92_HR0940 LRB9216904RHrhA

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, Long before September 11, 2001 and the national
- 3 surge of patriotism, the members of the Hillsboro Sertoma
- 4 Club distinguished themselves with a unique program of
- 5 honoring veterans of American wars; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Instead of honoring a specific individual with
- 7 their prestigious "Service to Mankind Award", in 2000 they
- 8 honored the veterans of World War II and in 2001 they honored
- 9 the veterans of the Korean War; and;
- 10 WHEREAS, In 2002, the Hillsboro Sertoma Club recognized
- 11 veterans of the Vietnam War at the annual "Service to Mankind
- 12 Award" Dinner on April 5; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Honored by the Club were Vietnam Veterans from
- 14 the Air Force, including Raymond McPhail, Diane Mayse, and
- 15 Harold Parks; veterans from the Army, including, Roger Myers,
- 16 Bill Baran, LeRoy Hartel, Richard Gifford, John Etcheson,
- 17 Leroy Brewer, and Jim Blakeman; and veterans from the Marine
- 18 Corps, including William Hartman, Mike Gaither, and Kevin
- 19 Eddington; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Guest speakers for the evening were charter
- 21 member Dr. Walter "Chick" Bishop and Mike Gaither, both
- 22 veterans of the Vietnam War; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The event sparked memories as the veterans
- 24 recalled their specific duties; they served honorably for
- 25 their country during a time of crisis, and many paid a high
- 26 price during battle; therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 28 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 29 we honor our Vietnam Veterans for their dedicated and
- 30 committed service to the United States during the Vietnam War
- 31 and we also congratulate the Hillsboro Sertoma Club for its

- 1 unique and exemplary program of honoring veterans; and be it
- 2 further
- RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 4 presented to Raymond McPhail, Diane Mayse, Harold Parks,
- 5 Roger Myers, Bill Baran, LeRoy Hartel, Richard Gifford, John
- 6 Etcheson, Leroy Brewer, Jim Blakeman, William Hartman, Mike
- 7 Gaither, and Kevin Eddington and to Club president Doug Galer
- 8 as an expression of our esteem.