Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

770 ILCS 60/35

    (770 ILCS 60/35) (from Ch. 82, par. 35)
    Sec. 35. Satisfaction or release; recording; neglect; penalty.
    (a) Whenever a claim for lien has been filed with the recorder of deeds, either by the contractor or sub-contractor, and is paid with cost of filing same, or where there is a failure to institute suit to enforce the same after demand as provided in the preceding Section within the time by this Act limited the person filing the same or some one by him duly authorized in writing so to do, shall acknowledge satisfaction or release thereof, in writing, on written demand of the owner, lienor, or any person interested in the real estate, or his or her agent or attorney, and on neglect to do so for 10 days after such written demand he or she shall be liable to the owner for the sum of $2,500, which may be recovered in a civil action together with the costs and the reasonable attorney's fees of the owner, lienor, or other person interested in the real estate, or his or her agent or attorney incurred in bringing such action.
    (b) Such a satisfaction or release of lien may be filed with the recorder of deeds in whose office the claim for lien had been filed and when so filed shall forever thereafter discharge and release the claim for lien and shall bar all actions brought or to be brought thereupon.
    (c) The release of lien shall have the following imprinted thereon in bold letters at least 1/4 inch in height: "FOR THE PROTECTION OF THE OWNER, THIS RELEASE SHOULD BE FILED WITH THE RECORDER IN WHOSE OFFICE THE CLAIM FOR LIEN WAS FILED." The Recorder in whose office the claim for lien had been filed, upon receipt of a release and the payment of the recording fee, shall record the release.
(Source: P.A. 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)