Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 5/5-6-2
(730 ILCS 5/5-6-2)
(from Ch. 38, par. 1005-6-2)
Incidents of Probation and of Conditional Discharge.
(a) When an offender is sentenced to probation or conditional discharge,
the court shall impose a period as provided in Article 4.5 of Chapter V, and
shall specify the conditions under Section 5-6-3.
(b) Multiple terms of probation imposed at the same time shall run
(c) The court may at any time terminate probation or conditional
discharge if warranted by the conduct of the offender and the ends of
justice, as provided in Section 5-6-4.
(c-1) For purposes of this subsection (c-1), a "violent offense" means an offense in which bodily harm is inflicted or force is used against any person or threatened against any person; an offense involving sexual conduct, sexual penetration, or sexual exploitation; an offense involving domestic violence; an offense of domestic battery, violation of an order of protection, stalking, or hate crime; an offense of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol; or an offense involving the possession of a firearm or dangerous weapon. An offender, other than an offender sentenced on a violent offense, shall be entitled to a time credit toward the completion of the offender's probation or conditional discharge as follows:
(1) For obtaining a high school diploma or GED: 90
(2) For obtaining an associate's degree, career
certificate, or vocational technical certification: 120 days.
(3) For obtaining a bachelor's degree: 180 days.
An offender's supervising officer shall promptly and as soon as practicable notify the court of the offender's right to time credits under this subsection (c-1). Upon receipt of this notification, the court shall enter an order modifying the offender's remaining period of probation or conditional discharge to reflect the time credit earned. If, before the expiration of the original period or a reduced period of probation or conditional discharge, the court, after a hearing under Section 5-6-4 of this Code, finds that an offender violated one or more conditions of probation or conditional discharge, the court may order that some or all of the time credit to which the offender is entitled under this Section be forfeited.
(d) Upon the expiration or termination of the period of probation or
of conditional discharge, the court shall enter an order discharging the
(e) The court may extend any period of probation or conditional
discharge beyond the limits set forth in Article 4.5 of Chapter V
a violation of a condition of the probation or conditional discharge, for the
payment of an assessment required by Section 10.3 of the
Cannabis Control Act, Section 411.2 of the Illinois Controlled
Substances Act, or Section 80 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, or for the payment of restitution as
provided by an order of restitution under Section 5-5-6 of this Code.
(e-5) If payment of restitution as ordered has not been made, the victim shall file a
petition notifying the sentencing court, any other person to whom restitution is owed, and
the State's Attorney of the status of the ordered restitution payments unpaid at least 90
days before the probation or conditional discharge expiration date. If payment as ordered has not been made, the
court shall hold a review hearing prior to the expiration date, unless the hearing
is voluntarily waived by the defendant with the knowledge that waiver may result in an
extension of the probation or conditional discharge period or in a revocation of probation or conditional discharge. If the court does not
extend probation or conditional discharge, it shall issue a judgment for the unpaid restitution and direct the clerk
of the circuit court to file and enter the judgment in the judgment and lien docket, without
fee, unless it finds that the victim has recovered a judgment against the
defendant for the amount covered by the restitution order. If the court issues a
judgment for the unpaid restitution, the court shall send to the defendant at his or her last known
address written notification that a civil judgment has been issued for the unpaid
(f) The court may impose a term of probation that is concurrent or consecutive to a term of imprisonment so long as the maximum term imposed does not exceed the maximum term provided under Article 4.5 of Chapter V or Article 8 of this Chapter. The court may provide that probation may commence while an offender is on mandatory supervised release, participating in a day release program, or being monitored by an electronic monitoring device.
(g) The court may extend a term of probation or conditional discharge that was concurrent to, consecutive to, or otherwise interrupted by a term of imprisonment for the purpose of providing additional time to complete an order of restitution.
(Source: P.A. 98-940, eff. 1-1-15; 98-953, eff. 1-1-15; 98-1114, eff. 8-26-14; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)