Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CRIMINAL OFFENSES
(720 ILCS 5/) Criminal Code of 2012.

720 ILCS 5/Tit. III Pt. A

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Tit. III Pt. A heading)
PART A. INCHOATE OFFENSES

720 ILCS 5/Art. 8

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 8 heading)
ARTICLE 8. SOLICITATION, CONSPIRACY AND ATTEMPT

720 ILCS 5/8-1

    (720 ILCS 5/8-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-1)
    Sec. 8-1. Solicitation and solicitation of murder.
    (a) Solicitation. A person commits the offense of solicitation when, with intent that an offense be committed, other than first degree murder, he or she commands, encourages, or requests another to commit that offense.
    (b) Solicitation of murder. A person commits the offense of solicitation of murder when he or she commits solicitation with the intent that the offense of first degree murder be committed.
    (c) Sentence. A person convicted of solicitation may be fined or imprisoned or both not to exceed the maximum provided for the offense solicited, except that the penalty shall not exceed the corresponding maximum limit provided by subparagraph (c) of Section 8-4 of this Code. Solicitation of murder is a Class X felony, and a person convicted of solicitation of murder shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 15 years and not more than 30 years, except that a person convicted of solicitation of murder when the person solicited was a person under the age of 17 years shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 20 years and not more than 60 years.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/8-1.1

    (720 ILCS 5/8-1.1)
    Sec. 8-1.1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 89-689, eff. 12-31-96. Repealed by P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/8-1.2

    (720 ILCS 5/8-1.2) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-1.2)
    Sec. 8-1.2. Solicitation of murder for hire.
    (a) A person commits the offense of solicitation of murder for hire when, with the intent that the offense of first degree murder be committed, he or she procures another to commit that offense pursuant to any contract, agreement, understanding, command, or request for money or anything of value.
    (b) Sentence. Solicitation of murder for hire is a Class X felony, and a person convicted of solicitation of murder for hire shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 20 years and not more than 40 years, except that a person convicted of solicitation of murder for hire when the person solicited was a person under the age of 17 years shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 25 years and not more than 60 years.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/8-2

    (720 ILCS 5/8-2) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-2)
    Sec. 8-2. Conspiracy.
    (a) Elements of the offense. A person commits the offense of conspiracy when, with intent that an offense be committed, he or she agrees with another to the commission of that offense. No person may be convicted of conspiracy to commit an offense unless an act in furtherance of that agreement is alleged and proved to have been committed by him or her or by a co-conspirator.
    (b) Co-conspirators. It is not a defense to conspiracy that the person or persons with whom the accused is alleged to have conspired:
        (1) have not been prosecuted or convicted,
        (2) have been convicted of a different offense,
        (3) are not amenable to justice,
        (4) have been acquitted, or
        (5) lacked the capacity to commit an offense.
    (c) Sentence.
        (1) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection
    
or Code, a person convicted of conspiracy to commit:
            (A) a Class X felony shall be sentenced for a
        
Class 1 felony;
            (B) a Class 1 felony shall be sentenced for a
        
Class 2 felony;
            (C) a Class 2 felony shall be sentenced for a
        
Class 3 felony;
            (D) a Class 3 felony shall be sentenced for a
        
Class 4 felony;
            (E) a Class 4 felony shall be sentenced for a
        
Class 4 felony; and
            (F) a misdemeanor may be fined or imprisoned or
        
both not to exceed the maximum provided for the offense that is the object of the conspiracy.
        (2) A person convicted of conspiracy to commit any of
    
the following offenses shall be sentenced for a Class X felony:
            (A) aggravated insurance fraud conspiracy when
        
the person is an organizer of the conspiracy (720 ILCS 5/46-4); or
            (B) aggravated governmental entity insurance
        
fraud conspiracy when the person is an organizer of the conspiracy (720 ILCS 5/46-4).
        (3) A person convicted of conspiracy to commit any
    
of the following offenses shall be sentenced for a Class 1 felony:
            (A) first degree murder (720 ILCS 5/9-1); or
            (B) aggravated insurance fraud (720 ILCS 5/46-3)
        
or aggravated governmental insurance fraud (720 ILCS 5/46-3).
        (4) A person convicted of conspiracy to commit
    
insurance fraud (720 ILCS 5/46-3) or governmental entity insurance fraud (720 ILCS 5/46-3) shall be sentenced for a Class 2 felony.
        (5) A person convicted of conspiracy to commit any of
    
the following offenses shall be sentenced for a Class 3 felony:
            (A) soliciting for a prostitute (720 ILCS
        
5/11-14.3(a)(1));
            (B) pandering (720 ILCS 5/11-14.3(a)(2)(A) or
        
5/11-14.3(a)(2)(B));
            (C) keeping a place of prostitution (720 ILCS
        
5/11-14.3(a)(1));
            (D) pimping (720 ILCS 5/11-14.3(a)(2)(C));
            (E) unlawful use of weapons under Section
        
24-1(a)(1) (720 ILCS 5/24-1(a)(1));
            (F) unlawful use of weapons under Section
        
24-1(a)(7) (720 ILCS 5/24-1(a)(7));
            (G) gambling (720 ILCS 5/28-1);
            (H) keeping a gambling place (720 ILCS 5/28-3);
            (I) registration of federal gambling stamps
        
violation (720 ILCS 5/28-4);
            (J) look-alike substances violation (720 ILCS
        
570/404);
            (K) miscellaneous controlled substance violation
        
under Section 406(b) (720 ILCS 570/406(b)); or
            (L) an inchoate offense related to any of the
        
principal offenses set forth in this item (5).
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1551, eff. 7-1-11.)

720 ILCS 5/8-2.1

    (720 ILCS 5/8-2.1)
    Sec. 8-2.1. Conspiracy against civil rights.
    (a) Offense. A person commits conspiracy against civil rights when, without legal justification, he or she, with the intent to interfere with the free exercise of any right or privilege secured by the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of the State of Illinois, the laws of the United States, or the laws of the State of Illinois by any person or persons, agrees with another to inflict physical harm on any other person or the threat of physical harm on any other person and either the accused or a co-conspirator has committed any act in furtherance of that agreement.
    (b) Co-conspirators. It shall not be a defense to conspiracy against civil rights that a person or persons with whom the accused is alleged to have conspired:
        (1) has not been prosecuted or convicted; or
        (2) has been convicted of a different offense; or
        (3) is not amenable to justice; or
        (4) has been acquitted; or
        (5) lacked the capacity to commit an offense.
    (c) Sentence. Conspiracy against civil rights is a Class 4 felony for a first offense and a Class 2 felony for a second or subsequent offense.
(Source: P.A. 92-830, eff. 1-1-03.)

720 ILCS 5/8-3

    (720 ILCS 5/8-3) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-3)
    Sec. 8-3. Defense.
    It is a defense to a charge of solicitation or conspiracy that if the criminal object were achieved the accused would not be guilty of an offense.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 1983.)

720 ILCS 5/8-4

    (720 ILCS 5/8-4) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-4)
    Sec. 8-4. Attempt.
    (a) Elements of the offense.
    A person commits the offense of attempt when, with intent to commit a specific offense, he or she does any act that constitutes a substantial step toward the commission of that offense.
    (b) Impossibility.
    It is not a defense to a charge of attempt that because of a misapprehension of the circumstances it would have been impossible for the accused to commit the offense attempted.
    (c) Sentence.
    A person convicted of attempt may be fined or imprisoned or both not to exceed the maximum provided for the offense attempted but, except for an attempt to commit the offense defined in Section 33A-2 of this Code:
        (1) the sentence for attempt to commit first degree
    
murder is the sentence for a Class X felony, except that
            (A) an attempt to commit first degree murder when
        
at least one of the aggravating factors specified in paragraphs (1), (2), and (12) of subsection (b) of Section 9-1 is present is a Class X felony for which the sentence shall be a term of imprisonment of not less than 20 years and not more than 80 years;
            (B) an attempt to commit first degree murder
        
while armed with a firearm is a Class X felony for which 15 years shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court;
            (C) an attempt to commit first degree murder
        
during which the person personally discharged a firearm is a Class X felony for which 20 years shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court;
            (D) an attempt to commit first degree murder
        
during which the person personally discharged a firearm that proximately caused great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or death to another person is a Class X felony for which 25 years or up to a term of natural life shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court; and
            (E) if the defendant proves by a preponderance of
        
the evidence at sentencing that, at the time of the attempted murder, he or she was acting under a sudden and intense passion resulting from serious provocation by the individual whom the defendant endeavored to kill, or another, and, had the individual the defendant endeavored to kill died, the defendant would have negligently or accidentally caused that death, then the sentence for the attempted murder is the sentence for a Class 1 felony;
        (2) the sentence for attempt to commit a Class X
    
felony is the sentence for a Class 1 felony;
        (3) the sentence for attempt to commit a Class 1
    
felony is the sentence for a Class 2 felony;
        (4) the sentence for attempt to commit a Class 2
    
felony is the sentence for a Class 3 felony; and
        (5) the sentence for attempt to commit any felony
    
other than those specified in items (1), (2), (3), and (4) of this subsection (c) is the sentence for a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/8-5

    (720 ILCS 5/8-5) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-5)
    Sec. 8-5. Multiple convictions.
    No person shall be convicted of both the inchoate and the principal offense.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 1983.)

720 ILCS 5/8-6

    (720 ILCS 5/8-6) (from Ch. 38, par. 8-6)
    Sec. 8-6. Offense. For the purposes of this Article, "offense" shall include conduct which if performed in another State would be criminal by the laws of that State and which conduct if performed in this State would be an offense under the laws of this State.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 1983.)

720 ILCS 5/Tit. III Pt. B

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Tit. III Pt. B heading)
PART B. OFFENSES DIRECTED AGAINST THE PERSON

720 ILCS 5/Art. 9

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 9 heading)
ARTICLE 9. HOMICIDE

720 ILCS 5/9-1

    (720 ILCS 5/9-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-1)
    Sec. 9-1. First degree murder; death penalties; exceptions; separate hearings; proof; findings; appellate procedures; reversals.
    (a) A person who kills an individual without lawful justification commits first degree murder if, in performing the acts which cause the death:
        (1) he or she either intends to kill or do great
    
bodily harm to that individual or another, or knows that such acts will cause death to that individual or another; or
        (2) he or she knows that such acts create a strong
    
probability of death or great bodily harm to that individual or another; or
        (3) he or she, acting alone or with one or more
    
participants, commits or attempts to commit a forcible felony other than second degree murder, and in the course of or in furtherance of such crime or flight therefrom, he or she or another participant causes the death of a person.
    (b) Aggravating Factors. A defendant who at the time of the commission of the offense has attained the age of 18 or more and who has been found guilty of first degree murder may be sentenced to death if:
        (1) the murdered individual was a peace officer or
    
fireman killed in the course of performing his official duties, to prevent the performance of his or her official duties, or in retaliation for performing his or her official duties, and the defendant knew or should have known that the murdered individual was a peace officer or fireman; or
        (2) the murdered individual was an employee of an
    
institution or facility of the Department of Corrections, or any similar local correctional agency, killed in the course of performing his or her official duties, to prevent the performance of his or her official duties, or in retaliation for performing his or her official duties, or the murdered individual was an inmate at such institution or facility and was killed on the grounds thereof, or the murdered individual was otherwise present in such institution or facility with the knowledge and approval of the chief administrative officer thereof; or
        (3) the defendant has been convicted of murdering two
    
or more individuals under subsection (a) of this Section or under any law of the United States or of any state which is substantially similar to subsection (a) of this Section regardless of whether the deaths occurred as the result of the same act or of several related or unrelated acts so long as the deaths were the result of either an intent to kill more than one person or of separate acts which the defendant knew would cause death or create a strong probability of death or great bodily harm to the murdered individual or another; or
        (4) the murdered individual was killed as a result of
    
the hijacking of an airplane, train, ship, bus, or other public conveyance; or
        (5) the defendant committed the murder pursuant to a
    
contract, agreement, or understanding by which he or she was to receive money or anything of value in return for committing the murder or procured another to commit the murder for money or anything of value; or
        (6) the murdered individual was killed in the course
    
of another felony if:
            (a) the murdered individual:
                (i) was actually killed by the defendant, or
                (ii) received physical injuries personally
            
inflicted by the defendant substantially contemporaneously with physical injuries caused by one or more persons for whose conduct the defendant is legally accountable under Section 5-2 of this Code, and the physical injuries inflicted by either the defendant or the other person or persons for whose conduct he is legally accountable caused the death of the murdered individual; and
            (b) in performing the acts which caused the death
        
of the murdered individual or which resulted in physical injuries personally inflicted by the defendant on the murdered individual under the circumstances of subdivision (ii) of subparagraph (a) of paragraph (6) of subsection (b) of this Section, the defendant acted with the intent to kill the murdered individual or with the knowledge that his acts created a strong probability of death or great bodily harm to the murdered individual or another; and
            (c) the other felony was an inherently violent
        
crime or the attempt to commit an inherently violent crime. In this subparagraph (c), "inherently violent crime" includes, but is not limited to, armed robbery, robbery, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual assault, aggravated kidnapping, aggravated vehicular hijacking, aggravated arson, aggravated stalking, residential burglary, and home invasion; or
        (7) the murdered individual was under 12 years of age
    
and the death resulted from exceptionally brutal or heinous behavior indicative of wanton cruelty; or
        (8) the defendant committed the murder with intent to
    
prevent the murdered individual from testifying or participating in any criminal investigation or prosecution or giving material assistance to the State in any investigation or prosecution, either against the defendant or another; or the defendant committed the murder because the murdered individual was a witness in any prosecution or gave material assistance to the State in any investigation or prosecution, either against the defendant or another; for purposes of this paragraph (8), "participating in any criminal investigation or prosecution" is intended to include those appearing in the proceedings in any capacity such as trial judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, investigators, witnesses, or jurors; or
        (9) the defendant, while committing an offense
    
punishable under Sections 401, 401.1, 401.2, 405, 405.2, 407 or 407.1 or subsection (b) of Section 404 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or while engaged in a conspiracy or solicitation to commit such offense, intentionally killed an individual or counseled, commanded, induced, procured or caused the intentional killing of the murdered individual; or
        (10) the defendant was incarcerated in an institution
    
or facility of the Department of Corrections at the time of the murder, and while committing an offense punishable as a felony under Illinois law, or while engaged in a conspiracy or solicitation to commit such offense, intentionally killed an individual or counseled, commanded, induced, procured or caused the intentional killing of the murdered individual; or
        (11) the murder was committed in a cold, calculated
    
and premeditated manner pursuant to a preconceived plan, scheme or design to take a human life by unlawful means, and the conduct of the defendant created a reasonable expectation that the death of a human being would result therefrom; or
        (12) the murdered individual was an emergency medical
    
technician - ambulance, emergency medical technician - intermediate, emergency medical technician - paramedic, ambulance driver, or other medical assistance or first aid personnel, employed by a municipality or other governmental unit, killed in the course of performing his official duties, to prevent the performance of his official duties, or in retaliation for performing his official duties, and the defendant knew or should have known that the murdered individual was an emergency medical technician - ambulance, emergency medical technician - intermediate, emergency medical technician - paramedic, ambulance driver, or other medical assistance or first aid personnel; or
        (13) the defendant was a principal administrator,
    
organizer, or leader of a calculated criminal drug conspiracy consisting of a hierarchical position of authority superior to that of all other members of the conspiracy, and the defendant counseled, commanded, induced, procured, or caused the intentional killing of the murdered person; or
        (14) the murder was intentional and involved the
    
infliction of torture. For the purpose of this Section torture means the infliction of or subjection to extreme physical pain, motivated by an intent to increase or prolong the pain, suffering or agony of the victim; or
        (15) the murder was committed as a result of the
    
intentional discharge of a firearm by the defendant from a motor vehicle and the victim was not present within the motor vehicle; or
        (16) the murdered individual was 60 years of age or
    
older and the death resulted from exceptionally brutal or heinous behavior indicative of wanton cruelty; or
        (17) the murdered individual was a person with a
    
disability and the defendant knew or should have known that the murdered individual was a person with a disability. For purposes of this paragraph (17), "person with a disability" means a person who suffers from a permanent physical or mental impairment resulting from disease, an injury, a functional disorder, or a congenital condition that renders the person incapable of adequately providing for his or her own health or personal care; or
        (18) the murder was committed by reason of any
    
person's activity as a community policing volunteer or to prevent any person from engaging in activity as a community policing volunteer; or
        (19) the murdered individual was subject to an order
    
of protection and the murder was committed by a person against whom the same order of protection was issued under the Illinois Domestic Violence Act of 1986; or
        (20) the murdered individual was known by the
    
defendant to be a teacher or other person employed in any school and the teacher or other employee is upon the grounds of a school or grounds adjacent to a school, or is in any part of a building used for school purposes; or
        (21) the murder was committed by the defendant in
    
connection with or as a result of the offense of terrorism as defined in Section 29D-14.9 of this Code; or
        (22) the murdered individual was a member of a
    
congregation engaged in prayer or other religious activities at a church, synagogue, mosque, or other building, structure, or place used for religious worship.
    (b-5) Aggravating Factor; Natural Life Imprisonment. A defendant who has been found guilty of first degree murder and who at the time of the commission of the offense had attained the age of 18 years or more may be sentenced to natural life imprisonment if (i) the murdered individual was a physician, physician assistant, psychologist, nurse, or advanced practice registered nurse, (ii) the defendant knew or should have known that the murdered individual was a physician, physician assistant, psychologist, nurse, or advanced practice registered nurse, and (iii) the murdered individual was killed in the course of acting in his or her capacity as a physician, physician assistant, psychologist, nurse, or advanced practice registered nurse, or to prevent him or her from acting in that capacity, or in retaliation for his or her acting in that capacity.
    (c) Consideration of factors in Aggravation and Mitigation.
    The court shall consider, or shall instruct the jury to consider any aggravating and any mitigating factors which are relevant to the imposition of the death penalty. Aggravating factors may include but need not be limited to those factors set forth in subsection (b). Mitigating factors may include but need not be limited to the following:
        (1) the defendant has no significant history of prior
    
criminal activity;
        (2) the murder was committed while the defendant was
    
under the influence of extreme mental or emotional disturbance, although not such as to constitute a defense to prosecution;
        (3) the murdered individual was a participant in the
    
defendant's homicidal conduct or consented to the homicidal act;
        (4) the defendant acted under the compulsion of
    
threat or menace of the imminent infliction of death or great bodily harm;
        (5) the defendant was not personally present during
    
commission of the act or acts causing death;
        (6) the defendant's background includes a history of
    
extreme emotional or physical abuse;
        (7) the defendant suffers from a reduced mental
    
capacity.
    Provided, however, that an action that does not otherwise mitigate first degree murder cannot qualify as a mitigating factor for first degree murder because of the discovery, knowledge, or disclosure of the victim's sexual orientation as defined in Section 1-103 of the Illinois Human Rights Act.
    (d) Separate sentencing hearing.
    Where requested by the State, the court shall conduct a separate sentencing proceeding to determine the existence of factors set forth in subsection (b) and to consider any aggravating or mitigating factors as indicated in subsection (c). The proceeding shall be conducted:
        (1) before the jury that determined the defendant's
    
guilt; or
        (2) before a jury impanelled for the purpose of the
    
proceeding if:
            A. the defendant was convicted upon a plea of
        
guilty; or
            B. the defendant was convicted after a trial
        
before the court sitting without a jury; or
            C. the court for good cause shown discharges the
        
jury that determined the defendant's guilt; or
        (3) before the court alone if the defendant waives a
    
jury for the separate proceeding.
    (e) Evidence and Argument.
    During the proceeding any information relevant to any of the factors set forth in subsection (b) may be presented by either the State or the defendant under the rules governing the admission of evidence at criminal trials. Any information relevant to any additional aggravating factors or any mitigating factors indicated in subsection (c) may be presented by the State or defendant regardless of its admissibility under the rules governing the admission of evidence at criminal trials. The State and the defendant shall be given fair opportunity to rebut any information received at the hearing.
    (f) Proof.
    The burden of proof of establishing the existence of any of the factors set forth in subsection (b) is on the State and shall not be satisfied unless established beyond a reasonable doubt.
    (g) Procedure - Jury.
    If at the separate sentencing proceeding the jury finds that none of the factors set forth in subsection (b) exists, the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections. If there is a unanimous finding by the jury that one or more of the factors set forth in subsection (b) exist, the jury shall consider aggravating and mitigating factors as instructed by the court and shall determine whether the sentence of death shall be imposed. If the jury determines unanimously, after weighing the factors in aggravation and mitigation, that death is the appropriate sentence, the court shall sentence the defendant to death. If the court does not concur with the jury determination that death is the appropriate sentence, the court shall set forth reasons in writing including what facts or circumstances the court relied upon, along with any relevant documents, that compelled the court to non-concur with the sentence. This document and any attachments shall be part of the record for appellate review. The court shall be bound by the jury's sentencing determination.
    If after weighing the factors in aggravation and mitigation, one or more jurors determines that death is not the appropriate sentence, the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (h) Procedure - No Jury.
    In a proceeding before the court alone, if the court finds that none of the factors found in subsection (b) exists, the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    If the Court determines that one or more of the factors set forth in subsection (b) exists, the Court shall consider any aggravating and mitigating factors as indicated in subsection (c). If the Court determines, after weighing the factors in aggravation and mitigation, that death is the appropriate sentence, the Court shall sentence the defendant to death.
    If the court finds that death is not the appropriate sentence, the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (h-5) Decertification as a capital case.
    In a case in which the defendant has been found guilty of first degree murder by a judge or jury, or a case on remand for resentencing, and the State seeks the death penalty as an appropriate sentence, on the court's own motion or the written motion of the defendant, the court may decertify the case as a death penalty case if the court finds that the only evidence supporting the defendant's conviction is the uncorroborated testimony of an informant witness, as defined in Section 115-21 of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963, concerning the confession or admission of the defendant or that the sole evidence against the defendant is a single eyewitness or single accomplice without any other corroborating evidence. If the court decertifies the case as a capital case under either of the grounds set forth above, the court shall issue a written finding. The State may pursue its right to appeal the decertification pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 604(a)(1). If the court does not decertify the case as a capital case, the matter shall proceed to the eligibility phase of the sentencing hearing.
    (i) Appellate Procedure.
    The conviction and sentence of death shall be subject to automatic review by the Supreme Court. Such review shall be in accordance with rules promulgated by the Supreme Court. The Illinois Supreme Court may overturn the death sentence, and order the imposition of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections if the court finds that the death sentence is fundamentally unjust as applied to the particular case. If the Illinois Supreme Court finds that the death sentence is fundamentally unjust as applied to the particular case, independent of any procedural grounds for relief, the Illinois Supreme Court shall issue a written opinion explaining this finding.
    (j) Disposition of reversed death sentence.
    In the event that the death penalty in this Act is held to be unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of the United States or of the State of Illinois, any person convicted of first degree murder shall be sentenced by the court to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    In the event that any death sentence pursuant to the sentencing provisions of this Section is declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of the United States or of the State of Illinois, the court having jurisdiction over a person previously sentenced to death shall cause the defendant to be brought before the court, and the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (k) Guidelines for seeking the death penalty.
    The Attorney General and State's Attorneys Association shall consult on voluntary guidelines for procedures governing whether or not to seek the death penalty. The guidelines do not have the force of law and are only advisory in nature.
(Source: P.A. 100-460, eff. 1-1-18; 100-513, eff. 1-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18; 101-223, eff. 1-1-20; 101-652, eff. 7-1-21.)

720 ILCS 5/9-1.2

    (720 ILCS 5/9-1.2) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-1.2)
    Sec. 9-1.2. Intentional homicide of an unborn child.
    (a) A person commits the offense of intentional homicide of an unborn child if, in performing acts which cause the death of an unborn child, he without lawful justification:
        (1) either intended to cause the death of or do great
    
bodily harm to the pregnant individual or unborn child or knew that such acts would cause death or great bodily harm to the pregnant individual or unborn child; or
        (2) knew that his acts created a strong probability
    
of death or great bodily harm to the pregnant individual or unborn child; and
        (3) knew that the individual was pregnant.
    (b) For purposes of this Section, (1) "unborn child" shall mean any individual of the human species from the implantation of an embryo until birth, and (2) "person" shall not include the pregnant woman whose unborn child is killed.
    (c) This Section shall not apply to acts which cause the death of an unborn child if those acts were committed during any abortion, as defined in Section 1-10 of the Reproductive Health Act, to which the pregnant individual has consented. This Section shall not apply to acts which were committed pursuant to usual and customary standards of medical practice during diagnostic testing or therapeutic treatment.
    (d) Penalty. The sentence for intentional homicide of an unborn child shall be the same as for first degree murder, except that:
        (1) the death penalty may not be imposed;
        (2) if the person committed the offense while armed
    
with a firearm, 15 years shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court;
        (3) if, during the commission of the offense, the
    
person personally discharged a firearm, 20 years shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court;
        (4) if, during the commission of the offense, the
    
person personally discharged a firearm that proximately caused great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or death to another person, 25 years or up to a term of natural life shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court.
    (e) The provisions of this Act shall not be construed to prohibit the prosecution of any person under any other provision of law.
(Source: P.A. 101-13, eff. 6-12-19.)

720 ILCS 5/9-2

    (720 ILCS 5/9-2) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-2)
    Sec. 9-2. Second degree murder.
    (a) A person commits the offense of second degree murder when he or she commits the offense of first degree murder as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of Section 9-1 of this Code and either of the following mitigating factors are present:
        (1) at the time of the killing he or she is acting
    
under a sudden and intense passion resulting from serious provocation by the individual killed or another whom the offender endeavors to kill, but he or she negligently or accidentally causes the death of the individual killed; or
        (2) at the time of the killing he or she believes the
    
circumstances to be such that, if they existed, would justify or exonerate the killing under the principles stated in Article 7 of this Code, but his or her belief is unreasonable.
    (b) Serious provocation is conduct sufficient to excite an intense passion in a reasonable person provided, however, that an action that does not otherwise constitute serious provocation cannot qualify as serious provocation because of the discovery, knowledge, or disclosure of the victim's sexual orientation as defined in Section 1-103 of the Illinois Human Rights Act.
    (c) When evidence of either of the mitigating factors defined in subsection (a) of this Section has been presented, the burden of proof is on the defendant to prove either mitigating factor by a preponderance of the evidence before the defendant can be found guilty of second degree murder. The burden of proof, however, remains on the State to prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the elements of first degree murder and, when appropriately raised, the absence of circumstances at the time of the killing that would justify or exonerate the killing under the principles stated in Article 7 of this Code.
    (d) Sentence. Second degree murder is a Class 1 felony.
(Source: P.A. 100-460, eff. 1-1-18.)

720 ILCS 5/9-2.1

    (720 ILCS 5/9-2.1) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-2.1)
    Sec. 9-2.1. Voluntary manslaughter of an unborn child.
    (a) A person who kills an unborn child without lawful justification commits voluntary manslaughter of an unborn child if at the time of the killing he is acting under a sudden and intense passion resulting from serious provocation by another whom the offender endeavors to kill, but he negligently or accidentally causes the death of the unborn child.
    Serious provocation is conduct sufficient to excite an intense passion in a reasonable person.
    (b) A person who intentionally or knowingly kills an unborn child commits voluntary manslaughter of an unborn child if at the time of the killing he believes the circumstances to be such that, if they existed, would justify or exonerate the killing under the principles stated in Article 7 of this Code, but his belief is unreasonable.
    (c) Sentence. Voluntary manslaughter of an unborn child is a Class 1 felony.
    (d) For purposes of this Section, (1) "unborn child" shall mean any individual of the human species from the implantation of an embryo until birth, and (2) "person" shall not include the pregnant individual whose unborn child is killed.
    (e) This Section shall not apply to acts which cause the death of an unborn child if those acts were committed during any abortion, as defined in Section 1-10 of the Reproductive Health Act, to which the pregnant individual has consented. This Section shall not apply to acts which were committed pursuant to usual and customary standards of medical practice during diagnostic testing or therapeutic treatment.
(Source: P.A. 101-13, eff. 6-12-19.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-3)
    Sec. 9-3. Involuntary Manslaughter and Reckless Homicide.
    (a) A person who unintentionally kills an individual without lawful justification commits involuntary manslaughter if his acts whether lawful or unlawful which cause the death are such as are likely to cause death or great bodily harm to some individual, and he performs them recklessly, except in cases in which the cause of the death consists of the driving of a motor vehicle or operating a snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or watercraft, in which case the person commits reckless homicide. A person commits reckless homicide if he or she unintentionally kills an individual while driving a vehicle and using an incline in a roadway, such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach, or hill, to cause the vehicle to become airborne.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) Sentence.
        (1) Involuntary manslaughter is a Class 3 felony.
        (2) Reckless homicide is a Class 3 felony.
    (e) (Blank).
    (e-2) Except as provided in subsection (e-3), in cases involving reckless homicide in which the offense is committed upon a public thoroughfare where children pass going to and from school when a school crossing guard is performing official duties, the penalty is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years.
    (e-3) In cases involving reckless homicide in which (i) the offense is committed upon a public thoroughfare where children pass going to and from school when a school crossing guard is performing official duties and (ii) the defendant causes the deaths of 2 or more persons as part of a single course of conduct, the penalty is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 6 years and not more than 28 years.
    (e-5) (Blank).
    (e-7) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (e-8), in cases involving reckless homicide in which the defendant: (1) was driving in a construction or maintenance zone, as defined in Section 11-605.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, or (2) was operating a vehicle while failing or refusing to comply with any lawful order or direction of any authorized police officer or traffic control aide engaged in traffic control, the penalty is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years.
    (e-8) In cases involving reckless homicide in which the defendant caused the deaths of 2 or more persons as part of a single course of conduct and: (1) was driving in a construction or maintenance zone, as defined in Section 11-605.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, or (2) was operating a vehicle while failing or refusing to comply with any lawful order or direction of any authorized police officer or traffic control aide engaged in traffic control, the penalty is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 6 years and not more than 28 years.
    (e-9) In cases involving reckless homicide in which the defendant drove a vehicle and used an incline in a roadway, such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach, or hill, to cause the vehicle to become airborne, and caused the deaths of 2 or more persons as part of a single course of conduct, the penalty is a Class 2 felony.
    (e-10) In cases involving involuntary manslaughter or reckless homicide resulting in the death of a peace officer killed in the performance of his or her duties as a peace officer, the penalty is a Class 2 felony.
    (e-11) In cases involving reckless homicide in which the defendant unintentionally kills an individual while driving in a posted school zone, as defined in Section 11-605 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, while children are present or in a construction or maintenance zone, as defined in Section 11-605.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, when construction or maintenance workers are present the trier of fact may infer that the defendant's actions were performed recklessly where he or she was also either driving at a speed of more than 20 miles per hour in excess of the posted speed limit or violating Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
    (e-12) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (e-13), in cases involving reckless homicide in which the offense was committed as result of a violation of subsection (c) of Section 11-907 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, the penalty is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years.
    (e-13) In cases involving reckless homicide in which the offense was committed as result of a violation of subsection (c) of Section 11-907 of the Illinois Vehicle Code and the defendant caused the deaths of 2 or more persons as part of a single course of conduct, the penalty is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 6 years and not more than 28 years.
    (e-14) In cases involving reckless homicide in which the defendant unintentionally kills an individual, the trier of fact may infer that the defendant's actions were performed recklessly where he or she was also violating subsection (c) of Section 11-907 of the Illinois Vehicle Code. The penalty for a reckless homicide in which the driver also violated subsection (c) of Section 11-907 of the Illinois Vehicle Code is a Class 2 felony, for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years.
    (e-15) In cases involving reckless homicide in which the defendant was operating a vehicle while failing or refusing to comply with subsection (c) of Section 11-907 of the Illinois Vehicle Code resulting in the death of a firefighter or emergency medical services personnel in the performance of his or her official duties, the penalty is a Class 2 felony.
    (f) In cases involving involuntary manslaughter in which the victim was a family or household member as defined in paragraph (3) of Section 112A-3 of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963, the penalty shall be a Class 2 felony, for which a person if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a term of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years.
(Source: P.A. 101-173, eff. 1-1-20.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3.1

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3.1) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-3.1)
    Sec. 9-3.1. (Renumbered).
(Source: Renumbered by P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3-1.5

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3-1.5)
    Sec. 9-3-1.5. (Renumbered as Section 9-3.5).
(Source: Renumbered by P.A. 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3.2

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3.2) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-3.2)
    Sec. 9-3.2. Involuntary manslaughter and reckless homicide of an unborn child.
    (a) A person who unintentionally kills an unborn child without lawful justification commits involuntary manslaughter of an unborn child if his acts whether lawful or unlawful which cause the death are such as are likely to cause death or great bodily harm to some individual, and he performs them recklessly, except in cases in which the cause of death consists of the driving of a motor vehicle, in which case the person commits reckless homicide of an unborn child.
    (b) Sentence.
        (1) Involuntary manslaughter of an unborn child is a
    
Class 3 felony.
        (2) Reckless homicide of an unborn child is a Class 3
    
felony.
    (c) For purposes of this Section, (1) "unborn child" shall mean any individual of the human species from the implantation of an embryo until birth, and (2) "person" shall not include the pregnant individual whose unborn child is killed.
    (d) This Section shall not apply to acts which cause the death of an unborn child if those acts were committed during any abortion, as defined in Section 1-10 of the Reproductive Health Act, to which the pregnant individual has consented. This Section shall not apply to acts which were committed pursuant to usual and customary standards of medical practice during diagnostic testing or therapeutic treatment.
    (e) The provisions of this Section shall not be construed to prohibit the prosecution of any person under any other provision of law, nor shall it be construed to preclude any civil cause of action.
(Source: P.A. 101-13, eff. 6-12-19; 102-558, eff. 8-20-21.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3.3

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3.3) (from Ch. 38, par. 9-3.3)
    Sec. 9-3.3. Drug-induced homicide.
    (a) A person commits drug-induced homicide when he or she violates Section 401 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or Section 55 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act by unlawfully delivering a controlled substance to another, and any person's death is caused by the injection, inhalation, absorption, or ingestion of any amount of that controlled substance.
    (a-5) A person commits drug-induced homicide when he or she violates the law of another jurisdiction, which if the violation had been committed in this State could be charged under Section 401 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or Section 55 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, by unlawfully delivering a controlled substance to another, and any person's death is caused in this State by the injection, inhalation, absorption, or ingestion of any amount of that controlled substance.
    (b) Sentence. Drug-induced homicide is a Class X felony, except:
        (1) A person who commits drug-induced homicide by
    
violating subsection (a) or subsection (c) of Section 401 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or Section 55 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act commits a Class X felony for which the defendant shall in addition to a sentence authorized by law, be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 15 years and not more than 30 years or an extended term of not less than 30 years and not more than 60 years.
        (2) A person who commits drug-induced homicide by
    
violating the law of another jurisdiction, which if the violation had been committed in this State could be charged under subsection (a) or subsection (c) of Section 401 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or Section 55 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, commits a Class X felony for which the defendant shall, in addition to a sentence authorized by law, be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 15 years and not more than 30 years or an extended term of not less than 30 years and not more than 60 years.
(Source: P.A. 100-404, eff. 1-1-18.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3.4

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3.4) (was 720 ILCS 5/9-3.1)
    Sec. 9-3.4. Concealment of homicidal death.
    (a) A person commits the offense of concealment of homicidal death when he or she knowingly conceals the death of any other person with knowledge that such other person has died by homicidal means.
    (b) Nothing in this Section prevents the defendant from also being charged with and tried for the first degree murder, second degree murder, or involuntary manslaughter of the person whose death is concealed.
    (b-5) For purposes of this Section:
    "Conceal" means the performing of some act or acts for the purpose of preventing or delaying the discovery of a death by homicidal means. "Conceal" means something more than simply withholding knowledge or failing to disclose information.
    "Homicidal means" means any act or acts, lawful or unlawful, of a person that cause the death of another person.
    (c) Sentence. Concealment of homicidal death is a Class 3 felony.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/9-3.5

    (720 ILCS 5/9-3.5)
    Sec. 9-3.5. Concealment of death.
    (a) For purposes of this Section, "conceal" means the performing of some act or acts for the purpose of preventing or delaying the discovery of a death. "Conceal" means something more than simply withholding knowledge or failing to disclose information.
    (b) A person commits the offense of concealment of death when he or she knowingly conceals the death of any other person who died by other than homicidal means.
    (c) A person commits the offense of concealment of death when he or she knowingly moves the body of a dead person from its place of death, with the intent of concealing information regarding the place or manner of death of that person, or the identity of any person with information regarding the death of that person. This subsection shall not apply to any movement of the body of a dead person by medical personnel, fire fighters, law enforcement officers, coroners, medical examiners, or licensed funeral directors, or by any person acting at the direction of medical personnel, fire fighters, law enforcement officers, coroners, medical examiners, or licensed funeral directors.
    (d) Sentence. Concealment of death is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 96-1361, eff. 1-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

720 ILCS 5/Art. 10

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 10 heading)
ARTICLE 10. KIDNAPING AND RELATED OFFENSES

720 ILCS 5/10-1

    (720 ILCS 5/10-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-1)
    Sec. 10-1. Kidnapping.
    (a) A person commits the offense of kidnapping when he or she knowingly:
        (1) and secretly confines another against his or her
    
will;
        (2) by force or threat of imminent force carries
    
another from one place to another with intent secretly to confine that other person against his or her will; or
        (3) by deceit or enticement induces another to go
    
from one place to another with intent secretly to confine that other person against his or her will.
    (b) Confinement of a child under the age of 13 years, or of a person with a severe or profound intellectual disability, is against that child's or person's will within the meaning of this Section if that confinement is without the consent of that child's or person's parent or legal guardian.
    (c) Sentence. Kidnapping is a Class 2 felony.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)

720 ILCS 5/10-2

    (720 ILCS 5/10-2) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-2)
    Sec. 10-2. Aggravated kidnaping.
    (a) A person commits the offense of aggravated kidnaping when he or she commits kidnapping and:
        (1) kidnaps with the intent to obtain ransom from the
    
person kidnaped or from any other person;
        (2) takes as his or her victim a child under the age
    
of 13 years, or a person with a severe or profound intellectual disability;
        (3) inflicts great bodily harm, other than by the
    
discharge of a firearm, or commits another felony upon his or her victim;
        (4) wears a hood, robe, or mask or conceals his or
    
her identity;
        (5) commits the offense of kidnaping while armed with
    
a dangerous weapon, other than a firearm, as defined in Section 33A-1 of this Code;
        (6) commits the offense of kidnaping while armed with
    
a firearm;
        (7) during the commission of the offense of
    
kidnaping, personally discharges a firearm; or
        (8) during the commission of the offense of
    
kidnaping, personally discharges a firearm that proximately causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or death to another person.
    As used in this Section, "ransom" includes money, benefit, or other valuable thing or concession.
    (b) Sentence. Aggravated kidnaping in violation of paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) of subsection (a) is a Class X felony. A violation of subsection (a)(6) is a Class X felony for which 15 years shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court. A violation of subsection (a)(7) is a Class X felony for which 20 years shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court. A violation of subsection (a)(8) is a Class X felony for which 25 years or up to a term of natural life shall be added to the term of imprisonment imposed by the court. An offender under the age of 18 years at the time of the commission of aggravated kidnaping in violation of paragraphs (1) through (8) of subsection (a) shall be sentenced under Section 5-4.5-105 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    A person who has attained the age of 18 years at the time of the commission of the offense and who is convicted of a second or subsequent offense of aggravated kidnaping shall be sentenced to a term of natural life imprisonment; except that a sentence of natural life imprisonment shall not be imposed under this Section unless the second or subsequent offense was committed after conviction on the first offense. An offender under the age of 18 years at the time of the commission of the second or subsequent offense shall be sentenced under Section 5-4.5-105 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
(Source: P.A. 99-69, eff. 1-1-16; 99-143, eff. 7-27-15; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)

720 ILCS 5/10-3

    (720 ILCS 5/10-3) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-3)
    Sec. 10-3. Unlawful restraint.
    (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful restraint when he or she knowingly without legal authority detains another.
    (b) Sentence. Unlawful restraint is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/10-3.1

    (720 ILCS 5/10-3.1) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-3.1)
    Sec. 10-3.1. Aggravated unlawful restraint.
    (a) A person commits the offense of aggravated unlawful restraint when he or she commits unlawful restraint while using a deadly weapon.
    (b) Sentence. Aggravated unlawful restraint is a Class 3 felony.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/10-4

    (720 ILCS 5/10-4) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-4)
    Sec. 10-4. Forcible Detention.) (a) A person commits the offense of forcible detention when he holds an individual hostage without lawful authority for the purpose of obtaining performance by a third person of demands made by the person holding the hostage, and
    (1) the person holding the hostage is armed with a dangerous weapon as defined in Section 33A-1 of this Code, or
    (2) the hostage is known to the person holding him to be a peace officer or a correctional employee engaged in the performance of his official duties.
    (b) Forcible detention is a Class 2 felony.
(Source: P.A. 79-941.)

720 ILCS 5/10-5

    (720 ILCS 5/10-5) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-5)
    Sec. 10-5. Child abduction.
    (a) For purposes of this Section, the following terms have the following meanings:
        (1) "Child" means a person who, at the time the
    
alleged violation occurred, was under the age of 18 or was a person with a severe or profound intellectual disability.
        (2) "Detains" means taking or retaining physical
    
custody of a child, whether or not the child resists or objects.
        (2.1) "Express consent" means oral or written
    
permission that is positive, direct, and unequivocal, requiring no inference or implication to supply its meaning.
        (2.2) "Luring" means any knowing act to solicit,
    
entice, tempt, or attempt to attract the minor.
        (3) "Lawful custodian" means a person or persons
    
granted legal custody of a child or entitled to physical possession of a child pursuant to a court order. It is presumed that, when the parties have never been married to each other, the mother has legal custody of the child unless a valid court order states otherwise. If an adjudication of paternity has been completed and the father has been assigned support obligations or visitation rights, such a paternity order should, for the purposes of this Section, be considered a valid court order granting custody to the mother.
        (4) "Putative father" means a man who has a
    
reasonable belief that he is the father of a child born of a woman who is not his wife.
        (5) "Unlawful purpose" means any misdemeanor or
    
felony violation of State law or a similar federal or sister state law or local ordinance.
    (b) A person commits the offense of child abduction when he or she does any one of the following:
        (1) Intentionally violates any terms of a valid court
    
order granting sole or joint custody, care, or possession to another by concealing or detaining the child or removing the child from the jurisdiction of the court.
        (2) Intentionally violates a court order prohibiting
    
the person from concealing or detaining the child or removing the child from the jurisdiction of the court.
        (3) Intentionally conceals, detains, or removes the
    
child without the consent of the mother or lawful custodian of the child if the person is a putative father and either: (A) the paternity of the child has not been legally established or (B) the paternity of the child has been legally established but no orders relating to custody have been entered. Notwithstanding the presumption created by paragraph (3) of subsection (a), however, a mother commits child abduction when she intentionally conceals or removes a child, whom she has abandoned or relinquished custody of, from an unadjudicated father who has provided sole ongoing care and custody of the child in her absence.
        (4) Intentionally conceals or removes the child from
    
a parent after filing a petition or being served with process in an action affecting marriage or paternity but prior to the issuance of a temporary or final order determining custody.
        (5) At the expiration of visitation rights outside
    
the State, intentionally fails or refuses to return or impedes the return of the child to the lawful custodian in Illinois.
        (6) Being a parent of the child, and if the parents
    
of that child are or have been married and there has been no court order of custody, knowingly conceals the child for 15 days, and fails to make reasonable attempts within the 15-day period to notify the other parent as to the specific whereabouts of the child, including a means by which to contact the child, or to arrange reasonable visitation or contact with the child. It is not a violation of this Section for a person fleeing domestic violence to take the child with him or her to housing provided by a domestic violence program.
        (7) Being a parent of the child, and if the parents
    
of the child are or have been married and there has been no court order of custody, knowingly conceals, detains, or removes the child with physical force or threat of physical force.
        (8) Knowingly conceals, detains, or removes the child
    
for payment or promise of payment at the instruction of a person who has no legal right to custody.
        (9) Knowingly retains in this State for 30 days a
    
child removed from another state without the consent of the lawful custodian or in violation of a valid court order of custody.
        (10) Intentionally lures or attempts to lure a child:
    
(A) under the age of 17 or (B) while traveling to or from a primary or secondary school into a motor vehicle, building, housetrailer, or dwelling place without the consent of the child's parent or lawful custodian for other than a lawful purpose. For the purposes of this item (10), the trier of fact may infer that luring or attempted luring of a child under the age of 17 into a motor vehicle, building, housetrailer, or dwelling place without the express consent of the child's parent or lawful custodian or with the intent to avoid the express consent of the child's parent or lawful custodian was for other than a lawful purpose.
        (11) With the intent to obstruct or prevent efforts
    
to locate the child victim of a child abduction, knowingly destroys, alters, conceals, or disguises physical evidence or furnishes false information.
    (c) It is an affirmative defense to subsections (b)(1) through (b)(10) of this Section that:
        (1) the person had custody of the child pursuant to a
    
court order granting legal custody or visitation rights that existed at the time of the alleged violation;
        (2) the person had physical custody of the child
    
pursuant to a court order granting legal custody or visitation rights and failed to return the child as a result of circumstances beyond his or her control, and the person notified and disclosed to the other parent or legal custodian the specific whereabouts of the child and a means by which the child could be contacted or made a reasonable attempt to notify the other parent or lawful custodian of the child of those circumstances and made the disclosure within 24 hours after the visitation period had expired and returned the child as soon as possible;
        (3) the person was fleeing an incidence or pattern of
    
domestic violence; or
        (4) the person lured or attempted to lure a child
    
under the age of 17 into a motor vehicle, building, housetrailer, or dwelling place for a lawful purpose in prosecutions under paragraph (10) of subsection (b).
    (d) A person convicted of child abduction under this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony. A person convicted of child abduction under subsection (b)(10) shall undergo a sex offender evaluation prior to a sentence being imposed. A person convicted of a second or subsequent violation of paragraph (10) of subsection (b) of this Section is guilty of a Class 3 felony. A person convicted of child abduction under subsection (b)(10) when the person has a prior conviction of a sex offense as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act or any substantially similar federal, Uniform Code of Military Justice, sister state, or foreign government offense is guilty of a Class 2 felony. It is a factor in aggravation under subsections (b)(1) through (b)(10) of this Section for which a court may impose a more severe sentence under Section 5-8-1 (730 ILCS 5/5-8-1) or Article 4.5 of Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections if, upon sentencing, the court finds evidence of any of the following aggravating factors:
        (1) that the defendant abused or neglected the child
    
following the concealment, detention, or removal of the child;
        (2) that the defendant inflicted or threatened to
    
inflict physical harm on a parent or lawful custodian of the child or on the child with intent to cause that parent or lawful custodian to discontinue criminal prosecution of the defendant under this Section;
        (3) that the defendant demanded payment in exchange
    
for return of the child or demanded that he or she be relieved of the financial or legal obligation to support the child in exchange for return of the child;
        (4) that the defendant has previously been convicted
    
of child abduction;
        (5) that the defendant committed the abduction while
    
armed with a deadly weapon or the taking of the child resulted in serious bodily injury to another; or
        (6) that the defendant committed the abduction while
    
in a school, regardless of the time of day or time of year; in a playground; on any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity; on the real property of a school; or on a public way within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising any school or playground. For purposes of this paragraph (6), "playground" means a piece of land owned or controlled by a unit of local government that is designated by the unit of local government for use solely or primarily for children's recreation; and "school" means a public or private elementary or secondary school, community college, college, or university.
    (e) The court may order the child to be returned to the parent or lawful custodian from whom the child was concealed, detained, or removed. In addition to any sentence imposed, the court may assess any reasonable expense incurred in searching for or returning the child against any person convicted of violating this Section.
    (f) Nothing contained in this Section shall be construed to limit the court's contempt power.
    (g) Every law enforcement officer investigating an alleged incident of child abduction shall make a written police report of any bona fide allegation and the disposition of that investigation. Every police report completed pursuant to this Section shall be compiled and recorded within the meaning of Section 5.1 of the Criminal Identification Act.
    (h) Whenever a law enforcement officer has reasons to believe a child abduction has occurred, she or he shall provide the lawful custodian a summary of her or his rights under this Code, including the procedures and relief available to her or him.
    (i) If during the course of an investigation under this Section the child is found in the physical custody of the defendant or another, the law enforcement officer shall return the child to the parent or lawful custodian from whom the child was concealed, detained, or removed, unless there is good cause for the law enforcement officer or the Department of Children and Family Services to retain temporary protective custody of the child pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)

720 ILCS 5/10-5.1

    (720 ILCS 5/10-5.1)
    Sec. 10-5.1. Luring of a minor.
    (a) A person commits the offense of luring of a minor when the offender is 21 years of age or older and knowingly contacts or communicates electronically to the minor:
        (1) knowing the minor is under 15 years of age;
        (2) with the intent to persuade, lure or transport
    
the minor away from his or her home, or other location known by the minor's parent or legal guardian to be the place where the minor is to be located;
        (3) for an unlawful purpose;
        (4) without the express consent of the person's
    
parent or legal guardian;
        (5) with the intent to avoid the express consent of
    
the person's parent or legal guardian;
        (6) after so communicating, commits any act in
    
furtherance of the intent described in clause (a)(2); and
        (7) is a stranger to the parents or legal guardian of
    
the minor.
    (b) A person commits the offense of luring of a minor when the offender is at least 18 years of age but under 21 years of age and knowingly contacts or communicates electronically to the minor:
        (1) knowing the minor is under 15 years of age;
        (2) with the intent to persuade, lure, or transport
    
the minor away from his or her home or other location known by the minor's parent or legal guardian, to be the place where the minor is to be located;
        (3) for an unlawful purpose;
        (4) without the express consent of the person's
    
parent or legal guardian;
        (5) with the intent to avoid the express consent of
    
the person's parent or legal guardian;
        (6) after so communicating, commits any act in
    
furtherance of the intent described in clause (b)(2); and
        (7) is a stranger to the parents or legal guardian of
    
the minor.
    (c) Definitions. For purposes of this Section:
        (1) "Emergency situation" means a situation in which
    
the minor is threatened with imminent bodily harm, emotional harm or psychological harm.
        (2) "Express consent" means oral or written
    
permission that is positive, direct, and unequivocal, requiring no inference or implication to supply its meaning.
        (3) "Contacts or communicates electronically"
    
includes but is not limited to, any attempt to make contact or communicate telephonically or through the Internet or text messages.
        (4) "Luring" shall mean any knowing act to solicit,
    
entice, tempt, or attempt to attract the minor.
        (5) "Minor" shall mean any person under the age of 15.
        (6) "Stranger" shall have its common and ordinary
    
meaning, including but not limited to, a person that is either not known by the parents of the minor or does not have any association with the parents of the minor.
        (7) "Unlawful purpose" shall mean any misdemeanor or
    
felony violation of State law or a similar federal or sister state law or local ordinance.
    (d) This Section may not be interpreted to criminalize an act or person contacting a minor within the scope and course of his employment, or status as a volunteer of a recognized civic, charitable or youth organization.
    (e) This Section is intended to protect minors and to help parents and legal guardians exercise reasonable care, supervision, protection, and control over minor children.
    (f) Affirmative defenses.
        (1) It shall be an affirmative defense to any offense
    
under this Section 10-5.1 that the accused reasonably believed that the minor was over the age of 15.
        (2) It shall be an affirmative defense to any offense
    
under this Section 10-5.1 that the accused is assisting the minor in an emergency situation.
        (3) It shall not be a defense to the prosecution of
    
any offense under this Section 10-5.1 if the person who is contacted by the offender is posing as a minor and is in actuality an adult law enforcement officer.
    (g) Penalties.
        (1) A first offense of luring of a minor under
    
subsection (a) shall be a Class 4 felony. A person convicted of luring of a minor under subsection (a) shall undergo a sex offender evaluation prior to a sentence being imposed. An offense of luring of a minor under subsection (a) when a person has a prior conviction in Illinois of a sex offense as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act, or any substantially similar federal, Uniform Code of Military Justice, sister state, or foreign government offense, is guilty of a Class 2 felony.
        (2) A first offense of luring of a minor under
    
subsection (b) is a Class B misdemeanor.
        (3) A second or subsequent offense of luring of a
    
minor under subsection (a) is a Class 3 felony. A second or subsequent offense of luring of a minor under subsection (b) is a Class 4 felony. A second or subsequent offense when a person has a prior conviction in Illinois of a sex offense as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act, or any substantially similar federal, Uniform Code of Military Justice, sister state, or foreign government offense, is a Class 1 felony. A defendant convicted a second time of an offense under subsection (a) or (b) shall register as a sexual predator of children pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act.
        (4) A third or subsequent offense is a Class 1
    
felony. A third or subsequent offense when a person has a prior conviction in Illinois of a sex offense as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act, or any substantially similar federal, Uniform Code of Military Justice, sister state, or foreign government offense, is a Class X felony.
    (h) For violations of subsection (a), jurisdiction shall be established if the transmission that constitutes the offense either originates in this State or is received in this State and does not apply to emergency situations. For violations of subsection (b), jurisdiction shall be established in any county where the act in furtherance of the commission of the offense is committed, in the county where the minor resides, or in the county where the offender resides.
(Source: P.A. 95-625, eff. 6-1-08.)

720 ILCS 5/10-5.5

    (720 ILCS 5/10-5.5)
    Sec. 10-5.5. Unlawful visitation or parenting time interference.
    (a) As used in this Section, the terms "child", "detain", and "lawful custodian" have the meanings ascribed to them in Section 10-5 of this Code.
    (b) Every person who, in violation of the visitation, parenting time, or custody time provisions of a court order relating to child custody, detains or conceals a child with the intent to deprive another person of his or her rights to visitation, parenting time, or custody time commits the offense of unlawful visitation or parenting time interference.
    (c) A person committing unlawful visitation or parenting time interference is guilty of a petty offense. Any person violating this Section after 2 prior convictions of unlawful visitation interference or unlawful visitation or parenting time interference, however, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (d) Any law enforcement officer who has probable cause to believe that a person has committed or is committing an act in violation of this Section shall issue to that person a notice to appear.
    (e) The notice shall:
        (1) be in writing;
        (2) state the name of the person and his or her
    
address, if known;
        (3) set forth the nature of the offense;
        (4) be signed by the officer issuing the notice; and
        (5) request the person to appear before a court at a
    
certain time and place.
    (f) Upon failure of the person to appear, a summons or warrant of arrest may be issued.
    (g) It is an affirmative defense that:
        (1) a person or lawful custodian committed the act to
    
protect the child from imminent physical harm, provided that the defendant's belief that there was physical harm imminent was reasonable and that the defendant's conduct in withholding visitation rights, parenting time, or custody time was a reasonable response to the harm believed imminent;
        (2) the act was committed with the mutual consent of
    
all parties having a right to custody and visitation of the child or parenting time with the child; or
        (3) the act was otherwise authorized by law.
(Source: P.A. 96-333, eff. 8-11-09; 96-675, eff. 8-25-09; 96-710, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10.)

720 ILCS 5/10-6

    (720 ILCS 5/10-6) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-6)
    Sec. 10-6. Harboring a runaway.
    (a) Any person, other than an agency or association providing crisis intervention services as defined in Section 3-5 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or an operator of a youth emergency shelter as defined in Section 2.21 of the Child Care Act of 1969, who, without the knowledge and consent of the minor's parent or guardian, knowingly gives shelter to a minor, other than a mature minor who has been emancipated under the Emancipation of Minors Act, for more than 48 hours without the consent of the minor's parent or guardian, and without notifying the local law enforcement authorities of the minor's name and the fact that the minor is being provided shelter commits the offense of harboring a runaway.
    (b) Any person who commits the offense of harboring a runaway is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)

720 ILCS 5/10-7

    (720 ILCS 5/10-7) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-7)
    Sec. 10-7. Aiding or abetting child abduction.
    (a) A person violates this Section when, before or during the commission of a child abduction as defined in Section 10-5 and with the intent to promote or facilitate such offense, he or she intentionally aids or abets another in the planning or commission of child abduction, unless before the commission of the offense he or she makes proper effort to prevent the commission of the offense.
    (b) Sentence. A person who violates this Section commits a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/10-8

    (720 ILCS 5/10-8) (from Ch. 38, par. 10-8)
    Sec. 10-8. Unlawful sale of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor.
    (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful sale of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor when the person sells a ticket for travel on any public conveyance to an unemancipated minor under 17 years of age without the consent of the minor's parents or guardian for passage to a destination outside this state and knows the minor's age or fails to take reasonable measures to ascertain the minor's age.
    (b) Evidence. The fact that the defendant demanded, was shown, and reasonably relied upon written evidence of a person's age in any transaction forbidden by this Section is competent evidence, and may be considered in any criminal prosecution for a violation of this Section.
    (c) Definition. "Public Conveyance", includes an airplane, boat, bus, railroad, train, taxicab or other vehicle used for the transportation of passengers for hire.
    (d) Sentence. Unlawful sale of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor is a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 86-336.)

720 ILCS 5/10-8.1

    (720 ILCS 5/10-8.1)
    Sec. 10-8.1. Unlawful sending of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor.
    (a) In this Section, "public conveyance" has the meaning ascribed to it in Section 10-8 of this Code.
    (b) A person commits the offense of unlawful sending of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor when the person without the consent of the minor's parent or guardian:
        (1) knowingly sends, causes to be sent, or purchases
    
a public conveyance travel ticket to any location for a person known by the offender to be an unemancipated minor under 17 years of age or a person he or she believes to be a minor under 17 years of age, other than for a lawful purpose under Illinois law; or
        (2) knowingly arranges for travel to any location on
    
any public conveyance for a person known by the offender to be an unemancipated minor under 17 years of age or a person he or she believes to be a minor under 17 years of age, other than for a lawful purpose under Illinois law.
    (b-5) Telecommunications carriers, commercial mobile service providers, and providers of information services, including, but not limited to, Internet service providers and hosting service providers, are not liable under this Section, except for willful and wanton misconduct, by virtue of the transmission, storage, or caching of electronic communications or messages of others or by virtue of the provision of other related telecommunications, commercial mobile services, or information services used by others in violation of this Section.
    (c) Sentence. Unlawful sending of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor is a Class A misdemeanor. A person who commits unlawful sending of a public conveyance travel ticket to a minor who believes that he or she is at least 5 years older than the minor is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 95-983, eff. 6-1-09.)

720 ILCS 5/10-9

    (720 ILCS 5/10-9)
    Sec. 10-9. Trafficking in persons, involuntary servitude, and related offenses.
    (a) Definitions. In this Section:
    (1) "Intimidation" has the meaning prescribed in Section 12-6.
    (2) "Commercial sexual activity" means any sex act on account of which anything of value is given, promised to, or received by any person.
    (2.5) "Company" means any sole proprietorship, organization, association, corporation, partnership, joint venture, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability limited partnership, limited liability company, or other entity or business association, including all wholly owned subsidiaries, majority-owned subsidiaries, parent companies, or affiliates of those entities or business associations, that exist for the purpose of making profit.
    (3) "Financial harm" includes intimidation that brings about financial loss, criminal usury, or employment contracts that violate the Frauds Act.
    (4) (Blank).
    (5) "Labor" means work of economic or financial value.
    (6) "Maintain" means, in relation to labor or services, to secure continued performance thereof, regardless of any initial agreement on the part of the victim to perform that type of service.
    (7) "Obtain" means, in relation to labor or services, to secure performance thereof.
    (7.5) "Serious harm" means any harm, whether physical or nonphysical, including psychological, financial, or reputational harm, that is sufficiently serious, under all the surrounding circumstances, to compel a reasonable person of the same background and in the same circumstances to perform or to continue performing labor or services in order to avoid incurring that harm.
    (8) "Services" means activities resulting from a relationship between a person and the actor in which the person performs activities under the supervision of or for the benefit of the actor. Commercial sexual activity and sexually-explicit performances are forms of activities that are "services" under this Section. Nothing in this definition may be construed to legitimize or legalize prostitution.
    (9) "Sexually-explicit performance" means a live, recorded, broadcast (including over the Internet), or public act or show intended to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires or appeal to the prurient interests of patrons.
    (10) "Trafficking victim" means a person subjected to the practices set forth in subsection (b), (c), or (d).
    (b) Involuntary servitude. A person commits involuntary servitude when he or she knowingly subjects, attempts to subject, or engages in a conspiracy to subject another person to labor or services obtained or maintained through any of the following means, or any combination of these means:
        (1) causes or threatens to cause physical harm to any
    
person;
        (2) physically restrains or threatens to physically
    
restrain another person;
        (3) abuses or threatens to abuse the law or legal
    
process;
        (4) knowingly destroys, conceals, removes,
    
confiscates, or possesses any actual or purported passport or other immigration document, or any other actual or purported government identification document, of another person;
        (5) uses intimidation, or exerts financial control
    
over any person; or
        (6) uses any scheme, plan, or pattern intended to
    
cause the person to believe that, if the person did not perform the labor or services, that person or another person would suffer serious harm or physical restraint.
    Sentence. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (e) or (f), a violation of subsection (b)(1) is a Class X felony, (b)(2) is a Class 1 felony, (b)(3) is a Class 2 felony, (b)(4) is a Class 3 felony, (b)(5) and (b)(6) is a Class 4 felony.
    (c) Involuntary sexual servitude of a minor. A person commits involuntary sexual servitude of a minor when he or she knowingly recruits, entices, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains by any means, or attempts to recruit, entice, harbor, provide, or obtain by any means, another person under 18 years of age, knowing that the minor will engage in commercial sexual activity, a sexually-explicit performance, or the production of pornography, or causes or attempts to cause a minor to engage in one or more of those activities and:
        (1) there is no overt force or threat and the minor
    
is between the ages of 17 and 18 years;
        (2) there is no overt force or threat and the minor
    
is under the age of 17 years; or
        (3) there is overt force or threat.
    Sentence. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (e) or (f), a violation of subsection (c)(1) is a Class 1 felony, (c)(2) is a Class X felony, and (c)(3) is a Class X felony.
    (d) Trafficking in persons. A person commits trafficking in persons when he or she knowingly: (1) recruits, entices, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains by any means, or attempts to recruit, entice, harbor, transport, provide, or obtain by any means, another person, intending or knowing that the person will be subjected to involuntary servitude; or (2) benefits, financially or by receiving anything of value, from participation in a venture that has engaged in an act of involuntary servitude or involuntary sexual servitude of a minor. A company commits trafficking in persons when the company knowingly benefits, financially or by receiving anything of value, from participation in a venture that has engaged in an act of involuntary servitude or involuntary sexual servitude of a minor.
    Sentence. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (e) or (f), a violation of this subsection by a person is a Class 1 felony. A violation of this subsection by a company is a business offense for which a fine of up to $100,000 may be imposed.
    (e) Aggravating factors. A violation of this Section involving kidnapping or an attempt to kidnap, aggravated criminal sexual assault or an attempt to commit aggravated criminal sexual assault, or an attempt to commit first degree murder is a Class X felony.
    (f) Sentencing considerations.
        (1) Bodily injury. If, pursuant to a violation of
    
this Section, a victim suffered bodily injury, the defendant may be sentenced to an extended-term sentence under Section 5-8-2 of the Unified Code of Corrections. The sentencing court must take into account the time in which the victim was held in servitude, with increased penalties for cases in which the victim was held for between 180 days and one year, and increased penalties for cases in which the victim was held for more than one year.
        (2) Number of victims. In determining sentences
    
within statutory maximums, the sentencing court should take into account the number of victims, and may provide for substantially increased sentences in cases involving more than 10 victims.
    (g) Restitution. Restitution is mandatory under this Section. In addition to any other amount of loss identified, the court shall order restitution including the greater of (1) the gross income or value to the defendant of the victim's labor or services or (2) the value of the victim's labor as guaranteed under the Minimum Wage Law and overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) or the Minimum Wage Law, whichever is greater.
    (g-5) Fine distribution. If the court imposes a fine under subsection (b), (c), or (d) of this Section, it shall be collected and distributed to the Specialized Services for Survivors of Human Trafficking Fund in accordance with Section 5-9-1.21 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (h) Trafficking victim services. Subject to the availability of funds, the Department of Human Services may provide or fund emergency services and assistance to individuals who are victims of one or more offenses defined in this Section.
    (i) Certification. The Attorney General, a State's Attorney, or any law enforcement official shall certify in writing to the United States Department of Justice or other federal agency, such as the United States Department of Homeland Security, that an investigation or prosecution under this Section has begun and the individual who is a likely victim of a crime described in this Section is willing to cooperate or is cooperating with the investigation to enable the individual, if eligible under federal law, to qualify for an appropriate special immigrant visa and to access available federal benefits. Cooperation with law enforcement shall not be required of victims of a crime described in this Section who are under 18 years of age. This certification shall be made available to the victim and his or her designated legal representative.
    (j) A person who commits involuntary servitude, involuntary sexual servitude of a minor, or trafficking in persons under subsection (b), (c), or (d) of this Section is subject to the property forfeiture provisions set forth in Article 124B of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963.
(Source: P.A. 101-18, eff. 1-1-20.)

720 ILCS 5/10-10

    (720 ILCS 5/10-10)
    Sec. 10-10. Failure to report the death or disappearance of a child under 13 years of age.
    (a) A parent, legal guardian, or caretaker of a child under 13 years of age commits failure to report the death or disappearance of a child under 13 years of age when he or she knows or should know and fails to report the child as missing or deceased to a law enforcement agency within 24 hours if the parent, legal guardian, or caretaker reasonably believes that the child is missing or deceased. In the case of a child under the age of 2 years, the reporting requirement is reduced to no more than one hour.
    (b) A parent, legal guardian, or caretaker of a child under 13 years of age must report the death of the child to the law enforcement agency of the county where the child's corpse was found if the parent, legal guardian, or caretaker reasonably believes that the death of the child was caused by a homicide, accident, or other suspicious circumstance.
    (c) The Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator shall not personally be subject to the reporting requirements in subsection (a) or (b) of this Section.
    (d) A parent, legal guardian, or caretaker does not commit the offense of failure to report the death or disappearance of a child under 13 years of age when:
        (1) the failure to report is due to an act of God,
    
act of war, or inability of a law enforcement agency to receive a report of the disappearance of a child;
        (2) the parent, legal guardian, or caretaker calls
    
911 to report the disappearance of the child;
        (3) the parent, legal guardian, or caretaker knows
    
that the child is under the care of another parent, family member, relative, friend, or baby sitter; or
        (4) the parent, legal guardian, or caretaker is
    
hospitalized, in a coma, or is otherwise seriously physically or mentally impaired as to prevent the person from reporting the death or disappearance.
    (e) Sentence. A violation of this Section is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 97-1079, eff. 1-1-13.)

720 ILCS 5/Art. 10A

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 10A heading)
ARTICLE 10A. (Repealed)
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 96-710, eff. 1-1-10.)

720 ILCS 5/Art. 11

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 11 heading)
ARTICLE 11. SEX OFFENSES

720 ILCS 5/Art. 11 Subdiv. 1

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 11 Subdiv. 1 heading)
SUBDIVISION 1. GENERAL DEFINITIONS
(Source: P.A. 96-1551, eff. 7-1-11.)