Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(20 ILCS 4003/) Mississippi River Coordinating Council Act.

20 ILCS 4003/1

    (20 ILCS 4003/1)
    Sec. 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Mississippi River Coordinating Council Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-996, eff. 1-1-07.)

20 ILCS 4003/5

    (20 ILCS 4003/5)
    Sec. 5. Legislative Purpose. The Mississippi River is the primary water artery for the economic development of the United States. The restoration and conservation of the Mississippi River and its tributaries is in the economic and ecological interest of the citizens of this State. It is further in the public interest to establish, implement and monitor water management projects run by local, state, federal and not-for-profit entities.
(Source: P.A. 94-996, eff. 1-1-07.)

20 ILCS 4003/10

    (20 ILCS 4003/10)
    Sec. 10. Mississippi River Coordinating Council.
    (a) There is established the Mississippi River Coordinating Council (Council), consisting of 16 voting members to be appointed by the Governor. One member shall be the Lieutenant Governor who shall serve as a voting member and as chairperson of the Council. The agency members of the Council shall include the Directors, or their designees, of the following: the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, the Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Transportation. In addition, the Council shall include one member representing Soil and Water Conservation Districts located in the proximity of the Mississippi River and its tributaries, and 8 members representing local communities, not-for-profit organizations working to protect the Mississippi River and its tributaries, businesses, agriculture, recreation, conservation, and the environment, 2 of which must reside within a county that is adjacent to the Mississippi River.
    (b) The Governor may appoint, as ex-officio members, individuals representing the interests of the states who border the Mississippi River and individuals representing federal agencies.
    (c) Members of the Council shall serve 2-year terms, except that of the initial appointments, 5 members shall be appointed to serve 3-year terms and 4 members to serve one-year terms.
    (d) The Council shall meet at least quarterly.
    (e) The Office of the Lieutenant Governor shall be responsible for the operations of the Council, including, without limitation, funding and oversight of the Council's activities. The Office may reimburse members of the Council for travel expenses.
    (f) This Section is subject to the provisions of Section 405-500 of the Department of Central Management Services Law.
    (g) The members of the Council shall appoint one member of the Council to serve as the Illinois representative to the National Mississippi River Parkway Commission.
(Source: P.A. 100-695, eff. 8-3-18.)

20 ILCS 4003/15

    (20 ILCS 4003/15)
    Sec. 15. Duties of the Council.
    (a) The Council shall:
        (1) periodically review activities and programs
administered by State and federal agencies that directly impact the Mississippi River and its tributaries;
        (2) work with local communities and organizations
to encourage partnerships that enhance awareness and capabilities to address watershed and water resource concerns and to encourage strategies that protect, restore, and expand critical habitats and soil conservation and water quality practices;
        (3) work with State and federal agencies to
optimize the expenditure of funds affecting the Mississippi River and its tributaries;
        (4) advise and make recommendations to the Governor
and State agencies on ways to better coordinate the expenditure of appropriated funds affecting the Mississippi River and its tributaries;
        (5) encourage local communities to develop water
management plans to address stormwater, erosion, flooding, sedimentation, and pollution problems and encourage projects for the natural conveyance and storage of floodwaters, the enhancement of wildlife habitat and outdoor recreation opportunities, the recovery, management, and conservation of the Mississippi River and its tributaries, the preservation of farmland, prairies, and forests, and the use of measurable economic development efforts that are compatible with the ecological health of the State; and
        (6) help identify possible sources of additional
funding for Mississippi River water management projects and projects and activities related to the Great River Road, a national scenic and recreational highway.
    (b) Subject to appropriation, the Council may pay for a membership to the National Mississippi River Commission.
(Source: P.A. 97-178, eff. 7-22-11.)

20 ILCS 4003/20

    (20 ILCS 4003/20)
    Sec. 20. Agency duties. State agencies represented on the Council shall provide to the Council, on request, information concerning agency programs, data, and activities that impact the restoration and preservation of the Mississippi River and its tributaries. The Secretary of Transportation, the Director of Agriculture, the Director of the Environmental Protection Agency, the Director of Natural Resources, and the Director of Commerce and Economic Opportunity shall each designate at least one employee from his or her respective agency to assist the Council.
(Source: P.A. 100-695, eff. 8-3-18.)