Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
20 ILCS 2610/9
(20 ILCS 2610/9)
(from Ch. 121, par. 307.9)
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the appointment of
Department of State Police officers shall be made from those applicants who
have been certified by the Board as being qualified for appointment. All
persons so appointed shall, at the time of their appointment, be not less than
21 years of age, or 20 years of age and have successfully completed an associate's degree or 60 credit hours at an accredited college or university. Any person
appointed subsequent to successful completion of an associate's degree or 60 credit hours at an accredited college or university shall not have power of arrest, nor shall he or she be permitted
to carry firearms, until he or she reaches 21 years of age. In addition,
all persons so certified for appointment shall be of sound mind and body, be of
good moral character, be citizens of the United States, have no criminal
records, possess such prerequisites of training, education, and experience as
the Board may from time to time prescribe so long as persons who have an associate's degree or 60 credit hours at an accredited college or university are not disqualified, and shall be required to pass
successfully such mental and physical tests and examinations as may be
prescribed by the Board. All persons who meet one of the following requirements are deemed to have met the collegiate educational requirements:
(i) have been honorably discharged and who have been
awarded a Southwest Asia Service Medal, Kosovo Campaign Medal, Korean Defense Service Medal, Afghanistan Campaign Medal, Iraq Campaign Medal, or Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal by the United States Armed Forces;
(ii) are active members of the Illinois National
Guard or a reserve component of the United States Armed Forces and who have been awarded a Southwest Asia Service Medal, Kosovo Campaign Medal, Korean Defense Service Medal, Afghanistan Campaign Medal, Iraq Campaign Medal, or Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal as a result of honorable service during deployment on active duty;
(iii) have been honorably discharged who served in a
combat mission by proof of hostile fire pay or imminent danger pay during deployment on active duty; or
(iv) have at least 3 years of full active and
continuous military duty and received an honorable discharge before hiring.
Preference shall be given in such appointments to
persons who have honorably served in the military or naval services of the
United States. All appointees shall serve a probationary period of 12 months
from the date of appointment and during that period may be discharged at the
will of the Director. However, the Director may in his or her sole discretion
extend the probationary period of an officer up to an additional 6 months when
to do so is deemed in the best interest of the Department. Nothing in this subsection (a) limits the Board's ability to prescribe education prerequisites or requirements to certify Department of State Police officers for promotion as provided in Section 10 of this Act.
(b) Notwithstanding the other provisions of this Act, after July 1,
1977 and before July 1, 1980, the Director of State Police may appoint and
promote not more than 20 persons having special qualifications as special
agents as he or she deems necessary to carry out the Department's objectives. Any
such appointment or promotion shall be ratified by the Board.
(c) During the 90 days following the effective date of this amendatory Act
of 1995, the Director of State Police may appoint up to 25 persons as State
Police officers. These appointments shall be made in accordance with the
requirements of this subsection (c) and any additional criteria that may be
established by the Director, but are not subject to any other requirements of
this Act. The Director may specify the initial rank for each person appointed
under this subsection.
All appointments under this subsection (c) shall be made from personnel
certified by the Board. A person certified by the Board and appointed by the
Director under this subsection must have been employed by the Illinois Commerce
Commission on November 30, 1994 in a job title
subject to the Personnel Code and in a position for which the person was
eligible to earn "eligible creditable service" as a "noncovered employee", as
those terms are defined in Article 14 of the Illinois Pension Code.
Persons appointed under this subsection (c) shall thereafter be subject to
the same requirements and procedures as other State police officers. A person
appointed under this subsection must serve a probationary period of 12 months
from the date of appointment, during which he or she may be discharged at the
will of the Director.
This subsection (c) does not affect or limit the Director's authority to
appoint other State Police officers under subsection (a) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 100-11, eff. 7-1-17; 101-374, eff. 1-1-20