Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(225 ILCS 458/) Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Act of 2002.

225 ILCS 458/15-55

    (225 ILCS 458/15-55)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 15-55. Checks, credit card charges, or orders to Department dishonored because of insufficient funds. Any person who:
        (1) delivers a check or other payment to the
Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it was drawn; or
        (2) presents a credit card or debit card for payment
that is invalid or expired or against which charges by the Department are declined or dishonored;
shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fine of $50. The fines imposed by this Section are in addition to any other discipline provided under this Act for unlicensed practice or practice on a non-renewed license. The Department shall notify the applicant or licensee that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days after the notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application, without hearing. After termination or denial, the person seeking a license must apply to the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish a fee for the processing of an application for restoration of a license to pay all of the expenses of processing the application. The Secretary may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the penalties or fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)

225 ILCS 458/15-60

    (225 ILCS 458/15-60)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 15-60. Cease and desist orders. The Department may issue cease and desist orders to persons who engage in activities prohibited by this Act. Any person in violation of a cease and desist order issued by the Department is subject to all of the penalties provided by law.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-65

    (225 ILCS 458/15-65)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 15-65. Confidentiality. All information collected by the Department in the course of an examination or investigation of a licensee or applicant, including, but not limited to, any complaint against a licensee filed with the Department and information collected to investigate any such complaint, shall be maintained for the confidential use of the Department and shall not be disclosed. The Department may not disclose the information to anyone other than law enforcement officials, other regulatory agencies that have an appropriate regulatory interest as determined by the Secretary, or to a party presenting a lawful subpoena to the Department. Information and documents disclosed to a federal, State, county, or local law enforcement agency shall not be disclosed by the agency for any purpose to any other agency or person. A formal complaint filed against a licensee by the Department or any order issued by the Department against a licensee or applicant shall be a public record, except as otherwise prohibited by law.
(Source: P.A. 97-602, eff. 8-26-11.)

225 ILCS 458/Art. 20

    (225 ILCS 458/Art. 20 heading)
(Scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)

225 ILCS 458/20-5

    (225 ILCS 458/20-5)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 20-5. Education providers.
    (a) No person shall operate an education provider entity without possessing an active license issued by the Department. Only education providers licensed or otherwise approved by the Department may provide the qualifying and continuing education courses required for licensure under this Act. Every person that desires to obtain an education provider license shall make application to the Department in a manner prescribed by the Department and pay the fee prescribed by rule.
    (b) A person or entity seeking to be licensed as an education provider under this Act shall provide satisfactory evidence of the following:
        (1) a sound financial base for establishing,
promoting, and delivering the necessary courses;
        (2) (blank);
        (3) (blank);
        (4) (blank);
        (5) a qualified administrator, who is responsible for
the administration of the education provider, courses, and the actions of the instructors;
        (6) any other requirements as provided by rule; and
        (7) proof of good standing with the Secretary of
State and authority to conduct businesses in this State.
    (c) All applicants for an education provider's license shall make initial application to the Department on forms provided by the Department, or through a multi-state licensing system as designated by the Secretary, and pay the appropriate fee as provided by rule. The term, expiration date, and renewal of an education provider's license shall be established by rule.
    (d) An education provider shall provide each successful course participant with a certificate of completion signed by the school administrator. The format and content of the certificate shall be specified by rule.
    (e) All education providers shall provide to the Department a monthly roster of all successful course participants as provided by rule.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)

225 ILCS 458/20-10

    (225 ILCS 458/20-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 20-10. Course approval.
    (a) Only courses offered by licensed education providers and approved by the Department, courses approved by the AQB, or courses approved by jurisdictions monitored by the Appraisal Subcommittee shall be used to meet the requirements of this Act and rules.
    (b) An education provider licensed under this Act may submit courses to the Department, or through a multi-state licensing system as designated by the Secretary, for approval. The criteria, requirements, and fees for courses shall be established by rule in accordance with this Act and the criteria established by the AQB.
    (c) For each course approved, the Department shall issue a license to the education provider. The term, expiration date, and renewal of a course approval shall be established by rule.
    (d) An education provider must use an instructor for each course approved by the Department who (i) holds a valid real estate appraisal license in good standing as a State certified general real estate appraiser or a State certified residential real estate appraiser in Illinois or any other jurisdiction monitored by the Appraisal Subcommittee, (ii) holds a valid teaching certificate issued by the State of Illinois, (iii) is a faculty member in good standing with an accredited college or university or community college, or (iv) satisfies requirements established by rule.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)

225 ILCS 458/Art. 25

    (225 ILCS 458/Art. 25 heading)
(Scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)