Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

820 ILCS 219/85

    (820 ILCS 219/85)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-705)
    Sec. 85. Civil penalties.
    (a) After an inspection of a workplace under this Act, if the Director issues a citation, he or she shall, within 5 days after issuing the citation, notify the employer by certified mail of any civil penalty proposed to be assessed for the violation set forth in the citation.
    (b) If the Director has reason to believe that an employer has failed to correct a violation for which a citation has been issued within the period permitted for its correction, the Director shall notify the employer by certified mail of that failure and of the civil penalty proposed to be assessed for that failure.
    (c) Civil penalties authorized under this Section are as follows:
        (1) A public employer that repeatedly violates
    
this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any combination of those Acts, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 per violation.
        (2) A public employer that intentionally violates
    
this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, or who demonstrates plain indifference to any provision of any of those Acts or any such standard, rule, regulation, or order, may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $10,000.
        (3) A public employer that has received a
    
citation for a serious violation of this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, may be assessed a civil penalty up to $1,000 for each such violation.
        (4) A public employer that has received a
    
citation for a violation of this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, which is not a serious violation, may be assessed a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each such violation.
        (5) A public employer that violates a posting
    
requirement is subject to the following citations and proposed penalty structure:
            (A) Job Safety and Health Poster: an other
        
than serious citation and a proposed penalty of $1,000.
            (B) Annual Summary of Work-Related Injuries and
        
Illnesses (OSHA Form 300A): an other than serious citation and a proposed penalty of $1,000, even if there are no recordable injuries or illnesses.
            (C) Citation: an other than serious citation and
        
a proposed penalty of $1,000.
        (6) A public employer that fails to correct a
    
violation for which a citation has been issued within the period permitted may be assessed a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each day the violation continues.
    (d) For purposes of this Section, a "serious violation" shall be deemed to exist in a workplace if there is a substantial probability that death or serious physical harm could result from (i) a condition which exists or (ii) one or more practices, means, methods, operations, or processes which have been adopted or are in use in the workplace, unless the employer did not know and could not, with the exercise of reasonable diligence, have known of the presence of the violation.
    (e) The Director may assess civil penalties as provided in this Section, giving due consideration to the appropriateness of the penalty. A penalty may be reduced by the Director or the Director's authorized representative based on the public employer's good faith, size of business, and history of previous violations.
    (f) The Attorney General may bring an action in the circuit court to enforce the collection of any civil penalty assessed under this Act.
    (g) All civil penalties collected under this Act shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund of the State of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 98-874, eff. 1-1-15.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-705)
    Sec. 85. Civil penalties.
    (a) After an inspection of a workplace under this Act, if the Director issues a citation, he or she shall, within 5 days after issuing the citation, notify the employer by certified mail, or by email to an email address previously designated by the employer for purposes of receiving notice under this Act, of any civil penalty proposed to be assessed for the violation set forth in the citation.
    (b) If the Director has reason to believe that an employer has failed to correct a violation for which a citation has been issued within the period permitted for its correction, the Director shall notify the employer by certified mail, or by email to an email address previously designated by the employer for purposes of receiving notice under this Act, of that failure and of the civil penalty proposed to be assessed for that failure.
    (c) Civil penalties authorized under this Section are as follows:
        (1) A public employer that repeatedly violates
    
this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any combination of those Acts, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 per violation.
        (2) A public employer that intentionally violates
    
this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, or who demonstrates plain indifference to any provision of any of those Acts or any such standard, rule, regulation, or order, may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 per violation.
        (3) A public employer that has received a
    
citation for a serious violation of this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, may be assessed a civil penalty up to $1,000 for each such violation.
        (4) A public employer that has received a
    
citation for a violation of this Act, the Safety Inspection and Education Act, or the Health and Safety Act, or any standard, rule, regulation, or order under any of those Acts, which is not a serious violation, may be assessed a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each such violation.
        (5) A public employer that violates a posting
    
requirement is subject to the following citations and proposed penalty structure:
            (A) Job Safety and Health Poster: an other
        
than serious citation and a proposed penalty of $1,000.
            (B) Annual Summary of Work-Related Injuries and
        
Illnesses (OSHA Form 300A): an other than serious citation and a proposed penalty of $1,000, even if there are no recordable injuries or illnesses.
            (C) Citation: an other than serious citation and
        
a proposed penalty of $1,000.
        (6) A public employer that fails to correct a
    
violation for which a citation has been issued within the time period permitted may be assessed a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each day the violation continues.
    (d) For purposes of this Section, a "serious violation" shall be deemed to exist in a workplace if there is a substantial probability that death or serious physical harm could result from (i) a condition which exists or (ii) one or more practices, means, methods, operations, or processes which have been adopted or are in use in the workplace, unless the employer did not know and could not, with the exercise of reasonable diligence, have known of the presence of the violation.
    (e) The Director may assess civil penalties as provided in this Section, giving due consideration to the appropriateness of the penalty. A penalty may be reduced by the Director or the Director's authorized representative based on the public employer's good faith, size of business, and history of previous violations.
    (f) The Attorney General may bring an action in the circuit court to enforce the collection of any civil penalty assessed under this Act.
    (g) All civil penalties collected under this Act shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund of the State of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 102-705, eff. 1-1-23.)