Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

770 ILCS 95/7.10

    (770 ILCS 95/7.10)
    Sec. 7.10. Late fees.
    (a) A reasonable late fee may be imposed and collected by an owner for each service period that an occupant does not pay rent when due under a rental agreement, provided that the due date for the rental payment is not earlier than the day before the first day of the service period to which the rental payment applies. No late payment fee shall be assessed unless the rental fee remains unpaid for at least 5 days after the date specified in the rental agreement for payment of the rental fee.
    (b) No late fee may be collected pursuant to this Section unless the amount of that fee and the conditions for imposing that fee are stated in the rental agreement or in an addendum to that agreement.
    (c) For purposes of this Section, a late fee of $20 or 20% of the rental fee for each month an occupant does not pay rent, whichever is greater, is deemed reasonable and does not constitute a penalty.
    (d) Any reasonable expense incurred as a result of rent collection or lien enforcement by an owner may be charged to the occupant in addition to the late fees permitted by this Section. If any such expenses are charged, they shall be identified on an itemized list that is available to the occupant.
(Source: P.A. 97-599, eff. 8-26-11.)