Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/7-213
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/7-213)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-213)
Custody of security.
Security deposited in compliance with
the requirements of this Article shall be placed by the Secretary
of State in the custody of the State Treasurer.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)
625 ILCS 5/7-214
(625 ILCS 5/7-214)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-214)
Disposition of Security.
Such security shall be applicable only to the payment of a judgment or
judgments, rendered against the person or persons on whose behalf the
deposit was made, for damages arising out of the accident in question, in
an action at law, begun not later than two years after the later of
the date the driver's license and registration were suspended
following the accident
or (ii) the
date of any default in any payment under an installment agreement for payment
of damages, and such deposit or any balance thereof shall be returned to the
depositor or his personal representative when evidence satisfactory to the
Secretary of State has been filed with him:
1. that there has been a release from liability, or
a final adjudication of non-liability; or
2. a duly acknowledged written agreement in
accordance with Section 7-208 of this Act; or
3. whenever after the expiration of two years after
the later of (i) the date the driver's license and registration were suspended following the accident or (ii) the date of any default in any payment under an installment agreement for payment of damages, the Secretary of State shall be given reasonable evidence that there is no such action pending and no judgment rendered in such action left unpaid.
If, after releasing security to a judgment debtor or claimant, the balance of the security posted with the Secretary is $5 or less, the balance shall be transferred to the General Revenue Fund. The
Secretary shall compile a list of all security amounts of $5 or less annually in July and shall certify that amount to the State Comptroller. As soon as possible after receiving the certification, the State Comptroller shall order transferred and the State Treasurer shall transfer the amount certified to the General Revenue Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-178, eff. 1-1-14.)
625 ILCS 5/7-215
(625 ILCS 5/7-215)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-215)
Matters not to be evidence in civil suits.
Any action taken pursuant to this Chapter, or the Rules and
Regulations adopted hereunder, or findings of the Administrator or the Secretary
of State upon which such action is based, or the security filed as provided in
this Article shall not be referred to in any way, nor shall
it be any evidence of the negligence or due care of either party, at the
trial of any civil action to recover damages.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)
625 ILCS 5/7-216
(625 ILCS 5/7-216)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-216)
Reciprocity; residents and nonresidents; licensing of nonresidents.
a nonresident's operating privilege is suspended
pursuant to Section 7-205 the Secretary of State shall transmit a certified
copy of the record of such action to the official in charge of the issuance
of driver's license and registration certificates in the state in which
such nonresident resides, if the law of such other
state provides for action in relation thereto similar to that provided for
in subsection (b).
(b) Upon receipt of such certification that the operating
privilege of a resident of this State has been suspended or revoked in any such other
state pursuant to a law providing for its suspension or revocation for
failure to deposit security for the payment of judgments arising out of a
motor vehicle accident, or for failure to deposit security under
circumstances which would require the Secretary of State to suspend a
nonresident's operating privilege had the motor
vehicle accident occurred in this State, the Secretary of State shall
suspend the driver's license of such resident and all other registrations.
Such suspension shall continue until such resident
furnishes evidence of compliance with the law of such other state
relating to the deposit of such security.
(c) In case the operator or the owner of a motor vehicle involved
in a motor vehicle accident within this State has no driver's
license or registration, such operator shall not be allowed a
driver's license or registration until the operator has complied
with the requirements of Sections 7-201 through 7-216 to the same extent that would be
necessary if, at the time of the motor vehicle accident, such operator
had held a license and registration.
(Source: P.A. 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. III
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. III heading)
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE
625 ILCS 5/7-301
(625 ILCS 5/7-301)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-301)
Application of Article III.
The provisions of this Article
requiring the deposit of proof of financial responsibility for the future,
subject to certain exemptions, shall apply with respect to persons whose
driver's license or driving privileges have been revoked as provided by
this Code, or who have failed to pay judgments amounting to $500 or
more as defined in Section 7-303.
(Source: P.A. 86-549; 87-829.)
625 ILCS 5/7-302
(625 ILCS 5/7-302)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-302)
(Source: P.A. 85-1396. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)
625 ILCS 5/7-303
(625 ILCS 5/7-303)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-303)
Suspension of driver's licenses, registration
certificates, license plates or digital license plates, and registration stickers or digital registration stickers for failure to satisfy
(a) The Secretary of State shall, except as provided in paragraph
(d), suspend the driver's license issued to any
person upon receiving an authenticated report as hereinafter provided for
in Section 7-307 that the
person has failed for a period of 30 days to satisfy any final
judgment in amounts as hereinafter stated, and shall also suspend the
registration certificate, license plates or digital license plates, and registration
sticker or digital registration sticker of the judgment debtor's motor vehicle involved in the crash as indicated in the authenticated report.
(b) The term "judgment" shall mean: A final judgment of any court of
competent jurisdiction of any State, against a person as defendant for
damages on account of bodily injury to or death of any person or damages to
property resulting from the operation, on and after July 12, 1938, of any
(c) The term "State" shall mean: Any State, Territory, or possession of
the United States, the District of Columbia, or any province of the
Dominion of Canada.
(d) The Secretary of State shall not suspend the driver's
license, registration certificates, registration stickers or digital registration stickers, or license
plates or digital license plates of the judgment debtor, nor shall such judgment debtor be subject
to the suspension provisions of Sections 7-308 and 7-309 if all the following
conditions are met:
1. At the time of the motor vehicle accident which
gave rise to the unsatisfied judgment the judgment debtor was covered by a motor vehicle liability policy or bond meeting the requirements of this Chapter;
2. The insurance company which issued the policy or
bond has failed and has suspended operations by order of a court;
3. The judgment debtor had no knowledge of the
insurance company's failure prior to the motor vehicle accident;
4. Within 30 days after learning of the insurance
company's failure the judgment debtor secured another liability policy or bond meeting the requirements of this Article relating to future occurrences or accidents;
5. The insurance company which issued the motor
vehicle liability policy or bond that covered the judgment debtor at the time of the motor vehicle accident is unable to satisfy the judgment in the amounts specified in Section 7-311;
6. The judgment debtor presents to the Secretary of
State such certified documents or other proofs as the Secretary of State may require that all of the conditions set forth in this Section have been met.
(Source: P.A. 101-395, eff. 8-16-19.)
625 ILCS 5/7-304
(625 ILCS 5/7-304)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-304)
Upon the revocation of a driver's
license of any person as provided in Section 6-113, 6-205 or 6-206, the
Secretary of State shall suspend any and all of the registration certificates,
plates and registration stickers issued for any
motor vehicle registered in the name of such person as owner except that
the Secretary shall not suspend such evidences of registration
in the event such owner has previously given or shall immediately give
the Secretary and thereafter maintain for a period of
3 years, proof of financial responsibility in the manner hereinafter
specified in this Article with respect to each and every motor vehicle owned
and registered by such person.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)
625 ILCS 5/7-305
(625 ILCS 5/7-305)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-305)
Suspension until proof furnished.
The suspension of such
of registration, license plates and registration stickers
of such person as provided for in Section 7-304 shall remain in
effect and the Secretary of State shall not issue to any such person any
new or renewal of driver's license and shall not register
or re-register in the name of such person any motor vehicle until permitted
under this Article and not then unless and until said person
gives proof of his financial responsibility in the future, as defined in
this Code, such proof to be maintained by said person in
a manner satisfactory to the Secretary of State for a period of 3 years
after the date such proof is first filed.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)
625 ILCS 5/7-306
(625 ILCS 5/7-306)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-306)
Action in respect to an unlicensed driver.
Whenever any person who is not a resident of this State has been
convicted of an offense which would require the revocation of the driver's
license of a resident, such nonresident shall not operate
any motor vehicle in this State nor shall any motor vehicle owned by such
nonresident be operated within this State by any person, and the
Secretary of State shall not issue to such nonresident
any driver's license and shall not register any motor vehicle
owned by such nonresident unless and until such nonresident shall
give proof of financial responsibility.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)
625 ILCS 5/7-307
(625 ILCS 5/7-307)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-307)
Courts to report nonpayments of judgment.
The clerk of a court, or the judge of a court which has no clerk, or the judgment creditor or his or her attorney of record
shall forward to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the
Secretary, a certified record of any judgment for damages, the rendering
and nonpayment of which judgment required the suspension of the driver's
license and registrations in the name of the judgment debtor hereunder,
such record to be forwarded to the Secretary of State upon request by the
plaintiff after the expiration of 30 days after such judgment has become
final and when such judgment has not been stayed or satisfied within the
amounts specified in this Article as shown by the records of the Court.
(Source: P.A. 98-1028, eff. 8-22-14.)
625 ILCS 5/7-308
(625 ILCS 5/7-308)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-308)
Action in respect to nonresident for
nonpayment of judgment. (a) If a
person, whose failure to satisfy a judgment within
30 days after the same became final would
require a suspension or revocation hereunder in respect to a resident,
shall not be a resident of
this State, such nonresident shall not operate any
motor vehicle in this State, nor shall any motor vehicle owned by such
nonresident be operated in this State by any
person and the Secretary of State shall not issue to such nonresident
a driver's license and shall not register
any motor vehicle owned by such nonresident unless
and until such nonresident shall give proof of financial
responsibility and shall satisfy any such judgment as required with
respect to a resident of this State.
(b) The Secretary of State shall forward to the Motor Vehicle
Commissioner or state officer performing the functions of a Commissioner in
the state, foreign country, or province of the Dominion of Canada in which
a judgment debtor resides, a certified record of any unsatisfied judgment
rendered against such nonresident which requires suspension
of such nonresident's driving privileges in this State.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)
625 ILCS 5/7-309
(625 ILCS 5/7-309)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-309)
Suspension to continue until judgments paid and proof given.
(a) The suspension of such driver's license, license plates
and registration stickers shall remain in effect and no other vehicle shall
be registered in the name of such judgment debtor, nor any new license issued
to such person (including any such person not previously licensed), unless
and until the Secretary of State receives authenticated documentation that
such judgment is satisfied, or dormant as provided for in Section 12-108 of
the Code of Civil Procedure, as now or hereafter amended, or stayed by
court order, and the judgment debtor gives proof of financial
responsibility, as hereinafter provided. The Secretary of State may
terminate the suspension of such person's driver's license,
and registration stickers and no proof of financial responsibility shall be
required on any existing suspensions under this Article which are more than 20
(b) Whenever, after one judgment is satisfied and proof of financial
responsibility is given as herein required, another such judgment is
rendered against the judgment debtor for any motor vehicle accident
occurring prior to the date of the giving of said proof and such person
fails to satisfy the latter judgment within the amounts specified herein
within 30 days after the same becomes final, then the Secretary of State
shall again suspend the driver's license of such judgment debtor and shall
again suspend the registration of any vehicle registered in the name of
such judgment debtor as owner. Such driver's license and registration
shall not be renewed nor shall a driver's license and registration of any
vehicle be issued to such judgment debtor while such latter judgment
remains in effect and unsatisfied within the amount specified herein.
(Source: P.A. 90-655, eff. 7-30-98.)
625 ILCS 5/7-310
(625 ILCS 5/7-310)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-310)
Petition for discharge filed in bankruptcy.
petition for discharge filed in bankruptcy following the rendering of any judgment shall
relieve the judgment debtor from the requirements of this Chapter 7, except that the judgment debtor's drivers license shall remain suspended and may not be renewed, and the judgment debtor may not be issued a license or registration, until the judgment debtor gives proof of his or her financial responsibility in the future, as provided in Section 1-164.5. The proof is to be maintained by the judgment debtor, in a manner satisfactory to the Secretary of State, for a period of 3 years after the date on which the proof is first filed.
A petition for discharge filed in bankruptcy of the owner
or lessee of a commercial vehicle by whom the judgment debtor is employed
at the time of the motor vehicle accident that gives rise to the
also shall relieve the judgment debtor so employed from any of the
requirements of this Chapter 7 if the discharge of the owner or lessee
follows the rendering of the judgment and if the judgment debtor
was operating the commercial vehicle in connection with his
regular employment or occupation at the time of the accident.
act of 1985 applies to all cases irrespective of whether the accident
giving rise to the suspension of license or registration occurred before,
on, or after its effective date.
(Source: P.A. 93-982, eff. 1-1-05.)
625 ILCS 5/7-311
(625 ILCS 5/7-311)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-311)
Payments sufficient to satisfy requirements.
(a) Judgments herein referred to arising out of motor vehicle accidents
occurring on or after January 1, 2015 (the effective date of Public Act 98-519) shall for the purpose of this
Chapter be deemed satisfied:
1. when $25,000 has been credited upon any judgment
or judgments rendered in excess of that amount for bodily injury to or the death of one person as the result of any one motor vehicle accident; or
2. when, subject to said limit of $25,000 as to any
one person, the sum of $50,000 has been credited upon any judgment or judgments rendered in excess of that amount for bodily injury to or the death of more than one person as the result of any one motor vehicle accident; or
3. when $20,000 has been credited upon any judgment
or judgments, rendered in excess of that amount for damages to property of others as a result of any one motor vehicle accident.
The changes to this subsection made by Public Act 98-519 apply only to policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2015.
(b) Credit for such amounts shall be deemed a satisfaction of any such
judgment or judgments in excess of said amounts only for the purposes of
(c) Whenever payment has been made in settlement of any claim for bodily
injury, death, or property damage arising from a motor vehicle accident
resulting in injury, death, or property damage to two or more persons in
such accident, any such payment shall be credited in reduction of the
amounts provided for in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 99-78, eff. 7-20-15; 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)
625 ILCS 5/7-312
(625 ILCS 5/7-312)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-312)
(a) A judgment debtor upon 5 days notice
to the judgment creditor may apply to the
trial court in which the judgment was entered for the privilege of paying
such judgment in installments and the court in its discretion and without
prejudice to any other judicial remedies which the judgment creditor may
have may so order, fixing the amounts and times of payment of the installments.
(b) The Secretary of State shall not suspend the driver's
license, registration or nonresident's operating privilege, and any suspended
driver's license or registration following nonpayment of a final judgment
shall be restored when the judgment debtor gives proof of financial responsibility
and when the judgment debtor obtains an order from the trial court permitting
the payment of such judgment in installments and while the payment of any
such installment is not in default.
(Source: P.A. 83-1362.)
625 ILCS 5/7-313
(625 ILCS 5/7-313)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-313)
Suspension required upon breach of agreement.
In the event
the judgment debtor fails to pay any installments as permitted by the order
of the court upon notice of such default, the Secretary of State,
upon receipt of a court order, shall
forthwith suspend the driver's license, registration certificate, license
plates, registration stickers or nonresident's operating privilege of the
judgment debtor until said judgment is satisfied as provided in Section 7-311
or a second installment payment plan is accepted as provided in Section
(Source: P.A. 90-774, eff. 8-14-98.)