92_HR0564 LRB9211129RHrh

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of

- 3 Representatives are pleased to recognize notable achievements
- 4 in grade school sports; and
- 5 WHEREAS, On November 11, 2001, the St. Gabriel Grade
- 6 School Boys Varsity Football Team, the Shamrocks, won the
- 7 2001 Catholic Grade School Football Championship; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The Shamrocks finished the season with a 10-0
- 9 record with a total of only 42 points scored against them;
- this is the school's first championship title since 1968; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The members of the team are Ryan Fogarty, Chuck
- 12 Mendez, Joe Mantlo, Jessie Sulk, Matt Dineen, Pete Gagen,
- Brian Bossard, Matt Popp, Tony Otero, Pat Griffin, Rich Fern,
- 14 Cal Sheehan, Jeff Mantlo, Don Herman, George Mangan, Matt
- 15 Flores, Alex Gonzalez, Matt Miller, Matt Muench, Mike
- 16 Russell, Jason Mendoza, Matt Sheehan, Mike Fogarty, Chuck
- 17 Gach, Ed Kilroy, Jimbo Qualls, Josh Mendez, Miguel Herrera,
- 18 and Rich Kavalauskas; their coaches are Earl Morrisey, Bob
- 19 Popp, Mike James, Al Kerwin, and Tom Gagen; and
- 20 WHEREAS, During their victorious season, the Shamrocks
- 21 displayed outstanding sportsmanship and dedication and
- 22 represented St. Gabriel Grade School, their fans, and the
- 23 City of Chicago with distinction; therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 25 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 26 we congratulate the St. Gabriel Grade School Boys Varsity
- 27 Football Team on winning the 2001 Catholic Grade School
- 28 Football Championship; and be it further
- 29 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 30 presented to John Prevost, principal of St. Gabriel Grade
- 31 School, Earl Morrisey, Bob Popp, Mike James, Al Kerwin, and

- 1 Tom Gagen, the coaches of the Shamrocks, and each member of
- 2 the team.