Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/6-504

    (625 ILCS 5/6-504) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-504)
    Sec. 6-504. Commercial motor vehicle drivers - other reporting requirements. All drivers of commercial motor vehicles licensed or domiciled in Illinois:
    (1) who have their driving privileges suspended, revoked or cancelled by any state; or
    (2) who lose their privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in any state for any period; or
    (3) who are disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for any period; or
    (4) who are placed "out-of-service" pursuant to Section 6-515;
shall notify: (i) their employer of such suspension, revocation, cancellation, lost right, disqualification, or "out-of-service" action before the end of the business day following the day the driver received notice of such action; and within 30 days after the effective date of such action.
    (ii) the Secretary of State of any such out-of-state suspension, revocation, cancellation, lost right, disqualification, or "out-of-service" action within 30 days after the effective date of such action.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-505

    (625 ILCS 5/6-505) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-505)
    Sec. 6-505. Commercial motor vehicle driver - duty to report certain previous employment to potential employer. Each person who applies for employment as a driver of a commercial motor vehicle, with any employer, shall notify such potential employer at the time of such application of any and all previous employment for the last 10 years, as a driver of a commercial motor vehicle including, but not necessarily limited to, the dates between which the applicant drove for each employer, the reason for leaving each such employment and the information contained in the notification requirements of Section 6-504.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-506

    (625 ILCS 5/6-506) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-506)
    Sec. 6-506. Commercial motor vehicle driver - employer/owner responsibilities.
    (a) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall allow, permit, authorize, or require an employee to drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways if he or she knows or should reasonably know that the employee:
        (1) has a driver's license suspended, revoked or
    
cancelled by any state; or
        (2) has lost the privilege to drive a commercial
    
motor vehicle in any state; or
        (3) has been disqualified from driving a commercial
    
motor vehicle; or
        (4) has more than one CLP or CDL, except as provided
    
by this UCDLA; or
        (5) is subject to or in violation of an
    
"out-of-service" order; or
        (6) does not have a current CLP or CDL or a CLP or
    
CDL with the proper class or endorsements. An employer may not use a driver to operate a CMV who violates any restriction on the driver's CLP or CDL.
    (b) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall knowingly allow, permit, authorize, or require a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle in violation of any law or regulation pertaining to railroad-highway grade crossings.
    (b-3) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall knowingly allow, permit, authorize, or require a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any period in which the commercial motor vehicle is subject to an "out-of-service" order.
    (b-5) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall knowingly allow, permit, authorize, or require a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any period in which the motor carrier operation is subject to an "out-of-service" order.
    (c) Any employer convicted of violating subsection (a), (b-3), or (b-5) of this Section, whether individually or in connection with one or more other persons, or as principal agent, or accessory, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 98-722, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-507

    (625 ILCS 5/6-507) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-507)
    Sec. 6-507. Commercial Driver's License (CDL) or Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) required.
    (a) Except as expressly permitted by this UCDLA, or when driving pursuant to the issuance of a commercial learner's permit and accompanied by the holder of a CDL valid for the vehicle being driven; no person shall drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways without:
        (1) a CDL in the driver's possession;
        (2) having obtained a CLP or CDL;
        (3) the proper class of CLP or CDL or endorsements or
    
both for the specific vehicle group being operated or for the passengers or type of cargo being transported; or
        (4) a copy of a medical variance document, if one
    
exists, such as an exemption letter or a skill performance evaluation certificate.
    (a-5) A CLP or CDL holder whose CLP or CDL is held by this State or any other state in the course of enforcement of a motor vehicle traffic code and who has not been convicted of a disqualifying offense under 49 C.F.R. 383.51 based on this enforcement, may drive a CMV while holding a dated receipt for the CLP or CDL.
    (b) Except as otherwise provided by this Code, no person may drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways while such person's driving privilege, license, or permit is:
        (1) Suspended, revoked, cancelled, or subject to
    
disqualification. Any person convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of this or any other state shall have their driving privileges revoked under paragraph 12 of subsection (a) of Section 6-205 of this Code.
        (2) Subject to or in violation of an "out-of-service"
    
order. Any person who has been issued a CLP or CDL and is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
        (3) Subject to or in violation of a driver or vehicle
    
"out of service" order while operating a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded. Any person who has been issued a CLP or CDL and is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of this or any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
    (b-3) Except as otherwise provided by this Code, no person may drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways during a period which the commercial motor vehicle or the motor carrier operation is subject to an "out-of-service" order. Any person who is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
    (b-5) Except as otherwise provided by this Code, no person may operate a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver or hazardous materials of a type or quantity that requires the vehicle to be placarded during a period in which the commercial motor vehicle or the motor carrier operation is subject to an "out-of-service" order. Any person who is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
    (c) Pursuant to the options provided to the States by FHWA Docket No. MC-88-8, the driver of any motor vehicle controlled or operated by or for a farmer is waived from the requirements of this Section, when such motor vehicle is being used to transport: agricultural products; implements of husbandry; or farm supplies; to and from a farm, as long as such movement is not over 150 air miles from the originating farm. This waiver does not apply to the driver of any motor vehicle being used in a common or contract carrier type operation. However, for those drivers of any truck-tractor semitrailer combination or combinations registered under subsection (c) of Section 3-815 of this Code, this waiver shall apply only when the driver is a farmer or a member of the farmer's family and the driver is 21 years of age or more and has successfully completed any tests the Secretary of State deems necessary.
    In addition, the farmer or a member of the farmer's family who operates a truck-tractor semitrailer combination or combinations pursuant to this waiver shall be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties and restrictions with respect to Sections 6-514 and 6-515 of this Code applicable to the driver who possesses a commercial driver's license issued under this Code, except that the driver shall not be subject to any additional duties or restrictions contained in Part 382 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations that are not otherwise imposed under Section 6-514 or 6-515 of this Code.
    For purposes of this subsection (c), a member of the farmer's family is a natural or in-law spouse, child, parent, or sibling.
    As required under the Code of Federal Regulations 49 CFR 390.39, an operator of a covered farm vehicle, as defined under Section 18b-101 of this Code, is exempt from the requirements of this Section. However, for drivers of any truck-tractor semitrailer combination or combinations operating as a covered farm vehicle, the driver must successfully complete any tests the Secretary of State deems necessary. When operating any truck-tractor semitrailer combination as a covered farm vehicle, the exemption applies only to persons age 21 or older, if operating the vehicle in interstate driving, and to persons at least 18 years of age, if operating the vehicle in intrastate driving. The Secretary may adopt rules necessary to implement this Section.
    (c-5) An employee of a township or road district with a population of less than 3,000 operating a vehicle within the boundaries of the township or road district for the purpose of removing snow or ice from a roadway by plowing, sanding, or salting is waived from the requirements of this Section when the employee is needed to operate the vehicle because the employee of the township or road district who ordinarily operates the vehicle and who has a commercial driver's license is unable to operate the vehicle or is in need of additional assistance due to a snow emergency.
    (c-10) A driver of a commercial motor vehicle used primarily in the transportation of propane winter heating fuel or a driver of a motor vehicle used to respond to a pipeline emergency is waived from the requirements of this Section if such requirements would prevent the driver from responding to an emergency condition requiring immediate response as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5.
    (d) Any person convicted of violating this Section, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (e) Any person convicted of violating paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of this Section, shall have all driving privileges revoked by the Secretary of State.
    (f) This Section shall not apply to:
        (1) A person who currently holds a valid Illinois
    
driver's license, for the type of vehicle being operated, until the expiration of such license or April 1, 1992, whichever is earlier; or
        (2) A non-Illinois domiciliary who is properly
    
licensed in another State, until April 1, 1992. A non-Illinois domiciliary, if such domiciliary is properly licensed in another State or foreign jurisdiction, until April 1, 1992.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 99-57, eff. 7-16-15; 99-607, eff. 7-22-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-507.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-507.5)
    Sec. 6-507.5. Application for Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP).
    (a) The application for a CLP must include, but is not limited to, the following:
        (1) the driver applicant's full legal name and
    
current Illinois domiciliary address, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CLP in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of Illinois residency or the driver applicant is from another state and is applying for a non-domiciled CLP in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of domicile in the state which issued the driver applicant's Non-CDL;
        (2) a physical description of the driver applicant
    
including gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
        (3) date of birth;
        (4) the driver applicant's social security number;
        (5) the driver applicant's signature;
        (6) the names of all states where the driver
    
applicant has previously been licensed to drive any type of motor vehicle during the previous 10 years under 49 C.F.R. Part 383;
        (7) proof of citizenship or lawful permanent
    
residency as set forth in Table 1 of 49 C.F.R. 383.71, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CLP, in which case the applicant must provide an unexpired employment authorization document (EAD) issued by USCIS or an unexpired foreign passport accompanied by an approved I-94 form documenting the applicant's most recent admittance into the United States; and
        (8) any other information required by the Secretary
    
of State.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (b-5), no CLP shall be issued to a driver applicant unless the applicant has taken and passed a general knowledge test that meets the federal standards contained in 49 C.F.R. Part 383, subparts F, G, and H for the commercial motor vehicle the applicant expects to operate.
    (b-5) The Secretary of State may waive the general knowledge test specified in 49 CFR 383.71(a)(2)(ii) for a qualifying driver applicant of a commercial learner's permit. A qualifying driver applicant shall:
        (1) be a current resident of this State;
        (2) be a current or former member of the military
    
services, including a member of any reserve component or National Guard unit;
        (3) within one year prior to the application, have
    
been regularly employed in a military position that requires the operation of large trucks;
        (4) have received formal military training in the
    
operation of a vehicle similar to the commercial motor vehicle the applicant expects to operate; and
        (5) provide the Secretary of State with a general
    
knowledge test waiver form signed by the applicant and his or her commanding officer certifying that the applicant qualifies for the general knowledge test waiver.
    (c) No CLP shall be issued to a driver applicant unless the applicant possesses a valid Illinois driver's license or if the applicant is applying for a non-domiciled CLP under subsection (b) of Section 6-509 of this Code, in which case the driver applicant must possess a valid driver's license from his or her state of domicile.
    (d) No CLP shall be issued to a person under 18 years of age.
    (e) No person shall be issued a CLP unless the person certifies to the Secretary one of the following types of driving operations in which he or she will be engaged:
        (1) non-excepted interstate;
        (2) non-excepted intrastate;
        (3) excepted interstate; or
        (4) excepted intrastate.
    (f) No person shall be issued a CLP unless the person certifies to the Secretary that he or she is not subject to any disqualification under 49 C.F.R. 383.51, or any license disqualification under State law, and that he or she does not have a driver's license from more than one state or jurisdiction.
    (g) No CLP shall be issued to a person while the person is subject to a disqualification from driving a commercial motor vehicle, unless otherwise permitted by this Code, while the person's driver's license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled in any state, or any territory or province of Canada; nor may a CLP be issued to a person who has a CLP or CDL issued by any other state or foreign jurisdiction, unless the person surrenders all of these licenses. No CLP shall be issued to or renewed for a person who does not meet the requirement of 49 C.F.R. 391.41(b)(11). The requirement may be met with the aid of a hearing aid.
    (h) No CLP with a Passenger, School Bus or Tank Vehicle endorsement shall be issued to a person unless the driver applicant has taken and passed the knowledge test for each endorsement.
        (1) A CLP holder with a Passenger (P) endorsement is
    
prohibited from operating a CMV carrying passengers, other than federal or State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, or other trainees, and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by subsection (a) of Section 6-507 of this Code. The P endorsement must be class specific.
        (2) A CLP holder with a School Bus (S) endorsement is
    
prohibited from operating a school bus with passengers other than federal or State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, or other trainees, and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by subsection (a) of Section 6-507 of this Code.
        (3) A CLP holder with a Tank Vehicle (N) endorsement
    
may only operate an empty tank vehicle and is prohibited from operating any tank vehicle that previously contained hazardous material that has not been purged of all residue.
        (4) All other federal endorsements are prohibited on
    
a CLP.
    (i) No CLP holder may operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous material as defined in paragraph (20) of Section 6-500 of this Code.
    (j) The CLP holder must be accompanied by the holder of a valid CDL who has the proper CDL group and endorsement necessary to operate the CMV. The CDL holder must at all times be physically present in the front seat of the vehicle next to the CLP holder or, in the case of a passenger vehicle, directly behind or in the first row behind the driver and must have the CLP holder under observation and direct supervision.
    (k) A CLP is valid for 180 days from the date of issuance. A CLP may be renewed for an additional 180 days without requiring the CLP holder to retake the general and endorsement knowledge tests.
    (l) A CLP issued prior to July 1, 2014 for a limited time period according to state requirements, shall be considered a valid commercial driver's license for purposes of behind-the-wheel training on public roads or highways.
(Source: P.A. 100-223, eff. 8-18-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-508

    (625 ILCS 5/6-508) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-508)
    Sec. 6-508. Commercial Driver's License (CDL) - qualification standards.
    (a) Testing.
        (1) General. No person shall be issued an original
    
or renewal CDL unless that person is domiciled in this State or is applying for a non-domiciled CDL under Sections 6-509 and 6-510 of this Code. The Secretary shall cause to be administered such tests as the Secretary deems necessary to meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. Part 383, subparts F, G, H, and J.
        (1.5) Effective July 1, 2014, no person shall be
    
issued an original CDL or an upgraded CDL that requires a skills test unless that person has held a CLP, for a minimum of 14 calendar days, for the classification of vehicle and endorsement, if any, for which the person is seeking a CDL.
        (2) Third party testing. The Secretary of State may
    
authorize a "third party tester", pursuant to 49 C.F.R. 383.75 and 49 C.F.R. 384.228 and 384.229, to administer the skills test or tests specified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration pursuant to the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 and any appropriate federal rule.
        (3)(i) Effective February 7, 2020, unless the person
    
is exempted by 49 CFR 380.603, no person shall be issued an original (first time issuance) CDL, an upgraded CDL or a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous Materials (H) endorsement unless the person has successfully completed entry-level driver training (ELDT) taught by a training provider listed on the federal Training Provider Registry.
        (ii) Persons who obtain a CLP before February 7, 2020
    
are not required to complete ELDT if the person obtains a CDL before the CLP or renewed CLP expires.
        (iii) Except for persons seeking the H endorsement,
    
persons must complete the theory and behind-the-wheel (range and public road) portions of ELDT within one year of completing the first portion.
        (iv) The Secretary shall adopt rules to implement
    
this subsection.
    (b) Waiver of Skills Test. The Secretary of State may waive the skills test specified in this Section for a driver applicant for a commercial driver license who meets the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.77. The Secretary of State shall waive the skills tests specified in this Section for a driver applicant who has military commercial motor vehicle experience, subject to the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.77.
    (b-1) No person shall be issued a CDL unless the person certifies to the Secretary one of the following types of driving operations in which he or she will be engaged:
        (1) non-excepted interstate;
        (2) non-excepted intrastate;
        (3) excepted interstate; or
        (4) excepted intrastate.
    (b-2) (Blank).
    (c) Limitations on issuance of a CDL. A CDL shall not be issued to a person while the person is subject to a disqualification from driving a commercial motor vehicle, or unless otherwise permitted by this Code, while the person's driver's license is suspended, revoked or cancelled in any state, or any territory or province of Canada; nor may a CLP or CDL be issued to a person who has a CLP or CDL issued by any other state, or foreign jurisdiction, nor may a CDL be issued to a person who has an Illinois CLP unless the person first surrenders all of these licenses or permits. However, a person may hold an Illinois CLP and an Illinois CDL providing the CLP is necessary to train or practice for an endorsement or vehicle classification not present on the current CDL. No CDL shall be issued to or renewed for a person who does not meet the requirement of 49 CFR 391.41(b)(11). The requirement may be met with the aid of a hearing aid.
    (c-1) The Secretary may issue a CDL with a school bus driver endorsement to allow a person to drive the type of bus described in subsection (d-5) of Section 6-104 of this Code. The CDL with a school bus driver endorsement may be issued only to a person meeting the following requirements:
        (1) the person has submitted his or her fingerprints
    
to the Department of State Police in the form and manner prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against the fingerprint records now and hereafter filed in the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history records databases;
        (2) the person has passed a written test,
    
administered by the Secretary of State, on charter bus operation, charter bus safety, and certain special traffic laws relating to school buses determined by the Secretary of State to be relevant to charter buses, and submitted to a review of the driver applicant's driving habits by the Secretary of State at the time the written test is given;
        (3) the person has demonstrated physical fitness to
    
operate school buses by submitting the results of a medical examination, including tests for drug use; and
        (4) the person has not been convicted of committing
    
or attempting to commit any one or more of the following offenses: (i) those offenses defined in Sections 8-1.2, 9-1, 9-1.2, 9-2, 9-2.1, 9-3, 9-3.2, 9-3.3, 10-1, 10-2, 10-3.1, 10-4, 10-5, 10-5.1, 10-6, 10-7, 10-9, 11-1.20, 11-1.30, 11-1.40, 11-1.50, 11-1.60, 11-6, 11-6.5, 11-6.6, 11-9, 11-9.1, 11-9.3, 11-9.4, 11-14, 11-14.1, 11-14.3, 11-14.4, 11-15, 11-15.1, 11-16, 11-17, 11-17.1, 11-18, 11-18.1, 11-19, 11-19.1, 11-19.2, 11-20, 11-20.1, 11-20.1B, 11-20.3, 11-21, 11-22, 11-23, 11-24, 11-25, 11-26, 11-30, 12-2.6, 12-3.1, 12-4, 12-4.1, 12-4.2, 12-4.2-5, 12-4.3, 12-4.4, 12-4.5, 12-4.6, 12-4.7, 12-4.9, 12-5.01, 12-6, 12-6.2, 12-7.1, 12-7.3, 12-7.4, 12-7.5, 12-11, 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, 12-16, 12-16.2, 12-21.5, 12-21.6, 12-33, 12C-5, 12C-10, 12C-20, 12C-30, 12C-45, 16-16, 16-16.1, 18-1, 18-2, 18-3, 18-4, 18-5, 19-6, 20-1, 20-1.1, 20-1.2, 20-1.3, 20-2, 24-1, 24-1.1, 24-1.2, 24-1.2-5, 24-1.6, 24-1.7, 24-2.1, 24-3.3, 24-3.5, 24-3.8, 24-3.9, 31A-1, 31A-1.1, 33A-2, and 33D-1, and in subsection (b) of Section 8-1, and in subdivisions (a)(1), (a)(2), (b)(1), (e)(1), (e)(2), (e)(3), (e)(4), and (f)(1) of Section 12-3.05, and in subsection (a) and subsection (b), clause (1), of Section 12-4, and in subsection (A), clauses (a) and (b), of Section 24-3, and those offenses contained in Article 29D of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; (ii) those offenses defined in the Cannabis Control Act except those offenses defined in subsections (a) and (b) of Section 4, and subsection (a) of Section 5 of the Cannabis Control Act; (iii) those offenses defined in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; (iv) those offenses defined in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act; (v) any offense committed or attempted in any other state or against the laws of the United States, which if committed or attempted in this State would be punishable as one or more of the foregoing offenses; (vi) the offenses defined in Sections 4.1 and 5.1 of the Wrongs to Children Act or Section 11-9.1A of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; (vii) those offenses defined in Section 6-16 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934; and (viii) those offenses defined in the Methamphetamine Precursor Control Act.
    The Department of State Police shall charge a fee for conducting the criminal history records check, which shall be deposited into the State Police Services Fund and may not exceed the actual cost of the records check.
    (c-2) The Secretary shall issue a CDL with a school bus endorsement to allow a person to drive a school bus as defined in this Section. The CDL shall be issued according to the requirements outlined in 49 C.F.R. 383. A person may not operate a school bus as defined in this Section without a school bus endorsement. The Secretary of State may adopt rules consistent with Federal guidelines to implement this subsection (c-2).
    (d) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 101-185, eff. 1-1-20.)

625 ILCS 5/6-508.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-508.1)
    Sec. 6-508.1. Medical examiner's certificate.
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to drive a CMV in non-excepted interstate commerce unless the person holds a CLP or CDL and is medically certified as physically qualified to do so.
    (b) No person who has certified to non-excepted interstate driving as provided in Sections 6-507.5 and 6-508 of this Code shall be issued a CLP or CDL unless that person has a current medical examiner's certificate on the CDLIS driver record.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) On and after January 30, 2014, all persons who hold a commercial driver instruction permit or CDL who have certified as non-excepted interstate shall maintain a current medical examiner's certificate on file with the Secretary. On and after July 1, 2014, all persons issued a CLP who have certified as non-excepted interstate shall maintain a current medical examiner's certificate on file with the Secretary.
    (e) Before June 22, 2021, the Secretary shall post the following to the CDLIS driver record within 10 calendar days of receipt of a medical examiner's certificate of a driver who has certified as non-excepted interstate:
        (1) the medical examiner's name;
        (2) the medical examiner's telephone number;
        (3) the date of issuance of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (4) the medical examiner's license number and the
    
state that issued it;
        (5) the medical certification status;
        (6) the expiration date of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (7) the existence of any medical variance on the
    
medical examiner's certificate, including, but not limited to, an exemption, Skills Performance Evaluation certification, issuance and expiration date of the medical variance, or any grandfather provisions;
        (8) any restrictions noted on the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (9) the date the medical examiner's certificate
    
information was posted to the CDLIS driver record; and
        (10) the medical examiner's National Registry of
    
Certified Medical Examiners identification number.
    (e-5) Beginning June 22, 2021, the Secretary shall post the following to the CDLIS driver record within one business day of electronic receipt from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration of a driver's identification, examination results, restriction information, and medical variance information resulting from an examination performed by a medical examiner on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners for any driver who has certified as non-excepted interstate:
        (1) the medical examiner's name;
        (2) the medical examiner's telephone number;
        (3) the date of issuance of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (4) the medical examiner's license number and the
    
state that issued it;
        (5) the medical certification status;
        (6) the expiration date of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (7) the existence of any medical variance on the
    
medical examiner's certificate, including, but not limited to, an exemption, Skills Performance Evaluation certification, issue and expiration date of a medical variance, or any grandfather provisions;
        (8) any restrictions noted on the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (9) the date the medical examiner's certificate
    
information was posted to the CDLIS driver record; and
        (10) the medical examiner's National Registry of
    
Certified Medical Examiners identification number.
    (f) Within 10 calendar days of the expiration or rescission of the driver's medical examiner's certificate or medical variance or both, the Secretary shall update the medical certification status to "not certified".
    (g) Within 10 calendar days of receipt of information from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regarding issuance or renewal of a medical variance, the Secretary shall update the CDLIS driver record to include the medical variance information provided by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
    (g-5) Beginning June 22, 2021, within one business day of electronic receipt of information from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regarding issuance or renewal of a medical variance, the Secretary shall update the CDLIS driver record to include the medical variance information provided by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
    (h) The Secretary shall notify the driver of his or her non-certified status and that his or her CDL will be canceled unless the driver submits a current medical examiner's certificate or medical variance or changes his or her self-certification to driving only in excepted or intrastate commerce.
    (i) Within 60 calendar days of a driver's medical certification status becoming non-certified, the Secretary shall cancel the CDL.
    (j) As required under the Code of Federal Regulations 49 CFR 390.39, an operator of a covered farm vehicle, as defined under Section 18b-101 of this Code, is exempt from the requirements of this Section.
    (k) For purposes of ensuring a person is medically fit to drive a commercial motor vehicle, the Secretary may release medical information provided by an applicant or a holder of a CDL or CLP to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Medical information includes, but is not limited to, a medical examiner's certificate, a medical report that the Secretary requires to be submitted, statements regarding medical conditions made by an applicant or a holder of a CDL or CLP, or statements made by his or her physician.
(Source: P.A. 100-223, eff. 8-18-17; 101-185, eff. 1-1-20.)

625 ILCS 5/6-509

    (625 ILCS 5/6-509) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-509)
    Sec. 6-509. Non-domiciled commercial learner's permit and non-domiciled commercial driver's license.
    (a) The Secretary of State may issue a non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL to a domiciliary of a foreign jurisdiction if the United States Secretary of Transportation has determined that the commercial motor vehicle testing and licensing standards, in that foreign jurisdiction, do not meet the testing standards established in 49 C.F.R. Part 383. A non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL shall be issued in accordance with the testing and licensing standards contained in subparts F, G, and H of 49 C.F.R. Part 383. The word "Non-domiciled" must appear on the face of the non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL. A driver applicant must surrender any non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL, license or permit issued by any other state.
    (b) If an individual is domiciled in a state while that state is prohibited from issuing CDLs in accordance with 49 C.F.R. Part 384.405, that individual is eligible to obtain a non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL from any state that elects to issue a non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL and which complies with the testing and licensing standards contained in subparts F, G, and H of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.23. "Non-domiciled" must appear on the face of the non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL. A driver applicant must surrender any non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL issued in any other state.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-510

    (625 ILCS 5/6-510) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-510)
    Sec. 6-510. Application for Commercial Driver's License (CDL). The application for a CDL must include, but is not limited to, the following:
        (1) the driver applicant's full legal name and
    
current Illinois domiciliary address, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CDL in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of Illinois residency or the driver applicant is from another state and is applying for a non-domiciled CDL in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of domicile in the state which issued the driver applicant's Non-CDL;
        (2) a physical description of the driver applicant
    
including gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
        (3) date of birth;
        (4) the driver applicant's social security number;
        (5) the driver applicant's signature;
        (6) certifications required by 49 C.F.R. Part 383.71;
        (6.1) the names of all states where the driver
    
applicant has previously been licensed to drive any type of motor vehicle during the previous 10 years pursuant to 49 C.F.R. Part 383;
        (6.2) proof of citizenship or lawful permanent
    
residency as set forth in Table 1 of 49 C.F.R. 383.71, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CDL, in which case the applicant must provide an unexpired employment authorization document (EAD) issued by USCIS or an unexpired foreign passport accompanied by an approved I-94 form documenting the applicant's most recent admittance into the United States; and
        (7) any other information required by the Secretary
    
of State.
(Source: P.A. 97-263, eff. 8-5-11; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-511

    (625 ILCS 5/6-511) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-511)
    Sec. 6-511. Change of legal name or domiciliary address.
    (a) All persons to whom a CLP or CDL has been issued, shall notify the Driver Services Department of the Secretary of State's Office within 10 days of any change in domiciliary address. In addition, the person shall make application for a corrected CLP or CDL within 30 days after the change.
    (b) Any person to whom a CLP or CDL has been issued whose legal name has changed from the name on the previously-issued CLP or CDL shall apply for a corrected card within 30 days after the change.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)