Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 5/3-13-4
(730 ILCS 5/3-13-4)
(from Ch. 38, par. 1003-13-4)
Rules and Sanctions.)
(a) The Department shall
establish rules governing release status and shall provide written
copies of such rules to both the committed person on work or day release
and to the employer or other person responsible for the individual.
Such employer or other responsible person shall agree to abide by such
rules, notify the Department of any violation thereof by the individual
on release status, and notify the Department of the discharge of the
person from work or other programs.
(b) If a committed person violates any rule, the Department may
impose sanctions appropriate to the violation. The Department shall
provide sanctions for unauthorized absences which shall include
prosecution for escape under Section 3-6-4.
(c) An order certified by the Director, Assistant Director, or the Supervisor of the Apprehension Unit, or a person
duly designated by him or her, with the seal of the Department of Corrections
attached and directed to all sheriffs, coroners, police officers, or to
any particular persons named in the order shall be sufficient
warrant for the officer or person named therein to arrest and deliver
the violator to the proper correctional official. Such order shall be
executed the same as criminal processes.
In the event that a work-releasee is arrested for another crime, the
sheriff or police officer shall hold the releasee in custody until he
notifies the nearest Office of Field Services or any of the above-named
persons designated in this Section to certify the particular process or
(d) Not less than 15 days prior to any person being placed in a work release
facility, the Department of Corrections shall provide to the State's Attorney
and Sheriff of the county in which the work release center is located, relevant
identifying information concerning the person to be placed in the work release
facility. Such information shall include, but not be limited to, such identifying
information as name, age, physical description, photograph, the offense,
and the sentence for which the person is serving time in the Department
of Corrections, and like information. The Department of Corrections shall,
in addition, give written notice not less than 15 days prior to the
placement to the State's Attorney of the county from which the offender
was originally sentenced.
(Source: P.A. 97-1083, eff. 8-24-12.)