Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
FAMILIES750 ILCS 5/Pt. II
(750 ILCS 5/) Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act.
(750 ILCS 5/Pt. II heading)
750 ILCS 5/201
(750 ILCS 5/201)
(from Ch. 40, par. 201)
A marriage between 2 persons
licensed, solemnized and registered as provided in this Act is
valid in this State.
(Source: P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14
750 ILCS 5/202
(750 ILCS 5/202)
(from Ch. 40, par. 202)
Marriage License and Marriage Certificate.)
Director of Public Health shall prescribe the form for an
application for a marriage license, which shall include the following
(1) name, sex, occupation, address, social security
number, date and place of birth of each party to the proposed marriage;
(2) if either party was previously married, his name,
and the date, place and court in which the marriage was dissolved or declared invalid or the date and place of death of the former spouse;
(3) name and address of the parents or guardian of
(4) whether the parties are related to each other
and, if so, their relationship.
(b) The Director of Public Health shall prescribe the forms for
the marriage license, the marriage certificate and, when necessary,
the consent to marriage.
(Source: P.A. 80-923
750 ILCS 5/203
(750 ILCS 5/203)
(from Ch. 40, par. 203)
License to Marry.
When a marriage application has been
completed and signed by both parties to a prospective marriage and both
parties have appeared before the county clerk and the marriage license
fee has been paid, the county clerk shall issue a license to marry and a
marriage certificate form upon being furnished:
(1) satisfactory proof that each party to the
marriage will have attained the age of 18 years at the time the marriage license is effective or will have attained the age of 16 years and has either the consent to the marriage of both parents or his guardian or judicial approval; provided, if one parent cannot be located in order to obtain such consent and diligent efforts have been made to locate that parent by the consenting parent, then the consent of one parent plus a signed affidavit by the consenting parent which (i) names the absent parent and states that he or she cannot be located, and (ii) states what diligent efforts have been made to locate the absent parent, shall have the effect of both parents' consent for purposes of this Section;
(2) satisfactory proof that the marriage is not
(3) an affidavit or record as prescribed in
subparagraph (1) of Section 205 or a court order as prescribed in subparagraph (2) of Section 205, if applicable.
With each marriage license, the county clerk shall provide a pamphlet
describing the causes and effects of fetal alcohol syndrome. At least annually, the county board shall submit to the Illinois Department of Public Health
a report as to the county clerk's compliance with the requirement that the county clerk provide a pamphlet with each marriage license. All funding and production costs for the aforementioned educational pamphlets for distribution to each county clerk shall be provided by non-profit, non-sectarian statewide programs that provide education, advocacy, support, and prevention services pertaining to Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.
(Source: P.A. 96-1323, eff. 1-1-11.)
750 ILCS 5/204
(750 ILCS 5/204)
(from Ch. 40, par. 204)
Medical information brochure.
The county clerk shall
distribute free of charge, to all persons applying for a marriage license,
a brochure prepared by the Department of Public Health concerning sexually
transmitted diseases and inherited metabolic diseases.
(Source: P.A. 86-884.)
750 ILCS 5/205
(750 ILCS 5/205)
(from Ch. 40, par. 205)
(1) Irrespective of the results of
laboratory tests and clinical examination relative to sexually transmitted
diseases, the clerks of the respective counties shall issue a
marriage license to parties to a proposed marriage (a) when a
woman is pregnant at the time of such application, or (b) when
a woman has, prior to the time of application, given birth to a child born out of wedlock which is living at the time of such application
and the man making such application makes affidavit that he is the
father of such child born out of wedlock. The county clerk shall, in lieu
of the health certificate required hereunder, accept, as the case
may be, either an affidavit on a form prescribed by the State
Department of Public Health, signed by a physician duly licensed
in this State, stating that the woman is pregnant, or a copy of
the birth record of the child born out of wedlock, if one is available
in this State, or if such birth record is not available, an affidavit
signed by the woman that she is the mother of such child.
(2) Any judge of the circuit court within the county in which the
license is to be issued is authorized and empowered on joint
application by both applicants for a marriage license to waive
the requirements as to medical examination, laboratory tests, and
certificates, except the requirements of paragraph (4) of subsection (a)
of Section 212 of this Act which shall not be waived; and to authorize
the county clerk to issue the license
if all other requirements of law have been complied with and the judge
is satisfied, by affidavit, or other proof, that the examination or
tests are contrary to the tenets or practices of the religious creed
of which the applicant is an adherent, and that the public health and welfare
will not be injuriously affected thereby.
(Source: P.A. 94-229, eff. 1-1-06.)
750 ILCS 5/206
(750 ILCS 5/206)
(from Ch. 40, par. 206)
Any health certificate filed with the county clerk, or any
certificate, affidavit, or record accepted in lieu thereof, shall be
retained in the files of the office for one year after the license is
issued and shall thereafter be destroyed by the county clerk.
(Source: P.A. 82-561.)
750 ILCS 5/207
(750 ILCS 5/207)
(from Ch. 40, par. 207)
Effective Date of License.)
A license to marry becomes
effective in the county where it was issued one day after the date of
issuance, unless the court orders that the license is effective when
issued, and expires 60 days after it becomes effective, provided that the marriage is not invalidated by the fact that the marriage was inadvertently solemnized in a county in Illinois other than the county where the license was issued.
(Source: P.A. 95-775, eff. 1-1-09.)
750 ILCS 5/208
(750 ILCS 5/208)
(from Ch. 40, par. 208)
Judicial Approval of Underage Marriages.) (a)
The court, after a reasonable effort has been made to notify
the parents or guardian of each underaged party, may order
the county clerk to issue a marriage license and a marriage
certificate form to a party aged 16 or 17 years who has no
parent capable of consenting to his marriage or whose parent
or guardian has not consented to his marriage.
(b) A marriage license and a marriage certificate form may
be issued under this Section only if the court finds that the
underaged party is capable of assuming the responsibilities of
marriage and the marriage will serve his best interest. Pregnancy
alone does not establish that the best interest of the party will
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/209
(750 ILCS 5/209)
(from Ch. 40, par. 209)
Solemnization and registration.
(a) A marriage may be solemnized by a judge of a court of record, by a
retired judge of a court of record, unless the retired judge was removed from
office by the Judicial Inquiry Board, except that a retired judge shall not
receive any compensation from the State, a county or any unit of local
government in return for the solemnization of a marriage and there shall be no
effect upon any pension benefits conferred by the Judges Retirement System of
Illinois, by a judge of the Court of Claims, by a county clerk in counties
having 2,000,000 or more inhabitants, by a public official whose powers include
solemnization of marriages, by a mayor or president of a city, village, or incorporated town who is in office on the date of the solemnization, or in accordance with the prescriptions of any
religious denomination, Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, provided that
when such prescriptions require an officiant, the officiant be in good standing
with his or her religious denomination, Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group.
Either the person solemnizing the marriage, or, if no individual acting alone
solemnized the marriage, both parties to the marriage, shall complete the
marriage certificate form and forward it to the county clerk within 10 days
after such marriage is solemnized. A mayor or president of a city, village, or incorporated town shall not receive any compensation in return for the solemnization of a marriage.
(a-5) Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require any religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, or any minister, clergy, or officiant acting as a representative of a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, to solemnize any marriage. Instead, any religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, or any minister, clergy, or officiant acting as a representative of a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group is free to choose which marriages it will solemnize. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, a refusal by a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, or any minister, clergy, or officiant acting as a representative of a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group to solemnize any marriage under this Act shall not create or be the basis for any civil, administrative, or criminal penalty, claim, or cause of action.
(a-10) No church, mosque, synagogue, temple, nondenominational ministry, interdenominational or ecumenical organization, mission organization, or other organization whose principal purpose is the study, practice, or advancement of religion is required to provide religious facilities for the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony of a marriage if the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony is in violation of its religious beliefs. An entity identified in this subsection (a-10) shall be immune from any civil, administrative, criminal penalty, claim, or cause of action based on its refusal to provide religious facilities for the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony of a marriage if the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony is in violation of its religious beliefs. As used in this subsection (a-10), "religious facilities" means sanctuaries, parish halls, fellowship halls, and similar facilities. "Religious facilities" does not include facilities such as businesses, health care facilities, educational facilities, or social service agencies.
(b) The solemnization of the marriage is not invalidated: (1) by the
fact that the person solemnizing the marriage was not legally qualified
to solemnize it, if a reasonable person would believe the person solemnizing the marriage to be so qualified; or (2) by the fact that the marriage was inadvertently solemnized in a county in Illinois other than the county where the license was issued and filed.
(c) Any marriage that meets the requirements of this Section shall be presumed valid.
(Source: P.A. 101-14, eff. 6-14-19.)
750 ILCS 5/210
(750 ILCS 5/210)
(from Ch. 40, par. 210)
Registration of Marriage Certificate.) Upon receipt
of the marriage certificate, the county clerk shall register the
marriage. Within 45 days after the close of the month in which a
marriage is registered, the county clerk shall make to the Department
of Public Health a return of such marriage. Such return shall be made
on a form furnished by the Department of Public Health and shall
substantially consist of the following items:
(1) A copy of the marriage license application signed and attested
to by the applicants, except that in any county in which the information
provided in a marriage license application is entered into a computer, the
county clerk may submit a computer copy of such information without the
signatures and attestations of the applicants.
(2) The date and place of marriage.
(3) The marriage license number.
(Source: P.A. 85-1307.)
750 ILCS 5/211
(750 ILCS 5/211)
(from Ch. 40, par. 211)
Reporting.) In transmitting the required returns,
the county clerk shall make a report to the Department of Public
Health stating the total number of marriage licenses issued during
the month for which returns are made, and the number of marriage
certificates registered during the month.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/212
(750 ILCS 5/212)
(from Ch. 40, par. 212)
(a) The following marriages are prohibited:
(1) a marriage entered into prior to the dissolution
of an earlier marriage, civil union, or substantially similar legal relationship of one of the parties, unless the parties to the marriage are the same as the parties to a civil union and are seeking to convert their civil union to a marriage pursuant to Section 65 of the Illinois Religious Freedom Protection and Civil Union Act;
(2) a marriage between an ancestor and a descendant
or between siblings, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption;
(3) a marriage between an uncle and a niece, between
an uncle and a nephew, between an aunt and a nephew, or between an aunt and a niece, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood;
(4) a marriage between cousins of the first degree;
however, a marriage between first cousins is not prohibited if:
(i) both parties are 50 years of age or older; or
(ii) either party, at the time of application for
a marriage license, presents for filing with the county clerk of the county in which the marriage is to be solemnized, a certificate signed by a licensed physician stating that the party to the proposed marriage is permanently and irreversibly sterile;
(b) Parties to a marriage prohibited under subsection (a) of
this Section who cohabit after removal of the impediment are
lawfully married as of the date of the removal of the impediment.
(c) Children born or adopted of a prohibited or common law marriage
are the lawful children of the parties.
(Source: P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14
750 ILCS 5/213
(750 ILCS 5/213)
(from Ch. 40, par. 213)
Validity.) All marriages contracted within this
State, prior to the effective date of this Act, or outside this
State, that were valid at the time of the contract or subsequently
validated by the laws of the place in which they were contracted
or by the domicile of the parties, are valid in this State, except
where contrary to the public policy of this State.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/213.1
(750 ILCS 5/213.1)
(Source: P.A. 89-459, eff. 5-24-96. Repealed by P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14
750 ILCS 5/214
(750 ILCS 5/214)
(from Ch. 40, par. 214)
Invalidity of Common Law Marriages.) Common law
marriages contracted in this State after June 30, 1905 are invalid.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/215
(750 ILCS 5/215)
(from Ch. 40, par. 215)
Penalty.) Unless otherwise provided by law, any
person who violates any provision of Part II of this Act is
guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/216
(750 ILCS 5/216)
(from Ch. 40, par. 216)
Prohibited Marriages Void if Contracted in Another
That if any person residing and intending to continue
to reside in this state and who is a person with a disability or prohibited from
contracting marriage under the laws of this state, shall go into
another state or country and there contract a marriage prohibited
and declared void by the laws of this state, such marriage shall
be null and void for all purposes in this state with the same
effect as though such prohibited marriage had been entered
into in this state.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)
750 ILCS 5/217
(750 ILCS 5/217)
(from Ch. 40, par. 217)
Marriage by Non-residents - When Void.) No
marriage shall be contracted in this state by a party
residing and intending to continue to reside in another
state or jurisdiction if such marriage would be void if
contracted in such other state or jurisdiction and every
marriage celebrated in this state in violation of this
provision shall be null and void.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/218
(750 ILCS 5/218)
(from Ch. 40, par. 218)
Duty of Officer Issuing License.) Before issuing
a license to marry a person who resides and intends to continue
to reside in another state, the officer having authority to
issue the license shall satisfy himself by requiring affidavits
or otherwise that such person is not prohibited from intermarrying
by the laws of the jurisdiction where he or she resides.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
750 ILCS 5/219
(750 ILCS 5/219)
(from Ch. 40, par. 219)
Any official issuing a license with
knowledge that the parties are thus prohibited from marrying
and any person authorized to solemnize marriage who shall knowingly solemnize
such a marriage shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 99-90, eff. 1-1-16
750 ILCS 5/220
(750 ILCS 5/220)
Consent to jurisdiction.
Members of a same-sex couple who enter into a marriage in this State consent to the jurisdiction of the courts of this State for the
purpose of any action relating to the marriage, even if one or both
parties cease to reside in this State. A court shall enter a
judgment of dissolution of marriage if, at the time the action is
commenced, it meets the grounds for dissolution of marriage set forth in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)
750 ILCS 5/221
(750 ILCS 5/221)
Name change on marriage certificate.
For a person married in any county in this State, the county clerk shall issue a new marriage certificate when it receives legal documentation indicating that one of the parties listed on the certificate has legally changed names. An order for name change issued pursuant to Section 21-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure shall be the only legal documentation that a county clerk may require. The new marriage certificate shall reflect the legal name change and shall bear no additional markings.
(Source: P.A. 102-169, eff. 7-27-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)
750 ILCS 5/222
(750 ILCS 5/222)
Request for changing or removing gender identifying language on a marriage certificate.
(a) Upon completion of an affidavit provided by the county clerk and confirmation of identity, a person, still currently married, may request a certificate of the person's current marriage free of any gender identifying language. The person may request a change from terms such as "bride" and "groom" to a nongendered term such as "spouse" or a variant of "Spouse 1" or "Spouse A". Upon such request, both parties shall be listed with a nongendered identifier on a certificate. The request shall not permanently change the gender identifying language in the clerk's records, and the affidavit and issuance shall be kept in the permanent records of the clerk.
The affidavit shall be created by the county clerk, may appear on a combined form with the form under subsection (b), and shall be substantially as follows:
REQUEST FOR NONGENDERED COPY OF A MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE
I, .........., state that I am a named spouse on a
marriage license held in this office, that I am still married to the other named spouse on that marriage license as of the date of this request, and hereby request the holder of this record provide me, and only me, with a marriage certificate with any gender-identifying language removed or changed to "spouse". I affirm that this change is for purposes of this certified copy, the change will not be made to permanent records, and a record of this request shall be held by the holder of this marriage record.
(b) If 2 parties currently married request a marriage certificate with gender identifiers changed, such as "bride" to "groom" or "groom" to "bride", both parties shall appear before the clerk, indicate consent, and complete an affidavit. If the clerk is technologically able and the parties desire, the change in gender is permanent.
The affidavit shall be created by the county clerk, may appear on a combined form with the form under subsection (a), and shall be substantially as follows:
REQUEST FOR NONGENDERED COPY OF A MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE
We, ..........[Spouse A] and ..........[Spouse B],
the still-married named persons on a marriage license held in this office as of the date of this request, hereby request the holder of this record to provide a marriage certificate with gender-identifying terms such as "bride" and "groom" changed as follows:
..........[Name of Spouse A] Bride, Groom, or Spouse
..........[Name of Spouse B] Bride, Groom, or Spouse
We affirm that this change is for purposes of this
certified copy, and the change will not be made to permanent records, unless indicated by selecting Yes or No (select one) and a record of this request shall be held by the holder of this marriage record.
Signature of Spouse A..........
Signature of Spouse B..........
(c) If a county provides a certified record, photocopy, or reproduction of an original record in lieu of a summary data sheet, the county clerk shall work with the Department of Public Health to develop a new certificate that can be issued in lieu of a reproduction of the prior record. Nothing in this subsection authorizes the county clerk to permanently mark or deface a prior record in lieu of a summary data sheet certificate.
(d) When a clerk issues a nongendered marriage certificate under subsection (a), the certificate shall not include any language indicating it has been amended nor that it is not a true and accurate record of the facts stated therein.
(Source: P.A. 102-171, eff. 1-1-22; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)