Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

775 ILCS 50/20

    (775 ILCS 50/20)
    Sec. 20. Penalties.
    (a) A business or establishment identified in subsection (a) of Section 5 that fails to comply with the requirements of this Act within 30 days of receipt of a notice described in subsection (b) is guilty of a petty offense, and subject to a fine of up to $500 for each violation.
    (b) The governmental entity regulating a business or establishment and local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall, in the course of regulating a business or establishment or carrying out law enforcement duties, monitor and enforce compliance with this Act. Upon discovering a violation, the governmental entity or local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall provide the business or establishment with reasonable notice of noncompliance that informs the business or establishment that it is subject to a fine if it does not correct the violation within 30 days from the date the notice is sent to the business or establishment.
    (c) If the governmental entity regulating a business or establishment or local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction verifies that the violation was not corrected within the 30-day period described in subsection (b), the Attorney General or State's Attorney may prosecute a violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 99-99, eff. 1-1-16; 100-671, eff. 1-1-19.)