(b) The clerk of the issuing judge shall, or the petitioner may, on the
same day that a civil no contact order is issued, file a certified copy of that
order with the sheriff or other law enforcement officials charged with
maintaining Illinois State Police records or charged with serving the
order upon the respondent. If the respondent, at the time of the issuance of the order, is committed to the custody of the Illinois Department of Corrections or Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice, or is on parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release, the sheriff or other law enforcement officials charged with maintaining Illinois State Police records shall notify the Department of Corrections or Department of Juvenile Justice within 48 hours of receipt of a copy of the civil no contact order from the clerk of the issuing judge or the petitioner. Such notice shall include the name of the respondent, the respondent's IDOC inmate number or IDJJ youth identification number, the respondent's date of birth, and the LEADS Record Index Number.
(c) Unless the respondent was present in court when the order was
issued, the sheriff, other law enforcement official, or special process server
shall promptly serve that order upon the respondent and file proof of such
service in the manner provided for service of process in civil proceedings. Instead of serving the order upon the respondent, however, the sheriff, other law enforcement official, special process server, or other persons defined in Section 218.1 may serve the respondent with a short form notification as provided in Section 218.1. If
process has not yet been served upon the respondent, it shall be served with
the order or short form notification if such service is made by the sheriff, other law enforcement official, or special process server.
(d) If the person against whom the civil no contact order is issued is
arrested and the written order is issued in accordance with subsection (c) of
Section 214 and received by the custodial law enforcement agency before
the respondent or arrestee is released from custody, the custodial law
enforcement agent shall promptly serve the order upon the respondent or
arrestee before the respondent or arrestee is released from custody. In no
event shall detention of the respondent or arrestee be extended for hearing
on the petition for civil no contact order or receipt of the order issued under
Section 214 of this Act.
(e) Any order extending, modifying, or revoking any civil no contact
order shall be promptly recorded, issued, and served as provided in this
(f) Upon the request of the
petitioner, within 24 hours of the issuance of a civil no contact order, the
clerk of the issuing judge shall
send written notice of the order along with
a certified copy of the order to any school, college, or university at which
petitioner is enrolled.
(Source: P.A. 101-508, eff. 1-1-20; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)