Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

5 ILCS 420/4A-105

    (5 ILCS 420/4A-105) (from Ch. 127, par. 604A-105)
    Sec. 4A-105. Time for filing. Except as provided in Section 4A-106.1, by May 1 of each year a statement must be filed by each person whose position at that time subjects him to the filing requirements of Section 4A-101 unless he has already filed a statement in relation to the same unit of government in that calendar year.
    Statements must also be filed as follows:
        (a) A candidate for elective office shall file his
    
statement not later than the end of the period during which he can take the action necessary under the laws of this State to attempt to qualify for nomination, election, or retention to such office if he has not filed a statement in relation to the same unit of government within a year preceding such action.
        (b) A person whose appointment to office is subject
    
to confirmation by the Senate shall file his statement at the time his name is submitted to the Senate for confirmation.
        (b-5) A special government agent, as defined in item
    
(1) of Section 4A-101 of this Act, shall file a statement within 30 days after making the first ex parte communication and each May 1 thereafter if he or she has made an ex parte communication within the previous 12 months.
        (c) Any other person required by this Article to file
    
the statement shall file a statement at the time of his or her initial appointment or employment in relation to that unit of government if appointed or employed by May 1.
    If any person who is required to file a statement of economic interests fails to file such statement by May 1 of any year, the officer with whom such statement is to be filed under Section 4A-106 of this Act shall, within 7 days after May 1, notify such person by certified mail of his or her failure to file by the specified date. Except as may be prescribed by rule of the Secretary of State, such person shall file his or her statement of economic interests on or before May 15 with the appropriate officer, together with a $15 late filing fee. Any such person who fails to file by May 15 shall be subject to a penalty of $100 for each day from May 16 to the date of filing, which shall be in addition to the $15 late filing fee specified above. Failure to file by May 31 shall result in a forfeiture in accordance with Section 4A-107 of this Act.
    Any person who takes office or otherwise becomes required to file a statement of economic interests within 30 days prior to May 1 of any year may file his or her statement at any time on or before May 31 without penalty. If such person fails to file such statement by May 31, the officer with whom such statement is to be filed under Section 4A-106 of this Act shall, within 7 days after May 31, notify such person by certified mail of his or her failure to file by the specified date. Such person shall file his or her statement of economic interests on or before June 15 with the appropriate officer, together with a $15 late filing fee. Any such person who fails to file by June 15 shall be subject to a penalty of $100 per day for each day from June 16 to the date of filing, which shall be in addition to the $15 late filing fee specified above. Failure to file by June 30 shall result in a forfeiture in accordance with Section 4A-107 of this Act.
    All late filing fees and penalties collected pursuant to this Section shall be paid into the General Revenue Fund in the State treasury, if the Secretary of State receives such statement for filing, or into the general fund in the county treasury, if the county clerk receives such statement for filing. The Attorney General, with respect to the State, and the several State's Attorneys, with respect to counties, shall take appropriate action to collect the prescribed penalties.
    Failure to file a statement of economic interests within the time prescribed shall not result in a fine or ineligibility for, or forfeiture of, office or position of employment, as the case may be; provided that the failure to file results from not being included for notification by the appropriate agency, clerk, secretary, officer or unit of government, as the case may be, and that a statement is filed within 30 days of actual notice of the failure to file.
    Beginning with statements required to be filed on or after May 1, 2009, the officer with whom a statement is to be filed may, in his or her discretion, waive the late filing fee, the monetary late filing penalty, and the ineligibility for or forfeiture of office or position for failure to file when the person's late filing of a statement or failure to file a statement is due to his or her (i) serious or catastrophic illness that renders the person temporarily incapable of completing the statement or (ii) military service.
(Source: P.A. 96-550, eff. 8-17-09.)