Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
740 ILCS 45/6.1
(740 ILCS 45/6.1)
(from Ch. 70, par. 76.1)
Right to compensation.
A person is entitled to compensation
under this Act if:
(a) Within 5 years of the occurrence of the crime, or
within one year after a criminal charge of a person for an offense, upon which the claim is based, the applicant presents an application, under oath, to the Attorney General that is filed with the Court of Claims and on a form prescribed in accordance with Section 7.1 furnished by the Attorney General. If the person entitled to compensation is under 18 years of age or under other legal disability at the time of the occurrence or is determined by a court to be under a legal disability as a result of the occurrence, he or she may present the application required by this subsection within 3 years after he or she attains the age of 18 years or the disability is removed, as the case may be. Legal disability includes a diagnosis of posttraumatic stress disorder.
(a-1) The Attorney General and the Court of Claims
may accept an application presented after the period provided in subsection (a) if the Attorney General determines that the applicant had good cause for a delay.
(b) For all crimes of violence, except those listed
in subsection (b-1) of this Section, the appropriate law enforcement officials were notified within 72 hours of the perpetration of the crime allegedly causing the death or injury to the victim or, in the event such notification was made more than 72 hours after the perpetration of the crime, the applicant establishes that such notice was timely under the circumstances.
(b-1) For victims of offenses defined in Sections
10-9, 11-1.20, 11-1.30, 11-1.40, 11-1.50, 11-1.60, 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, and 12-16 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, the appropriate law enforcement officials were notified within 7 days of the perpetration of the crime allegedly causing death or injury to the victim or, in the event that the notification was made more than 7 days after the perpetration of the crime, the applicant establishes that the notice was timely under the circumstances. If the applicant or victim has obtained an order of protection, a civil no contact order, or a stalking no contact order, has presented himself or herself to a hospital for medical care or sexual assault evidence collection, or is engaged in a legal proceeding involving a claim that the applicant or victim is a victim of human trafficking, such action shall constitute appropriate notification under this subsection (b-1) or subsection (b) of this Section.
(c) The applicant has cooperated with law enforcement
officials in the apprehension and prosecution of the assailant. If the applicant or victim has obtained an order of protection, a civil no contact order, or a stalking no contact order, has presented himself or herself to a hospital for medical care or sexual assault evidence collection, or is engaged in a legal proceeding involving a claim that the applicant or victim is a victim of human trafficking, such action shall constitute cooperation under this subsection (c). If the victim is under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense, the following shall constitute cooperation under this subsection (c):
(1) the applicant or the victim files a police
report with a law enforcement agency;
(2) a mandated reporter reports the crime to law
(3) a person with firsthand knowledge of the
crime reports the crime to law enforcement.
(d) The applicant is not the offender or an
accomplice of the offender and the award would not unjustly benefit the offender or his accomplice.
(f) For victims of offenses defined in Section 10-9
of the Criminal Code of 2012, the victim submits a statement under oath on a form prescribed by the Attorney General attesting that the removed tattoo was applied in connection with the commission of the offense.
(g) In determining whether cooperation has been
reasonable, the Attorney General and Court of Claims may consider the victim's age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and compelling health and safety concerns, including, but not limited to, a reasonable fear of retaliation or harm that would jeopardize the well-being of the victim or the victim's family, and giving due consideration to the degree of cooperation that the victim or derivative victim is capable of in light of the presence of any of these factors, or any other factor the Attorney General considers relevant.
The changes made to this Section by this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly apply to actions commenced or pending on or after January 1, 2022.
(Source: P.A. 101-652, eff. 7-1-21; 102-27, eff. 6-25-21.)