Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CORRECTIONS
(730 ILCS 5/) Unified Code of Corrections.

730 ILCS 5/Ch. III Art. 17

 
    (730 ILCS 5/Ch. III Art. 17 heading)
ARTICLE 17. TRANSITIONAL HOUSING FOR SEX OFFENDERS
(Source: P.A. 94-161, eff. 7-11-05; 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)

730 ILCS 5/3-17-1

    (730 ILCS 5/3-17-1)
    Sec. 3-17-1. Transitional housing for sex offenders. This Article may be cited as the Transitional Housing For Sex Offenders Law.
(Source: P.A. 94-161, eff. 7-11-05; 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)

730 ILCS 5/3-17-5

    (730 ILCS 5/3-17-5)
    Sec. 3-17-5. Transitional housing; licensing.
    (a) The Department of Corrections shall license transitional housing facilities for persons convicted of or placed on supervision for sex offenses as defined in the Sex Offender Management Board Act.
    (b) A transitional housing facility must meet the following criteria to be licensed by the Department:
        (1) The facility shall provide housing to a sex
    
offender who is in compliance with his or her parole, mandatory supervised release, probation, or supervision order for a period not to exceed 90 days, unless extended with approval from the Director or his or her designee. Notice of any extension approved shall be provided to the Prisoner Review Board.
        (2) The Department of Corrections must approve a
    
treatment plan and counseling for each sex offender residing in the transitional housing.
        (3) The transitional housing facility must provide
    
security 24 hours each day and 7 days each week as defined and approved by the Department.
        (4) The facility must notify the police department,
    
public and private elementary and secondary schools, public libraries, and each residential home and apartment complex located within 500 feet of the transitional housing facility of its initial licensure as a transitional housing facility, and of its continuing operation as a transitional housing facility annually thereafter.
        (5) Upon its initial licensure as a transitional
    
housing facility and during its licensure, each facility shall maintain at its main entrance a visible and conspicuous exterior sign identifying itself as, in letters at least 4 inches tall, a "Department of Corrections Licensed Transitional Housing Facility".
        (6) Upon its initial licensure as a transitional
    
housing facility, each facility shall file in the office of the county clerk of the county in which such facility is located, a certificate setting forth the name under which the facility is, or is to be, operated, and the true or real full name or names of the person, persons or entity operating the same, with the address of the facility. The certificate shall be executed and duly acknowledged by the person or persons so operating or intending to operate the facility. Notice of the filing of the certificate shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation published within the county in which the certificate is filed. The notice shall be published once a week for 3 consecutive weeks. The first publication shall be within 15 days after the certificate is filed in the office of the county clerk. Proof of publication shall be filed with the county clerk within 50 days from the date of filing the certificate. Upon receiving proof of publication, the clerk shall issue a receipt to the person filing the certificate, but no additional charge shall be assessed by the clerk for giving such receipt. Unless proof of publication is made to the clerk, the notification is void.
        (7) Each licensed transitional housing facility shall
    
be identified on the Illinois State Police Sex Offender Registry website, including the address of the facility together with the maximum possible number of sex offenders that the facility could house.
    (c) The Department of Corrections shall establish rules consistent with this Section establishing licensing procedures and criteria for transitional housing facilities for sex offenders, and may create criteria for, and issue licenses for, different levels of facilities to be licensed. The Department is authorized to set and charge a licensing fee for each application for a transitional housing license. The rules shall be adopted within 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly. Facilities which on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly are currently housing and providing sex offender treatment to sex offenders may continue housing more than one sex offender on parole, mandatory supervised release, probation, or supervision for a period of 120 days after the adoption of licensure rules during which time the facility shall apply for a transitional housing license.
    (d) The Department of Corrections shall maintain a file on each sex offender housed in a transitional housing facility. The file shall contain efforts of the Department in placing a sex offender in non-transitional housing, efforts of the Department to place the sex offender in a county from which he or she was convicted, the anticipated length of stay of each sex offender in the transitional housing facility, the number of sex offenders residing in the transitional housing facility, and the services to be provided the sex offender while he or she resides in the transitional housing facility.
    (e) The Department of Corrections shall, on or before December 31 of each year, file a report with the General Assembly on the number of transitional housing facilities for sex offenders licensed by the Department, the addresses of each licensed facility, how many sex offenders are housed in each facility, and the particular sex offense that each resident of the transitional housing facility committed.
(Source: P.A. 94-161, eff. 7-11-05; 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)