Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

765 ILCS 1030/2

    (765 ILCS 1030/2) (from Ch. 141, par. 142)
    Sec. 2. (a) Such property believed to be abandoned, lost or stolen or otherwise illegally possessed shall be retained in custody by the sheriff, chief of police or other principal official of the law enforcement agency, which shall make reasonable inquiry and efforts to identify and notify the owner or other person entitled to possession thereof, and shall return the property after such person provides reasonable and satisfactory proof of his ownership or right to possession and reimburses the agency for all reasonable expenses of such custody.
    (b) Weapons that have been confiscated as a result of having been abandoned or illegally possessed may be transferred to the Illinois State Police for use by the crime laboratory system, for training purposes, or for any other application as deemed appropriate by the Department, if no legitimate claim is made for the confiscated weapon within 6 months of the date of confiscation, or within 6 months of final court disposition if such confiscated weapon was used for evidentiary purposes.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)