Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(730 ILCS 5/5-5-10)
Community service fee.
When an offender or
defendant is ordered by the court to perform community service and the
offender is not otherwise assessed a fee for probation services, the court
shall impose a fee of $50
for each month the community service ordered
by the court is
supervised by a probation and court services department, unless after
determining the inability of the person sentenced to community service
to pay the fee, the court assesses a lesser fee. The court shall not impose
a fee on a minor who is placed in the guardianship or custody of the Department of Children and Family Services under the Juvenile
Court Act of 1987. The court shall not impose a fee on a minor subject to Article V of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 or the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian. Except for minors under the age of 18 transferred to adult court or excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction under Article V of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, the fee shall be
imposed only on an offender who is actively supervised by the probation and
court services department. The fee shall be collected by the clerk of the
circuit court. The clerk of the circuit court shall pay all monies
collected from this fee to the county treasurer for deposit in the
probation and court services fund under Section 15.1 of the Probation
and Probation Officers Act.
A circuit court shall not impose a probation fee on a minor subject to the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or on a minor under the age of 18 transferred to adult court or excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction under Article V of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian. In all other instances, a circuit court may not impose a probation fee in excess of
$25 per month unless: (1) the circuit court has adopted, by
administrative order issued by the chief judge, a standard probation fee
guide determining an offender's ability to pay,
under guidelines developed by the Administrative
Office of the Illinois Courts; and (2) the circuit court has authorized, by
administrative order issued by the chief judge, the creation of a Crime
Victim's Services Fund, to be administered by the Chief Judge or his or
her designee, for services to crime victims and their families. Of the
amount collected as a probation fee, not to exceed $5 of that fee
collected per month may be used to provide services to crime victims
and their families.
(Source: P.A. 103-379, eff. 7-28-23.)