Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
820 ILCS 105/3
(820 ILCS 105/3)
(from Ch. 48, par. 1003)
As used in this Act:
(a) "Director" means the Director of the Department of Labor, and
"Department" means the Department of Labor.
(b) "Wages" means compensation due to an employee by reason of his
employment, including allowances determined by the Director in
accordance with the provisions of this Act for gratuities and, when
furnished by the employer, for meals and lodging actually used by the
(c) "Employer" includes any individual, partnership, association,
corporation, limited liability company, business trust, governmental or quasi-governmental body, or
any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the
interest of an employer in relation to an employee, for which one or
more persons are gainfully employed on some day within a calendar year.
An employer is subject to this Act in a calendar year on and after the
first day in such calendar year in which he employs one or more persons,
and for the following calendar year.
(d) "Employee" includes any individual permitted to work by an
employer in an occupation, and includes, notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection (d), one or more domestic workers as defined in Section 10 of the Domestic Workers' Bill of Rights Act, but does not include any individual permitted
(1) For an employer employing fewer than 4 employees
exclusive of the employer's parent, spouse or child or other members of his immediate family.
(2) As an employee employed in agriculture or
aquaculture (A) if such employee is employed by an employer who did not, during any calendar quarter during the preceding calendar year, use more than 500 man-days of agricultural or aquacultural labor, (B) if such employee is the parent, spouse or child, or other member of the employer's immediate family, (C) if such employee (i) is employed as a hand harvest laborer and is paid on a piece rate basis in an operation which has been, and is customarily and generally recognized as having been, paid on a piece rate basis in the region of employment, (ii) commutes daily from his permanent residence to the farm on which he is so employed, and (iii) has been employed in agriculture less than 13 weeks during the preceding calendar year, (D) if such employee (other than an employee described in clause (C) of this subparagraph): (i) is 16 years of age or under and is employed as a hand harvest laborer, is paid on a piece rate basis in an operation which has been, and is customarily and generally recognized as having been, paid on a piece rate basis in the region of employment, (ii) is employed on the same farm as his parent or person standing in the place of his parent, and (iii) is paid at the same piece rate as employees over 16 are paid on the same farm.
(4) As an outside salesman.
(5) As a member of a religious corporation or
(6) At an accredited Illinois college or university
employed by the college or university at which he is a student who is covered under the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as heretofore or hereafter amended.
(7) For a motor carrier and with respect to whom the
U.S. Secretary of Transportation has the power to establish qualifications and maximum hours of service under the provisions of Title 49 U.S.C. or the State of Illinois under Section 18b-105 (Title 92 of the Illinois Administrative Code, Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers) of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
(8) As an employee employed as a player who is 28
years old or younger, a manager, a coach, or an athletic trainer by a minor league professional baseball team not affiliated with a major league baseball club, if (A) the minor league professional baseball team does not operate for more than 7 months in any calendar year or (B) during the preceding calendar year, the minor league professional baseball team's average receipts for any 6-month period of the year were not more than 33 1/3% of its average receipts for the other 6 months of the year.
The above exclusions from the term "employee" may be further defined
by regulations of the Director.
(e) "Occupation" means an industry, trade, business or class of work
in which employees are gainfully employed.
(f) "Gratuities" means voluntary monetary contributions to an
employee from a guest, patron or customer in connection with services
(g) "Outside salesman" means an employee regularly engaged in making
sales or obtaining orders or contracts for services where a major
portion of such duties are performed away from his employer's place of
(h) "Day camp" means a seasonal recreation program in operation for no more than 16 weeks intermittently throughout the calendar year, accommodating for profit or under philanthropic or charitable auspices, 5 or more children under 18 years of age, not including overnight programs. The term "day camp" does not include a "day care agency", "child care facility" or "foster family home" as licensed by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.
(Source: P.A. 99-758, eff. 1-1-17; 100-192, eff. 8-18-17.)