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 1        AN ACT in relation to criminal law.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The Criminal  Code  of  1961  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 24-1.1 as follows:

 6        (720 ILCS 5/24-1.1) (from Ch. 38, par. 24-1.1)

 7        Sec.  24-1.1.   Unlawful  Use or Possession of Weapons by

 8    Felons or  Persons  in  the  Custody  of  the  Department  of

 9    Corrections Facilities.

10        (a)  It  is unlawful for a person to knowingly possess on

11    or about his person or on his land or in  his  own  abode  or

12    fixed  place  of business any weapon prohibited under Section

13    24-1 of this Act or any firearm or any firearm ammunition  if

14    the  person  has been convicted of a felony under the laws of

15    this State or any other jurisdiction.  This Section shall not

16    apply if the person has been granted relief by  the  Director

17    of  the  Department  of  State Police under Section 10 of the

18    Firearm Owners Identification Card Act.

19        (b)  It is unlawful for any person confined  in  a  penal

20    institution,  which  is a facility of the Illinois Department

21    of  Corrections,  to  possess  any  weapon  prohibited  under

22    Section  24-1  of  this  Code  or  any  firearm  or   firearm

23    ammunition,  regardless of the intent with which he possesses

24    it.

25        (c)  It shall be an affirmative defense to a violation of

26    subsection  (b),  that  such  possession   was   specifically

27    authorized  by rule, regulation, or directive of the Illinois

28    Department of Corrections or order issued pursuant thereto.

29        (d)  The defense of  necessity  is  not  available  to  a

30    person  who  is charged with a violation of subsection (b) of

31    this Section.
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 1        (e)  Sentence. Violation of this Section by a person  not

 2    confined in a penal institution shall be a Class 3 felony for

 3    which  the  person,  if  sentenced to a term of imprisonment,

 4    shall be sentenced to no less than 2 years and no  more  than

 5    10 years.  Violation of this Section by a person not confined

 6    in  a  penal institution who has been convicted of a forcible

 7    felony, a felony violation of Article 24 of this Code  or  of

 8    the  Firearm  Owners  Identification  Card  Act,  stalking or

 9    aggravated stalking, or a Class 2 or greater felony under the

10    Illinois Controlled Substances Act or  the  Cannabis  Control

11    Act is a Class 2 felony for which the person, if sentenced to                                                  -----------------

12    a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to not less than 3      -----------------------

13    years  and  not more than 14 years. Violation of this Section

14    by a person who is on parole or mandatory supervised  release

15    is  a  Class 2 felony for which the person, if sentenced to a

16    term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to not less  than  3

17    years  and not more than 14 years.  Violation of this Section

18    by a person not confined in a penal institution is a Class  X

19    felony  when  the  firearm  possessed  is  a machine gun. Any

20    person who violates this Section while confined  in  a  penal

21    institution,  which  is a facility of the Illinois Department

22    of Corrections,  is  guilty  of  a  Class  1  felony,  if  he

23    possesses  any  weapon  prohibited under Section 24-1 of this

24    Code regardless of the intent with which he possesses  it,  a

25    Class   X   felony  if  he  possesses  any  firearm,  firearm

26    ammunition or explosive, and a Class X felony for  which  the

27    offender shall be sentenced to not less than 12 years and not

28    more  than  50  years when the firearm possessed is a machine

29    gun.

30    (Source: P.A. 91-544, eff. 1-1-00.)

31        Section 99.   Effective  date.   This  Act  takes  effect

32    September 1, 2002.
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