Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
815 ILCS 513/20
(815 ILCS 513/20)
Consumer rights brochure.
(a) For any contract over $1,000, any
person engaging in the business
of home repair and remodeling shall provide to its customers a copy of the
"Home Repair: Know Your Consumer Rights" pamphlet prior to the execution of any
home repair and remodeling contract. The consumer shall sign and date an
acknowledgment form entitled "Consumer Rights Acknowledgment Form" that states:
"I, the homeowner, have received from the contractor a copy of the pamphlet
entitled 'Home Repair: Know Your Consumer Rights.'" The contractor or his or
her representative shall also sign and date the acknowledgment form, which
includes the name and address of the home repair and remodeling business. The
acknowledgment form shall be in duplicate and incorporated into the pamphlet.
The original acknowledgment form shall be retained by the contractor and the
duplicate copy shall be retained within the pamphlet by the consumer.
(b) For any contract for $1,000 or under, any person engaging in the
of home repair and remodeling shall provide to its customers a copy of the
"Home Repair: Know Your Consumer Rights" pamphlet. No written acknowledgment
of receipt of the pamphlet is required for a contract of $1,000 or under.
pamphlet must be a separate
document, in at least 12 point type, and in legible ink. The pamphlet shall
read as follows:
"HOME REPAIR: KNOW YOUR CONSUMER RIGHTS
As you plan for your home repair/improvement project, it is important to
ask the right questions in order to protect your investment. The tips in this
fact sheet should allow you to protect yourself and minimize the possibility
that a misunderstanding may occur.
AVOIDING HOME REPAIR FRAUD
Please use extreme caution when confronted with the following warning signs of
a potential scam:
(1) Door-to-door salespersons with no local connections who offer to do
home repair work for substantially less than the market price.
(2) Solicitations for repair work from a company that lists only a
telephone number or a post-office box number to contact, particularly if it is
(3) Contractors who fail to provide customers references when requested.
(4) Persons offering to inspect your home for free. Do not admit anyone
into your home unless he or she can present authentic identification
establishing his or her business status. When in doubt, do not hesitate to
worker's employer to verify his or her identity.
(5) Contractors demanding cash payment for a job or who ask you to make a
check payable to a person other than the owner or company name.
(6) Offers from a contractor to drive you to the bank to withdraw funds to
pay for the work.
(1) Get all estimates in writing.
(2) Do not be induced into signing a contract by high-pressure sales
(3) Never sign a contract with blank spaces or one you do not fully
understand. If you are taking out a loan to finance the work, do not sign the
contract before your lender approves the loan.
(4) Remember, you have 3 business days (or as provided in Section 22 if you are age 65 or older) from the time you sign your
to cancel any contract if the sale is made at your home. The contractor cannot
deprive you of this right by initiating work, selling your contract to a
lender, or any other tactic.
(5) If the contractor does business under a name other than the
real name, the business must either be incorporated or registered under the
Assumed Business Name Act. Check with the Secretary of State to see if the
incorporated or with the county clerk to see if the business has registered
under the Assumed Business Name Act.
(6) Homeowners should check with local and county units of government to
determine if permits or inspections are required.
(7) Determine whether the contractor will guarantee his or her work and
(8) Determine whether the contractor has the proper insurance.
(9) Do not sign a certificate of completion or make final payment until
work is done to your satisfaction.
(10) Before you pay your contractor, understand that the Mechanics Lien Act requires that you shall request and the contractor shall give you a signed and notarized written statement (known as a "Sworn Statement") that lists all the persons or companies your contractor hired to work on your home, their addresses along with the amounts about to be paid, and the total amount owed after the payment to those persons or companies.
Suppliers and subcontractors have a right to file a lien against your home if they do not get paid for their labor or materials. To protect yourself against liens, you should demand that your contractor provide you with a Sworn Statement before you pay the contractor. You should also obtain lien waivers from all contractors and subcontractors if appropriate. You should consult with an attorney to learn more about your rights and obligations under the Mechanics Lien Act.
Disclaimer: The contents of this paragraph are required to be placed in the pamphlet for consumer guidance and information only. The contents of this paragraph are not substantive enforceable provisions of the Home Repair and Remodeling Act and are not intended to affect the substantive law of the Mechanics Lien Act.
BASIC TERMS TO BE INCLUDED IN A CONTRACT
(1) Contractor's full name, address, and telephone number. Illinois law
persons selling home repair and improvement services provide their customers
with notice of any change to their business name or address that comes about
prior to the agreed dates for beginning or completing the work.
(2) A description of the work to be performed.
(3) Starting and estimated completion dates.
(4) Total cost of work to be performed.
(5) Schedule and method of payment, including down payment, subsequent
payments, and final payment.
(6) A provision stating the grounds for termination of the contract by
either party. However, the homeowner must pay the contractor for work
completed. If the contractor fails to commence or complete work within the
contracted time period, the homeowner may cancel and may be entitled to a
refund of any down payment
or other payments made towards the work, upon written demand by certified mail.
(7) A provision stating the grounds for termination of the contract if you are notified by your insurer that all or any part of the claim or contract is not a covered loss under the insurance policy, you may cancel the contract by mailing or delivering written notice to (name of contractor) at (address of contractor's place of business) at any time prior to the earlier of midnight on the fifth business day after you have received such notice from your insurer or the thirtieth business day after receipt of a properly executed proof of loss by the insurer from the insured. If you cancel, any payments made by you under the contract will be returned to you within 10 business days following receipt by the contractor of your cancellation notice. If, however, the contractor has provided any goods or services related to a catastrophe, acknowledged and agreed to by the insured homeowner in writing to be necessary to prevent damage to the premises, the contractor is entitled to the reasonable value of such goods and services.
Homeowners should obtain a copy of the signed contract and keep it in a safe
place for reference as needed.
To file a complaint against a roofing contractor, contact the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation at 312-814-6910 or file a complaint directly on its website.
IF YOU THINK YOU HAVE BEEN DEFRAUDED OR YOU HAVE QUESTIONS
If you think you have been defrauded by a contractor or have any questions,
it to the attention of your State's Attorney or the Illinois Attorney General's
Attorney General Toll-Free Numbers
(Source: P.A. 100-670, eff. 1-1-19; 101-264, eff. 8-9-19.)