Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(625 ILCS 40/) Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act.

625 ILCS 40/Art. VI

    (625 ILCS 40/Art. VI heading)

625 ILCS 40/6-1

    (625 ILCS 40/6-1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 606-1)
    Sec. 6-1. Collisions, accidents, and casualties; reports.
    A. The operator of a snowmobile involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty, shall render to other persons affected by this collision, accident, or other casualty such assistance as may be practicable and as may be necessary in order to save them from or minimize any danger caused by the collision, accident, or other casualty, and also shall give his name, address, and identification of his snowmobile to any person injured and to the owner of any property damaged in the collision, accident, or other casualty.
    B. In the case of collision, accident, or other casualty involving the operation of a snowmobile, the operator thereof, if the collision, accident, or other casualty results in death or injury to a person or damage to property in excess of $750, shall file with the Department a full description of the collision, accident, or other casualty, including such information as the Department may, by regulation, require. Reports of such accidents must be filed with the Department on a Department Accident Report form within 5 days.
    C. Reports of accidents resulting in personal injury, wherein a person is incapacitated for a period exceeding 72 hours, must be filed with the Department on a Department Accident Report form within 5 days. Accidents which result in loss of life shall be reported to the Department on a Department form within 48 hours.
    D. All required accident reports and supplemental reports are without prejudice to the individual so reporting, and are for the confidential use of the Department, except that the Department may disclose the identity of a person involved in an accident when such identity is not otherwise known or when such person denies his presence at such accident. No such report may be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident, except that the Department must furnish upon demand of any person who has or claims to have made such a report, or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the Department, solely to prove a compliance or a failure to comply with the requirements that such a report be made to the Department.
(Source: P.A. 92-174, eff. 7-26-01.)

625 ILCS 40/6-2

    (625 ILCS 40/6-2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 606-2)
    Sec. 6-2. Owner's and Operator's Responsibility.
    The owner and any operator of a snowmobile are jointly and severally liable for any injury or damage occasioned by the operation of such snowmobile.
(Source: P.A. 77-1312.)