Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(410 ILCS 83/) Illinois Clean Public Elevator Air Act.

410 ILCS 83/1

    (410 ILCS 83/1) (was 720 ILCS 560/1)
    Sec. 1. This Act shall be known and may be cited as the "Illinois Clean Public Elevator Air Act".
(Source: P.A. 86-367.)

410 ILCS 83/2

    (410 ILCS 83/2) (was 720 ILCS 560/2)
    Sec. 2. The General Assembly finds that smoking on elevators is a fire hazard and a danger to public safety and that tobacco smoke is annoying, harmful and dangerous to human beings and a hazard to public health.
(Source: P.A. 86-367.)

410 ILCS 83/3

    (410 ILCS 83/3) (was 720 ILCS 560/3)
    Sec. 3. No person shall smoke or possess a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe or any other form of tobacco or similar substance used for smoking on any elevator in this State.
(Source: P.A. 86-367.)

410 ILCS 83/4

    (410 ILCS 83/4) (was 720 ILCS 560/4)
    Sec. 4. Any person who violates the provisions of this Act is guilty of a petty offense punishable by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $250.
(Source: P.A. 86-367.)