Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VI

    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VI heading)

625 ILCS 5/5-601

    (625 ILCS 5/5-601) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-601)
    Sec. 5-601. Credit or conditional sale of certain motor vehicles - Liability insurance status stamped on bill of sale. Whenever, in connection with the credit sale of or conditional sale of a motor vehicle designed and used for the carrying of not more than 10 passengers, the agreement provides that all or any of the consideration to be paid by the buyer or conditional buyer may be paid more than 30 days after possession of such motor vehicle is transferred to such buyer or conditional buyer, and a policy of insurance which does not cover such buyer or conditional buyer for the risk of liability to the public arising out of the operation, use or maintenance of such motor vehicle, is issued in connection with such transaction, the seller or conditional seller shall stamp or have imprinted thereon a statement on the bill of sale at the time the transaction is consummated that no such coverage is included in such policy. Such statement shall be in the following form and shall be in bold type not less than one-half inch in height:
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/5-602

    (625 ILCS 5/5-602) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-602)
    Sec. 5-602. Whoever violates any of the provisions of this Article shall be guilty of a petty offense and shall be fined not more than $500.
(Source: P.A. 77-2720.)