Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

770 ILCS 90/1

    (770 ILCS 90/1) (from Ch. 141, par. 1)
    Sec. 1. Except as provided in the Uniform Commercial Code in sections 7-209, 7-210, 7-307 and 7-308 regarding the lien and foreclosure provisions for warehousemen and carriers and except as provided in the Self-Service Storage Facility Act, enacted by the Eighty-Third General Assembly, whenever any trunk, carpet-bag, valise, bundle, package, or article of property, transported, or coming into the possession of any railroad or express company, or any other common carrier, or innkeeper or warehouseman, or private warehouse-keeper, in the course of its or his business as common carrier, innkeeper, warehouseman or private warehouse-keeper remains unclaimed and the legal charges thereon unpaid during the space of 6 months after its arrival at the point to which it shall have been directed, and the owner or person to whom the same is consigned cannot be found upon diligent inquiry, or, being found and notified of the arrival of such article, refuses or neglects to receive the same and pay the legal charges thereon for the space of 3 months, it shall be lawful for such common carrier, innkeeper, warehouseman or private warehouse-keeper to sell such article at public auction, after giving the owner or consignee 15 days' notice of the time and place of sale, through the post office, and by advertising in a newspaper published in the county where such sale is made, and out of the proceeds of such sale to pay all legal charges on such articles, and the overplus, if any, shall be paid to the owner or the consignee upon demand.
(Source: P.A. 83-800.)