Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/11-1305
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/11-1305)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1305)
Lessors of visitor vehicles - Duty upon receiving
notice of violation of this Article or local parking regulation.
Every person in whose name a vehicle is registered pursuant to
law and who leases such vehicle to others, after receiving written
notice of a violation of this Article or a parking regulation of a local
authority involving such vehicle, shall upon request provide such police
officers as have authority of the offense, and the court having
jurisdiction thereof, with a written statement of the name and address
of the lessee at the time of such offense and the identifying number
upon the registration plates or digital registration plates and registration sticker or stickers or digital registration sticker or stickers of
(Source: P.A. 101-395, eff. 8-16-19.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1306
(625 ILCS 5/11-1306)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1306)
Parking liability of lessor.
No person who is the lessor
of a vehicle pursuant to a written lease agreement shall be liable for the
violation of any parking or standing regulation of this Act, or of a local
authority, involving such vehicle during the period of the lease; provided
that upon the request of the appropriate authority received within 120 days
after the violation occurred, the
lessor provides within 60 days after such receipt the name and address
of the lessee. The drivers license number of a lessee may be subsequently
individually requested by the appropriate authority if needed for
enforcement of the Act.
(Source: P.A. 84-354.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1307
(625 ILCS 5/11-1307)
Centralized parking meter systems.
(a) As used in this Section:
"Centralized parking meter system" means a system of regulating the standing or parking of vehicles that includes 3 or more parking meter zones, and a single parking meter.
"Parking meter" means a traffic control device which, upon being activated by deposit of currency of the United States, or by electronic or other form of payment, in the amount indicated thereon or otherwise, either: (1) displays a signal showing that parking is allowed from the time of such activation until the expiration of the time fixed for parking in the parking meter zone in which it is located, and upon expiration of such time indicates by sign or signal that the lawful parking period has expired, or (2) issues a ticket or other token, or activates a display device, on which is printed or otherwise indicated the lawful parking period in the parking meter zone in which the parking meter is located, such ticket, other token, or display device, to be displayed in a publicly visible location on the dashboard or inner windshield of a vehicle parked in the parking meter zone, or such ticket to be affixed on the front lamp of a motorcycle or motor scooter parked in the parking meter zone.
"Parking meter zone" means a certain designated and marked-off section of the public way within the marked boundaries where a vehicle may be temporarily parked and allowed to remain for such period of time as the parking meter attached thereto, or the ticket or other token issued by the parking meter, may indicate.
(b) If for any reason the parking meter serving a space or, in a centralized parking meter system, serving a parking meter zone is malfunctioning due to the accumulation of ice or snow and it has been reported to the local authorities as malfunctioning prior to a violation for the standing or parking of vehicles being issued, it shall be a valid affirmative defense to such violation until such time as the parking meter is brought back into service.
(Source: P.A. 96-1256, eff. 1-1-11.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1308
(625 ILCS 5/11-1308)
Unauthorized use of parking places reserved for electric vehicles.
(a) For the purposes of this Section:
"Electric vehicle" means a battery-powered electric vehicle operated solely by electricity or a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle that operates on electricity and gasoline and has a battery that can be recharged from an external source.
"Electric vehicle charging station" means any facility or equipment that is used to charge a battery or other energy storage device of an electric vehicle.
(b) It shall be prohibited to park a non-electric vehicle in an electric vehicle charging station designated for use by electric vehicles, including an electric vehicle charging station on any private or public offstreet parking facility. A person may park only an electric vehicle in an electric vehicle charging station space designated for use by electric vehicles.
(c) Any person or local authority owning or operating any public or private offstreet parking facility may, after notifying the police or sheriff's department, remove or cause to be removed to the nearest garage or other place of safety any non-electric vehicle parked within an electric vehicle charging station space designated for use by electric vehicles.
(d) It shall not be a defense to a charge under this Section that the sign or notice posted at the electric vehicle charging station or the designated parking space does not comply with applicable rules, regulations, or local ordinances, if a reasonable person would be made aware by the sign or notice on or near the parking space that the space is reserved for electric vehicles.
(e) Any person found guilty of violating the provisions of subsection (b) shall be fined $75 in addition to any costs or charges connected with the removal or storage of the non-electric vehicle; but municipalities by ordinance may impose a fine up to $100.
(Source: P.A. 99-172, eff. 1-1-16
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XIV
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XIV heading)
625 ILCS 5/11-1401
(625 ILCS 5/11-1401)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1401)
Unattended motor vehicles.
Except for a law enforcement officer or an operator of an authorized emergency vehicle performing his or her official duties, no person driving or in charge of
a motor vehicle shall permit it to stand unattended without first stopping the
engine, locking the ignition, removing the key from the
ignition, effectively setting the brake thereon and, when standing upon any
perceptible grade, turning the front
wheels to the curb or side of the highway. An unattended motor vehicle shall not include an unattended locked motor vehicle with the engine running after being started by a remote starter system.
(Source: P.A. 100-435, eff. 8-25-17.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1402
(625 ILCS 5/11-1402)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1402)
Limitations on backing.
(a) The driver of a vehicle shall not back the same unless such movement
can be made with safety and without interfering with other traffic.
(b) The driver of a vehicle shall not back the same upon any shoulder
or roadway of any
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1403
(625 ILCS 5/11-1403)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1403)
Riding on motorcycles.
(a) A person operating a
motorcycle shall ride only upon the permanent and regular seat attached
thereto, and such operator shall not carry any other person nor shall any
other person ride on a motorcycle unless such motorcycle is designed to
carry more than one person, in which event a passenger may ride upon the
permanent and regular seat if designed for 2 persons, or upon another seat
firmly attached to the motorcycle at the rear or side of the operator.
(b) A person shall ride upon a motorcycle only while sitting astride the
seat, facing forward, with one leg on each side of the motorcycle.
(c) No person shall operate any motorcycle with handlebar grips higher than
the height of the head of the operator when the operator is seated in
the normal driving position astride that portion of the seat or saddle
occupied by the operator.
(d) The operator of any motorcycle shall keep at least one hand on a handlebar grip at all times the motorcycle is in motion.
(Source: P.A. 97-743, eff. 1-1-13.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1403.1
(625 ILCS 5/11-1403.1)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1403.1)
Riding on mopeds.
(a) The operator of a
moped shall ride only astride the permanent and regular seat
attached thereto, and shall not permit 2 persons to ride thereon at the
same time, unless the moped is designed to carry 2 persons;
any moped designed for 2 persons must be equipped with a
passenger seat and footrests for use of a passenger.
(b) The provisions of Article XV shall be applicable to the operation
of mopeds, except for those provisions which by their nature
can have no application to mopeds.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1403.2
(625 ILCS 5/11-1403.2)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1403.2)
Operating a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one wheel; aggravated operating a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one wheel.
(a) No person shall operate a motorcycle, motor driven
cycle, or moped on one wheel.
(b) Aggravated operating a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one wheel. A person commits aggravated operating a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one wheel when he or she violates subsection (a) of this Section while committing a violation of subsection (b) of Section 11-601 of this Code. A violation of this subsection is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $100, except a second conviction of a violation of this subsection is a Class B misdemeanor and a third or subsequent conviction of a violation of this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10; 97-743, eff. 1-1-13.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1403.3
(625 ILCS 5/11-1403.3)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1403.3)
Any driver of a vehicle defined in
Section 1-145.001, 1-147, or 1-148.2 of this Code may use a
an electronic intercom system permitting 2-way vocal communication with
drivers of any such vehicles or passengers on such vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1404
(625 ILCS 5/11-1404)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1404)
Special equipment for persons riding motorcycles, motor
driven cycles or mopeds.
(a) The operator of a motorcycle, motor
driven cycle or moped and every passenger thereon shall be
protected by glasses, goggles or a transparent shield.
(b) For the purposes of this Section, glasses, goggles, and transparent
shields are defined as follows:
"Glasses" means ordinary eye pieces such as spectacles or sunglasses worn
before the eye, made of shatter-resistant material.
Shatter-resistant material, as used in this Section, means material so
manufactured, fabricated, or
created that it substantially prevents shattering or flying when struck or
"Goggles" means a device worn before the eyes, the predominant function of
which is protecting the eyes without obstructing peripheral vision. Goggles
shall provide protection from the front and sides, and may or may not form a
complete seal with the face.
"Transparent shield" means a windshield attached to the front of a motorcycle
that extends above the eyes when an operator is seated in the normal, upright
riding position, made of shatter-resistant material, or a shatter-resistant
protective face shield that covers the wearer's eyes and face at least to a
point approximately to the tip of the nose.
(c) Contact lenses are not acceptable eye protection devices.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1405
(625 ILCS 5/11-1405)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1405)
Required equipment on motorcycles.
Any motorcycle carrying a passenger, other than in a sidecar or enclosed
cab, shall be equipped with footrests for such passenger.
(Source: P.A. 84-602.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1406
(625 ILCS 5/11-1406)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1406)
Obstruction of driver's view or driving mechanism.
(a) No person shall drive a vehicle when it is so loaded, or when there
are in the front seat such a number of persons, exceeding three, as to obstruct
the view of
the driver to the front or sides of the vehicle or as to interfere with the
driver's control over the driving mechanism of the vehicle.
(b) No passenger in a vehicle or streetcar shall ride in such position as
to interfere with the driver's or motorman's view ahead or to the sides, or
to interfere with his control over the driving mechanism of the vehicle or
(c) No passenger on a school bus may ride or stand in a position as to
interfere with the driver's view ahead or to the side or to the rear, or to
interfere with his control of the driving mechanism of the bus.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1407
(625 ILCS 5/11-1407)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1407)
Opening and closing vehicle doors.
No person shall open the door of a vehicle on the side available to
moving traffic unless and until it is reasonably safe to do so, and can be
done without interfering with the movement of other traffic, nor shall any
person leave a door open on the side of a vehicle available to moving
traffic for a period of time longer than necessary to load or unload
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1408
(625 ILCS 5/11-1408)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1408)
Riding in towed vehicles.
No person or persons shall occupy
a trailer, semitrailer, farm wagon, or any other vehicle while it is being towed upon a public highway, unless:
(1) the occupancy of the towed vehicle is necessary
to avoid an imminent threat to a person's safety due to extreme weather conditions or another emergency situation;
(2) the speed of the vehicle does not exceed 15 miles
per hour and the vehicle is used in connection with a parade, farming-related activity, or similar activity; or
(3) the speed of the vehicle does not exceed 15 miles
per hour and the passenger is over the age of 18.
(Source: P.A. 97-17, eff. 1-1-12.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1409
(625 ILCS 5/11-1409)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1409)
Driving on mountain highways.
The driver of a motor vehicle traveling through defiles or canyons or on
mountain highways shall hold such motor vehicle under control and as near
the right-hand edge of the roadway as reasonably possible and,
except when driving entirely to the right of the center of the roadway,
shall give audible warning with the horn of such
motor vehicle upon approaching any curve where the view is obstructed within
a distance of 200 feet along the highway.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1410
(625 ILCS 5/11-1410)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1410)
(a) The driver of any motor vehicle when traveling upon a down grade shall
not coast with the gears or transmission of such vehicle in neutral.
(b) The driver of a truck or bus when traveling
upon a down grade shall not coast with the clutch disengaged.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069
625 ILCS 5/11-1411
(625 ILCS 5/11-1411)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1411)
Following fire apparatus prohibited.
The driver of any vehicle other than one on official business shall not
follow any fire apparatus traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than
500 feet or stop such vehicle within 500 feet of any fire
apparatus stopped in answer to a fire alarm.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)