Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(55 ILCS 5/) Counties Code.

55 ILCS 5/Div. 5-9

    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 5-9 heading)
Division 5-9. Motor Vehicle Races and Stunts

55 ILCS 5/5-9001

    (55 ILCS 5/5-9001) (from Ch. 34, par. 5-9001)
    Sec. 5-9001. Necessity of permit. In counties having a population of 500,000 or less inhabitants, no person, other than a county fair association, state fair or other not for profit association or corporation, shall hold any motor vehicle race or motor vehicle stunt event unless he obtains a written permit to do so from the county board of such county wherein the race or event is to take place.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)

55 ILCS 5/5-9002

    (55 ILCS 5/5-9002) (from Ch. 34, par. 5-9002)
    Sec. 5-9002. Fees. Each county board shall fix a permit fee not to exceed $100 for all races and events held by a person, other than a county fair association, state fair or other not for profit association or corporation, on a single day. Each permit shall specify the day or days for which the permit is effective. Provided, however, that if the race or event for which such permit is issued, is rained out or postponed for other good cause shown, the permit shall be valid for use within the next 8 days of the date specified in the permit. No permit shall be issued unless the fee is fully paid in advance of issuance. The county board shall pay one-half of each fee into the county treasury and shall transfer the remainder to the road and bridge fund of the township or road district wherein the race or event takes place.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)