shall provide for reasonable
and proper limitations and restrictions governing application for and issuance
and use of, single trip permits, so as to preclude evasion of the license
requirement in Section 13a.4.
(Source: P.A. 100-1171, eff. 1-4-19.)