LRB9213275RHrhA

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives offer our sincere congratulations to the 4 Driscoll Catholic High School Football Team on winning the 5 Class 4A State Championship Title in Champaign on November 6 23, 2001; and

7 WHEREAS, Driscoll Catholic High School, located in
8 Addison, first opened its doors to students in 1966; and

9 WHEREAS, Under the direction of the Diocese of Joliet,
10 Driscoll was first founded by the School Sisters of St.
11 Francis and the Brothers of the Christian Schools; and

12 WHEREAS, Driscoll's Principal Stephen Marth and Athletic 13 Director Robert Carlson have worked to build a strong 14 athletic program; and

15 WHEREAS, The Driscoll Highlanders overcame opening the 16 football season with a 0-2 record yet went on to 12 17 consecutive victories and defeated Mt. Carmel in double 18 overtime by a score of 42-41 to secure the Class 4A 19 Championship; and

20 WHEREAS, The Highlanders advanced to the Class 3A 21 Semifinals last year; and

22 WHEREAS, Head Football Coach Tim Racki has been part of 23 the Driscoll football program since being on the first 24 Highlanders' playoff team in 1986; and

25 WHEREAS, With the support of Assistant Coaches Mike 26 Burzawa, Larry Guida, Joe Petro, Mike Locansole, Bob 27 LaMantia, Branson New, John Pullia, Mark Morgan, Bill Erzig, 28 Chip Forestor, Nick Cicero, Bob Crowe, Shawn Nykaza, Dan 29 Cepek, and John Bertagna, Driscoll won its first state title 30 since 1991; and 1 WHEREAS, Motivated by the leadership of Captains Victor 2 Arlis, Mike Senese, Kentin Lathrope, Mike Freeman, Jim 3 Vozzella, Mike Tenuto, Jeremy Netzer, Paul Whetsel, team 4 members demonstrated true spirit and commitment to their 5 sport; and

6 WHEREAS, Driscoll's senior football players Paul Whetsel, 7 Michael Senese, Jeremy Netzer, Tim Hayden, Bobby Fennell, 8 Mike Tenuto, Victor Arlis, Chris Agdeppa, Mike Freeman, Jon 9 Gorogianis, Nick Anton, Dan Pokorny, James Vozzella, Manuel 10 Calvillo, Chris Tronco, Bruce Troutman, Kentin Lathrope, Bob 11 LaMantia, Bill LaBrack, Bobby Jacobsen, Wiener Pressard, and 12 Mike Paluszkiewicz, guided their younger teammates; and

WHEREAS, Junior Quarterback Matt Mahaney lead the team on the field finishing the game 11 of 20 for 167 yards and two touchdowns; and

16 WHEREAS, The strong defensive core held Mt. Carmel to 17 just 139 yards in the second half and stopped a Mt. Carmel 18 2-point conversion pass, giving the Highlanders the 42-41 19 double-overtime victory; and

20 WHEREAS, The offensive line rallied to surpass a 28-18 21 Mt. Carmel lead and score 24 points in the second half of the 22 game; and

23 WHEREAS, The special teams had an outstanding game with 24 Sophomore Greg Turner, who had a 31 yard kickoff return and 25 Junior Anthony Gebhard who returned two kickoffs for a total 26 of 83 yards; and

27 WHEREAS, Freshman Kicker Rick Albreski hit a 32 yard 28 field goal and converted all four extra points, including the 29 game winning extra point; and

30 WHEREAS, This achievement is a source of inspiration to 31 the entire Driscoll community, contributing to the successful

-2-

educational and athletic programs at Driscoll; therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-4 SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we do 5 hereby offer our congratulations to the Driscoll Catholic 6 High School Football Team; and be it further

7 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 8 presented to Driscoll Catholic High School Principal Stephen 9 Marth, Athletic Director Robert Carlson and the Head Coach 10 Tim Racki, this day, January 30, 2002.

-3-