State of Illinois
92nd General Assembly

   [ Search ]   [ PDF text ]   [ Legislation ]   
[ Home ]   [ Back ]   [ Bottom ]



 1                          HOUSE RESOLUTION

 2        WHEREAS,  The  members   of   the   Illinois   House   of
 3    Representatives  are  pleased  to  honor  milestones  in high
 4    school sports in the State of Illinois; and

 5        WHEREAS, The Fenwick High School Girls Varsity Basketball
 6    Team,  the  Friars,  won  the  IHSA  State  Class  AA   Girls
 7    Basketball  Championship  held  in  Redbird  Arena in Normal,
 8    Illinois, on March 3, 2001; and

 9        WHEREAS, The Friars met the challenge by first  defeating
10    their  archrival, the Marshall Commandos, in the quarterfinal
11    game by the score of 63-54; they then defeated the New  Trier
12    Trevians  in  the  semi-final  game  by  the  score of 56-42;
13    finally, they faced the Neuqua Valley Wildcats in  the  final
14    game;  in  the  end,  the Wildcats were defeated by the final
15    score of 65-32,  the  most  one-sided  victory  in  Class  AA
16    history;  and sending home the Friars with the school's first
17    State Girls Basketball Championship; and

18        WHEREAS, The Friars victory  capped  off  an  outstanding
19    season;  the 2000-2001 Fenwick Friars squad was ranked number
20    one not only in the  State  of  Illinois,  but  also  in  the
21    country; and

22        WHEREAS,  The  coach  of  the Fenwick Friars, Dave Power,
23    became the first coach  in  Illinois  history  to  win  State
24    basketball  championships with two different schools, Fenwick
25    in 2001 and Immaculate Heart of Mary in 1987; he also  picked
26    up the 500th victory of his career during the playoffs; and

27        WHEREAS,  The  Friars  team  consists  of  Nicole Rivera,
28    Kristin  Heidloff,  Breanne  Smilie,   Ravon   Gengler,   Amy
29    Atchison,  Julie  Van  Grinsven,  Jackie  Konrad, Erin Walsh,
30    Michele Szatko, Margeret  Knap,  Elizabeth  Marino,  Courtney
31    Harvey,  Casey Walsh, Claudette Towers, Sarah Kwasinski, Erin
                            -2-                LRB9208409RHrh
 1    Lawless, Jennifer Krauss, Sarah  Bulvan,  and  Traci  Pawlak;
 2    they  were led by coach Dave Power and assistant coaches Jana
 3    Mathis, Bill Power, John Weaver, and Dale Heidloff; the  team
 4    ended the season with 36 wins and 2 losses; therefore, be it

 7    we congratulate the Friars, the  Fenwick  High  School  Girls
 8    Varsity Basketball Team, on winning the 2001 IHSA State Class
 9    AA Girls Basketball Championship; and be it further

10        RESOLVED,  That  a  suitable  copy  of this resolution be
11    presented to the principal of Fenwick High  School  James  J.
12    Quaid,  Ph.D.,  the  coach of the Fenwick Friars, Dave Power;
13    assistant coaches, Jana Mathis, Bill Power, John Weaver,  and
14    Dale  Heidloff;  and  to  each  member of the 2001 IHSA State
15    Class AA Girls Basketball Championship team.

[ Top ]