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 1        AN ACT in relation to vehicles.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing  Sections  1-102.1,  3-413,  12-205, 12-208, 12-501,

 6    12-608, and 13-101 as follows:

 7        (625 ILCS 5/1-102.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 1-102.1)

 8        Sec. 1-102.1. Antique vehicle.

 9        A motor vehicle that is more than 25 years of  age  or  a

10    bonafide  replica  of  a  vehicle  more  than 25 years of age                         __________________________________________

11    thereof and which is driven on the highways only going to and      -------

12    returning from an antique auto show or an exhibition, or  for

13    servicing  or  demonstration, or a fire-fighting vehicle more

14    than  20  years  old  which  is  not  used  as  fire-fighting

15    equipment but is used only for the purpose of  exhibition  of

16    demonstration.

17    (Source: P.A. 78-667.)

18        (625 ILCS 5/3-413) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-413)

19        Sec. 3-413.  Display of registration plates, registration

20    stickers and driveway decal permits.

21        (a)  Registration plates issued for a motor vehicle other

22    than   a  motorcycle,  trailer,  semitrailer,  truck-tractor,

23    apportioned bus, or apportioned truck shall  be  attached  to                                                                 __

24    the  vehicle  thereto,  one in the front and one in the rear.      ____________                    -------

25    The registration plate issued for a  motorcycle,  trailer  or

26    semitrailer  required  to  be  registered  hereunder  and any

27    apportionment plate issued to a bus under the  provisions  of

28    this  Code  shall  be  attached  to  the  rear  thereof.  The

29    registration   plate   issued   for  a  truck-tractor  or  an

30    apportioned truck required to be registered  hereunder  shall
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 1    be attached to the front thereof.

 2        (b)  Every  registration  plate  shall  at  all  times be

 3    securely fastened in a horizontal position to the vehicle for

 4    which it is issued so as to prevent the plate  from  swinging

 5    and  at  a height of not less than 12 inches from the ground,

 6    measuring from the bottom of  such  plate,  in  a  place  and

 7    position  to  be clearly visible and shall be maintained in a

 8    condition to be clearly legible, free from any materials that

 9    would obstruct the visibility of the plate,   including,  but

10    not  limited  to,  glass  covers  and  tinted plastic covers.

11    Clear plastic covers are permissible as long as  they  remain

12    clear  and  do  not  obstruct  the  visibility of the plates.

13    Registration stickers issued as evidence  of  renewed  annual

14    registration  shall  be  attached  to  registration plates as

15    required by the Secretary of State, and be clearly visible at

16    all times.

17        (c)  Every driveway decal permit issued pursuant to  this

18    Code shall be firmly attached to the inside windshield of the

19    motor  vehicle  in  such  a  manner that it cannot be removed

20    without being destroyed.  If such decal permits  are  affixed

21    to  a  motor  vehicle in any other manner the permit shall be

22    void and of no effect.

23        (d)  The Illinois  prorate  decal  issued  to  a  foreign

24    registered  vehicle  part  of a fleet prorated or apportioned

25    with Illinois, shall be displayed on a registration plate and

26    displayed on the front of such vehicle in the same manner  as

27    an Illinois registration plate.

28        (e)  The  registration  plate  issued  for  a camper body

29    mounted on a truck displaying registration  plates  shall  be

30    attached to the rear of the camper body.

31        (f)  No  person  shall  operate a vehicle, nor permit the

32    operation of a vehicle, upon which is displayed  an  Illinois

33    registration plate, plates or registration stickers after the

34    termination  of  the  registration period for which issued or

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



                            -3-                LRB9215731DHgc

 1    after the expiration date set pursuant to Sections 3-414  and

 2    3-414.1 of this Code.

 3    (Source: P.A. 89-245, eff. 1-1-96; 89-375, eff. 8-18-95.)

 4        (625 ILCS 5/12-205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-205)

 5        Sec. 12-205. Lamps on other vehicles and equipment. Every

 6    vehicle,  including  animal  drawn  vehicles,  referred to in

 7    paragraph (b) of Section 12-101, not specifically required by

 8    the provisions of this Article to be equipped with  lamps  or

 9    other  lighting  devices,  shall  at  all  times specified in

10    Section 12-201 of this Act be equipped with at least 2  lamps

11    on the power or towing unit, displaying a white light visible

12    from  a  distance of not less than 1,000 feet to the front of

13    the such vehicle and shall also be equipped with 2 lamps each      ___          ----

14    displaying a red light visible from a distance  of  not  less

15    than 1,000 feet to the rear of such vehicle.

16        Where  the  towed  unit  or any load thereon partially or

17    totally obscures the 2 lamps displaying red light to the rear

18    of the towing unit, the rearmost towed unit shall be equipped

19    with 2 lamps displaying red light visible from a distance  of

20    not less than 1,000 feet to the rear of such towed unit which

21    are  positioned  in  such  a  manner  as  to not obstruct the

22    visibility  of  the  red  light  to  any   vehicle   operator

23    approaching  from  the rear of such vehicle or combination of

24    vehicles.

25        Where the 2 lamps displaying red light are  not  obscured

26    by  the  towed  unit  or its load, then either towing unit or

27    towed unit, or  both,  may  be  equipped  with  the  2  lamps

28    displaying red light as required.

29        The   preceding  paragraph  does  not  apply  to  antique

30    vehicles. An antique vehicle shall be equipped with lamps  of

31    the  same  type  originally  installed by the manufacturer as

32    original equipment and in working order.

33    (Source: P.A. 85-830.)
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 1        (625 ILCS 5/12-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-208)

 2        Sec. 12-208. Signal lamps and signal devices.

 3        (a)  Every  vehicle  other  than   an   antique   vehicle

 4    displaying  an  antique plate operated in this State shall be

 5    equipped with a stop lamp or lamps on the rear of the vehicle

 6    which shall display a red  or  amber  light  visible  from  a

 7    distance  of  not  less  than  500 feet to the rear in normal

 8    sunlight and which shall be actuated upon application of  the

 9    service   (foot)  brake,  and  which  may  but  need  not  be

10    incorporated with other rear lamps. During times when lighted

11    lamps are not required, an antique vehicle  may  be  equipped

12    with  a stop lamp or lamps on the rear of the such vehicle of                                                ___                                                    ----

13    the same type originally installed  by  the  manufacturer  as

14    original  equipment  and  in  working  order. However, at all

15    other times, such antique vehicle must be equipped with  stop

16    lamps meeting the requirements of Section 12-208 of this Act.

17        (b)  Every  motor  vehicle  other than an antique vehicle

18    displaying  an  antique  plate  shall  be  equipped  with  an

19    electric  turn  signal  device  which  shall   indicate   the

20    intention  of  the driver to turn to the right or to the left

21    in the form of flashing lights located at and showing to  the

22    front  and  rear  of  the  vehicle on the side of the vehicle

23    toward which the turn is to be made. The lamps showing to the

24    front shall be mounted on the same level and as widely spaced

25    laterally as practicable and, when signaling,  shall  emit  a

26    white or amber light, or any shade of light between white and

27    amber.  The lamps showing to the rear shall be mounted on the

28    same level and as widely spaced laterally as practicable and,

29    when signaling, shall emit a red or amber light.  An  antique

30    vehicle  shall  be  equipped with a turn signal device of the

31    same  type  originally  installed  by  the  manufacturer   as

32    original equipment and in working order.

33        (c)  Every trailer and semitrailer shall be equipped with

34    an  electric turn signal device which indicates the intention
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 1    of the driver in the power unit to turn to the  right  or  to

 2    the  left in the form of flashing red or amber lights located

 3    at the rear of the vehicle on the side toward which the  turn

 4    is  to  be  made  and mounted on the same level and as widely

 5    spaced laterally as practicable.

 6        (d)  Turn signal lamps must be visible from a distance of

 7    not less than 300 feet in normal sunlight.

 8        (e)  Motorcycles and  motor-driven  cycles  need  not  be

 9    equipped  with  electric  turn signals. Antique vehicles need

10    not be equipped with turn signals unless such were  installed

11    by the manufacturer as original equipment.

12    (Source: P.A. 77-37.)

13        (625 ILCS 5/12-501) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-501)

14        Sec.  12-501.  Windshields and safety glazing material in

15    motor vehicles. (a) Every motor  vehicle  operated  upon  the

16    highways  of  this  State  shall  be  equipped  with  a front

17    windshield which complies with those standards as established

18    pursuant to this Section and Section  12-503  of  this  Code.

19    This  subsection  shall  not apply to motor vehicles designed

20    and  used  exclusively  for  off-highway  use,   motorcycles,

21    motor-driven  cycles,  motorized  pedalcycles,  nor  to motor

22    vehicles registered as antique  vehicles  when  the  original

23    design   of   those  such  vehicles  did  not  include  front                    _____                           ----

24    windshields.

25        (b)  No person shall knowingly sell  any  1936  or  later

26    model  motor  vehicle  unless  such  vehicle is equipped with

27    safety  glazing   material   conforming   to   specifications

28    prescribed  by  the  Department  wherever glazing material is

29    used  in  doors,   windows   and   windshields.   Regulations

30    promulgated by the Department specifying standards for safety

31    glazing  material on windshields shall, as a minimum, conform

32    with those applicable Federal Motor Vehicles Safety Standards

33    (49  CFR  571.205).  These  provisions  apply  to  all  motor
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 1    vehicles of the first and second division but with respect to

 2    trucks, including truck  tractors,  the  requirements  as  to

 3    safety glazing material apply to all glazing material used in

 4    doors,  windows  and windshields in the drivers' compartments

 5    of such vehicles.

 6        (c)  It is unlawful for the owner  or  any  other  person

 7    knowingly  to  install  or cause to be installed in any motor

 8    vehicle  any  glazing  material  other  than  safety  glazing

 9    material conforming to the specifications prescribed  by  the

10    Department.

11    (Source: P.A. 85-1144.)

12        (625 ILCS 5/12-608) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-608)

13        Sec.  12-608.   Bumpers.  (a)  It is shall be unlawful to                                            __                                               --------

14    operate any motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight  rating

15    of  9,000 pounds or less or any motor vehicle registered as a

16    recreational vehicle under this Code on any highway  of  this

17    State unless such motor vehicle is equipped with both a front

18    and rear bumper.

19        Except as indicated below, maximum bumper heights of such

20    motor  vehicles  shall  be  determined  by weight category of

21    gross vehicle weight rating  (GVWR)  measured  from  a  level

22    surface to the highest point of the bottom of the bumper when

23    the  vehicle  is  unloaded  and the tires are inflated to the

24    manufacturer's recommended pressure.

25        Maximum bumper heights are as follows:

26                                     Maximum Front   Maximum Rear

27                                     Bumper height  Bumper Height

28    All motor vehicles of the first

29        division except multipurpose

30        passenger vehicles:          22 inches          22 inches

31    Multipurpose passenger vehicles and

32    all other motor vehicles:

33        4,500 lbs. and under GVWR    24 inches          26 inches
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 1        4,501 lbs. through 7,500

 2        lbs. GVWR                    27 inches          29 inches

 3        7,501 lbs. through 9,000

 4        lbs. GVWR                    28 inches          30 inches

 5        For any vehicle  with  bumpers  or  attaching  components

 6    which  have  been  modified  or  altered  from  the  original

 7    manufacturer's  design  in  order to conform with the maximum

 8    bumper requirements of this section, the bumper height  shall

 9    be measured from a level surface to the bottom of the vehicle

10    frame  rail  at  the  most forward and rearward points of the

11    frame rail.  The bumper on any vehicle so modified or altered

12    shall be at least 4.5 inches in vertical height and extend no

13    less than the width of the respective wheel tracks  outermost

14    distance.

15        However,  nothing  in  this  Section  shall  prevent  the

16    installation of bumper guards.

17        (b)  This  Section  shall  not  apply  to  motor vehicles

18    designed or modified primarily for off-highway purposes while

19    such vehicles are in tow or to motorcycles  or  motor  driven

20    cycles,  nor to motor vehicles registered as antique vehicles

21    when the original design of such  vehicles  did  not  include

22    bumpers.  The  provisions  of this Section shall not apply to

23    any motor vehicle driven during the first 1000 recorded miles

24    of that vehicle, when such vehicle is owned or operated by  a

25    manufacturer,  dealer  or  transporter  displaying  a special

26    plate or plates as described in Chapter 3 of this Code  while

27    such vehicle is (1) being delivered from the manufacturing or

28    assembly   plant   directly   to  the  purchasing  dealer  or

29    distributor,  or  from  one  dealership  or  distributor   to

30    another;  (2)  being  moved by the most direct route from one

31    location to another for the  purpose  of  installing  special

32    bodies  or  equipment;  or  (3)  being driven for purposes of

33    demonstration by a prospective buyer with the dealer  or  his

34    agent   present   in  the  cab  of  the  vehicle  during  the
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 1    demonstration.

 2        The dealer shall, prior to the  receipt  of  any  deposit

 3    made  or  any  contract  signed  by  the  buyer to secure the

 4    purchase  of  a  vehicle,  inform  such  buyer,  by   written

 5    statement signed by the purchaser to indicate acknowledgement

 6    of  the  contents  thereof, of the legal requirements of this

 7    Section regarding front and rear bumpers if such  vehicle  is

 8    not to be equipped with bumpers at the time of delivery.

 9        (c)  Any   violation   of  this  Section  is  a  Class  C

10    misdemeanor.  A second conviction under this Section shall be

11    punishable with a fine of not less  than  $500.   An  officer

12    making  an  arrest under this Section shall order the vehicle

13    driver to remove the vehicle  from  the  highway.   A  person

14    convicted  under  this  Section shall be ordered to bring his

15    vehicle into compliance with this Section.

16    (Source: P.A. 86-498.)

17        (625 ILCS 5/13-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-101)

18        Sec. 13-101.  Submission to safety test;  Certificate  of

19    safety.   To  promote the safety of the general public, every

20    owner  of  a  second  division  vehicle,  medical   transport

21    vehicle,   tow   truck,   or  contract  carrier  transporting

22    employees in the course of their employment on a  highway  of

23    this  State  in  a  vehicle  designed  to  carry  15 or fewer

24    passengers shall,  before  operating  the  vehicle  upon  the

25    highways of Illinois, submit it to a "safety test" and secure

26    a  certificate  of  safety  furnished  by  the  Department as

27    provided set forth in Section 13-109.  Each  second  division      ________               ---------

28    motor  vehicle  that pulls or draws a trailer, semitrailer or

29    pole trailer, with a gross weight of more than 8,000  lbs  or

30    is  registered  for  a  gross  weight of more than 8,000 lbs,

31    motor bus, religious organization  bus,  school  bus,  senior

32    citizen   transportation  vehicle,  and  limousine  shall  be

33    subject to inspection by the Department and the Department is
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 1    authorized  to  establish  rules  and  regulations  for   the

 2    implementation of such inspections.

 3        The  owners  of each salvage vehicle shall submit it to a

 4    "safety test" and secure a certificate of safety furnished by

 5    the  Department  prior  to  its  salvage  vehicle  inspection

 6    pursuant to Section 3-308 of this Code.

 7        However, none of the provisions of Chapter  13  requiring

 8    safety tests or a certificate of safety shall apply to:

 9             (a)  farm   tractors,   machinery   and  implements,

10        wagons,  wagon-trailers  or  like  farm   vehicles   used

11        primarily in agricultural pursuits;

12             (b)  vehicles  other  than  school buses, tow trucks

13        and medical transport vehicles owned  or  operated  by  a

14        municipal  corporation  or political subdivision having a

15        population of 1,000,000 or more inhabitants and which are

16        subject to safety tests imposed  by  local  ordinance  or

17        resolution;

18             (c)  a  semitrailer or trailer having a gross weight

19        of 5,000 pounds or  less  including  vehicle  weight  and

20        maximum load;

21             (d)  recreational vehicles;

22             (e)  vehicles  registered as and displaying Illinois

23        antique vehicle plates;

24             (f)  house trailers equipped  and  used  for  living

25        quarters;

26             (g)  vehicles  registered as and displaying Illinois

27        permanently mounted equipment plates or similar  vehicles

28        eligible therefor but registered as governmental vehicles

29        provided  that  if  said  vehicle  is reclassified from a

30        permanently mounted equipment plate so  as  to  lose  the

31        exemption  of not requiring a certificate of safety, such

32        vehicle must be safety  tested  within  30  days  of  the

33        reclassification;

34             (h)  vehicles  owned  or operated by a manufacturer,
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 1        dealer or  transporter  displaying  a  special  plate  or

 2        plates  as described in Chapter 3 of this Code while such

 3        vehicle is being  delivered  from  the  manufacturing  or

 4        assembly  plant  directly to the purchasing dealership or

 5        distributor, or being temporarily road driven for quality

 6        control testing, or from one  dealer  or  distributor  to

 7        another, or are being moved by the most direct route from

 8        one  location  to  another  for the purpose of installing

 9        special bodies or equipment, or driven  for  purposes  of

10        demonstration  by  a prospective buyer with the dealer or

11        his agent present in the cab of the  vehicle  during  the

12        demonstration;

13             (i)  pole trailers and auxiliary axles;

14             (j)  special mobile equipment;

15             (k)  vehicles  properly  registered in another State

16        pursuant to  law  and  displaying  a  valid  registration

17        plate;

18             (l)  water-well boring apparatuses or rigs;

19             (m)  any  vehicle which is owned and operated by the

20        federal government and externally  displays  evidence  of

21        such ownership; and

22             (n)  second division vehicles registered for a gross

23        weight  of  8,000 pounds or less, except when such second

24        division  motor  vehicles  pull  or   draw   a   trailer,

25        semi-trailer  or pole trailer having a gross weight of or

26        registered for a gross weight of more than 8,000  pounds;

27        motor  buses; religious organization buses; school buses;

28        senior citizen transportation vehicles; medical transport

29        vehicles and tow trucks.

30        The safety test shall include the testing and  inspection

31    of  brakes,  lights,  horns, reflectors, rear vision mirrors,

32    mufflers, safety chains, windshields and  windshield  wipers,

33    warning  flags  and flares, frame, axle, cab and body, or cab

34    or body, wheels, steering apparatus, and other safety devices
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 1    and appliances required by this Code and  such  other  safety

 2    tests  as  the  Department may by rule or regulation require,

 3    for second division vehicles, school buses, medical transport

 4    vehicles, tow trucks, vehicles designed to carry 15 or  fewer

 5    passengers   operated  by  a  contract  carrier  transporting

 6    employees in the course of their employment on a  highway  of

 7    this State, trailers, and semitrailers subject to inspection.

 8        For tow trucks, the safety test and inspection shall also

 9    include  the inspection of winch mountings, body panels, body

10    mounts, wheel lift swivel points, and sling straps, and other

11    tests and inspections the Department by rule requires for tow

12    trucks.

13        For trucks, truck tractors, trailers, semi-trailers,  and

14    buses,  the safety test shall be conducted in accordance with

15    the Minimum Periodic Inspection Standards promulgated by  the

16    Federal  Highway  Administration  of  the  U.S. Department of

17    Transportation and contained in Appendix G to Subchapter B of

18    Chapter III of Title 49 of the Code of  Federal  Regulations.

19    Those  standards,  as  now in effect, are made a part of this

20    Code, in the same manner as though they were set out in  full

21    in this Code.

22        The  passing of the safety test shall not be a bar at any

23    time to prosecution for operating a second division  vehicle,

24    medical transport vehicle, or vehicle designed to carry 15 or

25    fewer  passengers  operated by a contract carrier as provided

26    in  this  Section  which  is  unsafe  as  determined  by  the

27    standards prescribed in this Code.

28    (Source: P.A. 92-108, eff. 1-1-02.)
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