LRB9216657RHrh

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to recognize milestone events in high 4 school sports in the State of Illinois; and

5 WHEREAS, Westinghouse High School's Boy's Varsity 6 Basketball Team, the Warriors, won the IHSA State Class AA 7 Basketball Championship on March 16, 2002 at Carver Arena in 8 Peoria, Illinois; and

WHEREAS, The Warriors met the challenge by first 9 10 defeating the Panthers of Glenbard North High School in the quarterfinal game; they then went on to defeat the Trevians 11 of New Trier High School in the semifinal game; finally, they 12 13 faced Springfield's Lanphier High School in the final game; 14 in the end, the Lions of Lanphier were defeated by a final score of 76 to 72, and the Warriors were going home with 15 their first State Championship trophy, and the Chicago Public 16 17 League's first championship since 1998; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Westinghouse Warriors include 18 19 Parief Smith, Stephen Collum, Jamaal Brown, Cortney Thornton, 20 Clide Crosby, Darren Gafford, Randon Williams, Richard Russell, Jamarcus Ellis, Johnny Collier, Anthony Bennett, 21 Edward Whitaker, Byron Booker, DeAndre Billingsley, Aaron 22 Moore, Darius Glover; the athletic director is Clark Morgan; 23 the head coach is Chris S. Head; and the assistant coaches 24 are Quitman Dillard, Henry Cotton, Ormon O'Quinn, and Michael 25 Farmer; and 26

27 WHEREAS, The Warriors finished their season with 30 wins28 and 5 losses; therefore, be it

29 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 30 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 31 we congratulate the Westinghouse Warriors on capturing its first ISHA State Class AA Boy Basketball Championship Trophy
in its school's history; and be it further

RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to Dr. Lona C. Bibbs, the Principal of Westinghouse High School, athletic director Clark Morgan, head coach Chris S. Head, assistant coaches, Quitman Dillard, Henry Cotton, Ormon O'Quinn, and Michael Farmer, and to each member of the team as an expression of our esteem.

-2-