Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

730 ILCS 5/3-14-4

    (730 ILCS 5/3-14-4) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-14-4)
    Sec. 3-14-4. Half-way Houses.
    (a) The Department may establish and maintain half-way houses for the residence of persons on parole or mandatory release. Such half-way houses shall be maintained apart from security institutions, except that the Director of Corrections is authorized to designate that any work or day release facility, or any portion thereof, may be used as a half-way house for the residence of persons on parole or mandatory supervised release.
    (b) For those persons to be placed in a half-way house directly upon release from an institution on parole or mandatory supervised release status, not less than 15 days prior to the placement of such a person in such a half-way house, the Department of Corrections shall give written notice to the State's Attorney and the Sheriff of the county and the proper law enforcement agency of the municipality in which the half-way house is located of the identity of the person to be placed in that program. Such identifying information shall include, but not be limited to, the name of the individual, age, physical description, photograph, the crime for which the person was originally sentenced to the Department of Corrections, and like information. The notice shall be given in all cases, except when placement of an emergency nature is necessary. In such emergency cases, oral notice shall be given to the appropriate parties within 24 hours with written notice to follow within 5 days.
    (c) Persons on parole or mandatory supervised release status who have been previously released to the community, but who are not currently residing in a half-way house, may be placed in a half-way house upon the oral notification of the parties within 24 hours as indicated in subsection (b) of this Section. Such oral notification shall be followed with written notification within 5 days.
(Source: P.A. 91-695, eff. 4-13-00.)