Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
CRIMINAL OFFENSES720 ILCS 5/12B-30
(720 ILCS 5/) Criminal Code of 2012.
(720 ILCS 5/12B-30)
Posting notification of video games rating system.
(a) A retailer who sells or rents video games shall post a sign that notifies customers that a video game rating system, created by the Entertainment Software Ratings Board, is available to aid in the selection of a game. The sign shall be prominently posted in, or within 5 feet of, the area in which games are displayed for sale or rental, at the information desk if one exists, and at the point of purchase.
(b) The lettering of each sign shall be printed, at a minimum, in 36-point type and shall be in black ink against a light colored background, with dimensions of no less than 18 by 24 inches.
(c) A retailer's failure to comply with this Section is a petty offense punishable by a fine of $500 for the first 3 violations, and $1,000 for every subsequent violation.
(Source: P.A. 94-315, eff. 1-1-06
720 ILCS 5/12B-35
(720 ILCS 5/12B-35)
Availability of brochure describing rating system.
(a) A video game retailer shall make available upon request a brochure to customers that explains the Entertainment Software Ratings Board ratings system.
(b) A retailer who fails to comply with this Section shall receive the punishment described in subsection (b) of Section 12B-25.
(Source: P.A. 94-315, eff. 1-1-06
720 ILCS 5/Art. 12C
(720 ILCS 5/Art. 12C heading)
HARMS TO CHILDREN
(Source: P.A. 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13.)
720 ILCS 5/Art. 12C, Subdiv. 1
(720 ILCS 5/Art. 12C, Subdiv. 1 heading)
ENDANGERMENT AND NEGLECT OFFENSES
(Source: P.A. 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13.)
720 ILCS 5/12C-5
(720 ILCS 5/12C-5)
(was 720 ILCS 5/12-21.6)
Endangering the life or health of a child.
(a) A person commits endangering the life or health of a child when he or she knowingly: (1) causes or permits the life or
health of a child under the age of 18 to be endangered; or (2) causes or permits a child to be placed in circumstances that endanger the child's life
or health. It is not a violation of this Section for a person to relinquish a child
in accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection Act.
(b) A trier of fact may infer that a child 6 years of age or younger is unattended if that child is left in a motor
vehicle for more than 10 minutes.
(c) "Unattended" means either: (i) not accompanied by a person 14 years
of age or older; or (ii) if accompanied by a person 14 years of age or older,
out of sight of that person.
(d) Sentence. A violation of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor. A second or
subsequent violation of this Section is a Class 3 felony. A violation of
this Section that is a proximate cause of the death of the child is a Class
3 felony for which a person, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall
be sentenced to a term of not less than 2 years and not more than 10 years. A parent, who is found to be in violation of this Section with respect to his or her child, may be sentenced to probation for this offense pursuant to Section 12C-15.
P.A. 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13.)
720 ILCS 5/12C-10
(720 ILCS 5/12C-10)
(was 720 ILCS 5/12-21.5)
(a) A person commits child abandonment when he or
she, as a parent, guardian, or other person having physical custody or control
of a child, without regard for the mental or physical health, safety, or
welfare of that child, knowingly leaves that child who is under the age of 13
without supervision by a responsible person over the age of 14 for a period of
24 hours or more. It is not a violation of this Section for a person to relinquish a child in accordance with the
Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection Act.
(b) For the purposes of determining whether the child was left without
regard for the mental or physical health, safety, or welfare of that child, the
trier of fact shall consider the following factors:
(1) the age of the child;
(2) the number of children left at the location;
(3) special needs of the child, including whether the
child is a person with a physical or mental disability, or otherwise in need of ongoing prescribed medical treatment such as periodic doses of insulin or other medications;
(4) the duration of time in which the child was left
(5) the condition and location of the place where the
child was left without supervision;
(6) the time of day or night when the child was left
(7) the weather conditions, including whether the
child was left in a location with adequate protection from the natural elements such as adequate heat or light;
(8) the location of the parent, guardian, or other
person having physical custody or control of the child at the time the child was left without supervision, the physical distance the child was from the parent, guardian, or other person having physical custody or control of the child at the time the child was without supervision;
(9) whether the child's movement was restricted, or
the child was otherwise locked within a room or other structure;
(10) whether the child was given a phone number of a
person or location to call in the event of an emergency and whether the child was capable of making an emergency call;
(11) whether there was food and other provision left
(12) whether any of the conduct is attributable to
economic hardship or illness and the parent, guardian or other person having physical custody or control of the child made a good faith effort to provide for the health and safety of the child;
(13) the age and physical and mental capabilities of
the person or persons who provided supervision for the child;
(14) any other factor that would endanger the health
or safety of that particular child;
(15) whether the child was left under the supervision
(c) Child abandonment is a Class 4 felony. A second or subsequent offense
after a prior conviction is a Class 3 felony. A parent, who is found to be in violation of this Section with respect to his or her child, may be sentenced to probation for this offense pursuant to Section 12C-15.
(Source: P.A. 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)
720 ILCS 5/12C-15
(720 ILCS 5/12C-15)
(was 720 ILCS 5/12-22)
Child abandonment or endangerment; probation.
(a) Whenever a parent of a child as determined by the court on the facts
before it, pleads guilty to or is found guilty of, with respect to his or her
child, child abandonment under Section 12C-10 of this Article or
endangering the life or health of a child under Section 12C-5 of this Article, the court may, without entering a judgment of guilt and with the
consent of the person, defer further proceedings and place the person upon
probation upon the reasonable terms and conditions as the court may require.
At least one term of the probation shall require the person to cooperate with
the Department of Children and Family Services at the times and in the programs
that the Department of Children and Family Services may require.
(b) Upon fulfillment of the terms and conditions imposed under subsection
(a), the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings.
Discharge and dismissal under this Section shall be without court adjudication
of guilt and shall not be considered a conviction for purposes of
disqualification or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime.
However, a record of the disposition shall be reported by the clerk of the
circuit court to the Illinois State Police under Section 2.1 of the
Criminal Identification Act, and the record shall be maintained and provided to
any civil authority in connection with a determination of whether the person is
an acceptable candidate for the care, custody and supervision of children.
(c) Discharge and dismissal under this Section may occur only once.
(d) Probation under this Section may not be for a period of less than 2
(e) If the child dies of the injuries alleged, this Section shall be
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)