Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(625 ILCS 40/) Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act.

625 ILCS 40/Art. IV

    (625 ILCS 40/Art. IV heading)

625 ILCS 40/4-1

    (625 ILCS 40/4-1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 604-1)
    Sec. 4-1. Equipment. All snowmobiles operating within the State of Illinois shall be equipped with:
    A. At least one white head-lamp having a minimum candlepower of sufficient intensity to exhibit a white light plainly visible from a distance of at least 500 feet ahead during hours of darkness under normal atmospheric conditions. If a snowmobile is equipped with a single beam lamp, such lamp shall be so aimed that when the vehicle is loaded none of the high intensity portion of the light, at a distance of 25 feet in front of the vehicle, projects higher than the level of the center of the lamp from which it originates.
    B. At least one red tail lamp having a minimum candlepower of sufficient intensity to exhibit a red light plainly visible from a distance of five hundred feet to the rear during hours of darkness under normal atmospheric conditions.
    C. A brake system in good mechanical condition.
    D. Reflective material of a minimum area of 16 square inches mounted on each side of the cowling. Identifying numbers may be included in computing the required 16 square inch area.
    E. Adequate sound suppression equipment. No snowmobile manufactured after June 1, 1972, shall be sold or offered for sale, unless it is equipped with sound suppression devices that limit total machine noise in accordance with noise pollution standards established pursuant to the Environmental Protection Act.
(Source: P.A. 82-417.)

625 ILCS 40/4-2

    (625 ILCS 40/4-2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 604-2)
    Sec. 4-2. Inspection and Testing.
    The Department may adopt rules and regulations with respect to the inspection of snowmobiles and the testing of machine noise.
(Source: P.A. 77-1312.)

625 ILCS 40/4-3

    (625 ILCS 40/4-3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 604-3)
    Sec. 4-3. Sale Prohibited.
    No person shall have for sale, sell, or offer for sale in this State any snowmobile which fails to comply with Section 4-1, or which does not comply with the specifications for such equipment required by the rules and regulations of the Department after the effective date of such rules and regulations.
(Source: P.A. 77-1312.)

625 ILCS 40/4-4

    (625 ILCS 40/4-4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 604-4)
    Sec. 4-4. Racing Machines.
    Snowmobiles used only on international or national competition circuits in events for which written permission has been obtained by the sponsoring or sanctioning body from the governmental unit having jurisdiction over the location of any event held in this State are exempt from the provisions of this Article.
(Source: P.A. 78-856.)