Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

30 ILCS 230/2

    (30 ILCS 230/2) (from Ch. 127, par. 171)
    Sec. 2. Accounts of money received; payment into State treasury.
    (a) Every officer, board, commission, commissioner, department, institution, arm or agency brought within the provisions of this Act by Section 1 shall keep in proper books a detailed itemized account of all moneys received for or on behalf of the State of Illinois, showing the date of receipt, the payor, and purpose and amount, and the date and manner of disbursement as hereinafter provided, and, unless a different time of payment is expressly provided by law or by rules or regulations promulgated under subsection (b) of this Section, shall pay into the State treasury the gross amount of money so received on the day of actual physical receipt with respect to any single item of receipt exceeding $10,000, within 24 hours of actual physical receipt with respect to an accumulation of receipts of $10,000 or more, or within 48 hours of actual physical receipt with respect to an accumulation of receipts exceeding $500 but less than $10,000, disregarding holidays, Saturdays and Sundays, after the receipt of same, without any deduction on account of salaries, fees, costs, charges, expenses or claims of any description whatever; provided that:
        (1) the provisions of (i) Section 2505-475 of the
    
Department of Revenue Law (20 ILCS 2505/2505-475), (ii) any specific taxing statute authorizing a claim for credit procedure instead of the actual making of refunds, (iii) Section 505 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, (iv) Section 85 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, authorizing the Director of State Police to dispose of forfeited property, which includes the sale and disposition of the proceeds of the sale of forfeited property, and the Department of Central Management Services to be reimbursed for costs incurred with the sales of forfeited vehicles, boats or aircraft and to pay to bona fide or innocent purchasers, conditional sales vendors or mortgagees of such vehicles, boats or aircraft their interest in such vehicles, boats or aircraft, and (v) Section 6b-2 of the State Finance Act, establishing procedures for handling cash receipts from the sale of pari-mutuel wagering tickets, shall not be deemed to be in conflict with the requirements of this Section;
        (2) any fees received by the State Registrar of Vital
    
Records pursuant to the Vital Records Act which are insufficient in amount may be returned by the Registrar as provided in that Act;
        (3) any fees received by the Department of Public
    
Health under the Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act that are submitted for renewal of an expired food service sanitation manager certificate may be returned by the Director as provided in that Act;
        (3.5) the State Treasurer may permit the deduction of
    
fees by third-party unclaimed property examiners from the property recovered by the examiners for the State of Illinois during examinations of holders located outside the State under which the Office of the Treasurer has agreed to pay for the examinations based upon a percentage, set by rule by the State Treasurer in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, of the property recovered during the examination; and
        (4) if the amount of money received does not exceed
    
$500, such money may be retained and need not be paid into the State treasury until the total amount of money so received exceeds $500, or until the next succeeding 1st or 15th day of each month (or until the next business day if these days fall on Sunday or a holiday), whichever is earlier, at which earlier time such money shall be paid into the State treasury, except that if a local bank or savings and loan association account has been authorized by law, any balances shall be paid into the State treasury on Monday of each week if more than $500 is to be deposited in any fund.
Single items of receipt exceeding $10,000 received after 2 p.m. on a working day may be deemed to have been received on the next working day for purposes of fulfilling the requirement that the item be deposited on the day of actual physical receipt.
    No money belonging to or left for the use of the State shall be expended or applied except in consequence of an appropriation made by law and upon the warrant of the State Comptroller. However, payments made by the Comptroller to persons by direct deposit need not be made upon the warrant of the Comptroller, but if not made upon a warrant, shall be made in accordance with Section 9.02 of the State Comptroller Act. All moneys so paid into the State treasury shall, unless required by some statute to be held in the State treasury in a separate or special fund, be covered into the General Revenue Fund in the State treasury. Moneys received in the form of checks, drafts or similar instruments shall be properly endorsed, if necessary, and delivered to the State Treasurer for collection. The State Treasurer shall remit such collected funds to the depositing officer, board, commission, commissioner, department, institution, arm or agency by Treasurers Draft or through electronic funds transfer. The draft or notification of the electronic funds transfer shall be provided to the State Comptroller to allow deposit into the appropriate fund.
    (b) Different time periods for the payment of public funds into the State treasury or to the State Treasurer, in excess of the periods established in subsection (a) of this Section, but not in excess of 30 days after receipt of such funds, may be established and revised from time to time by rules or regulations promulgated jointly by the State Treasurer and the State Comptroller in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. The different time periods established by rule or regulation under this subsection may vary according to the nature and amounts of the funds received, the locations at which the funds are received, whether compliance with the deposit requirements specified in subsection (a) of this Section would be cost effective, and such other circumstances and conditions as the promulgating authorities consider to be appropriate. The Treasurer and the Comptroller shall review all such different time periods established pursuant to this subsection every 2 years from the establishment thereof and upon such review, unless it is determined that it is economically unfeasible for the agency to comply with the provisions of subsection (a), shall repeal such different time period.
(Source: P.A. 94-556, eff. 9-11-05.)