Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

725 ILCS 5/104-23

    (725 ILCS 5/104-23) (from Ch. 38, par. 104-23)
    Sec. 104-23. Unfit defendants. Cases involving an unfit defendant who demands a discharge hearing or a defendant who cannot become fit to stand trial and for whom no special provisions or assistance can compensate for his disability and render him fit shall proceed in the following manner:
    (a) Upon a determination that there is not a substantial probability that the defendant will attain fitness within the time period set in subsection (e) of Section 104-17 of this Code from the original finding of unfitness, a defendant or the attorney for the defendant may move for a discharge hearing pursuant to the provisions of Section 104-25. The discharge hearing shall be held within 120 days of the filing of a motion for a discharge hearing, unless the delay is occasioned by the defendant.
    (b) If at any time the court determines that there is not a substantial probability that the defendant will become fit to stand trial or to plead within the time period set in subsection (e) of Section 104-17 of this Code from the date of the original finding of unfitness, or if at the end of the time period set in subsection (e) of Section 104-17 of this Code from that date the court finds the defendant still unfit and for whom no special provisions or assistance can compensate for his disabilities and render him fit, the State shall request the court:
        (1) To set the matter for hearing pursuant to Section
    
104-25 unless a hearing has already been held pursuant to paragraph (a) of this Section; or
        (2) To release the defendant from custody and to
    
dismiss with prejudice the charges against him; or
        (3) To remand the defendant to the custody of the
    
Department of Human Services and order a hearing to be conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, as now or hereafter amended. The Department of Human Services shall have 7 days from the date it receives the defendant to prepare and file the necessary petition and certificates that are required for commitment under the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code. If the defendant is committed to the Department of Human Services pursuant to such hearing, the court having jurisdiction over the criminal matter shall dismiss the charges against the defendant, with the leave to reinstate. In such cases the Department of Human Services shall notify the court, the State's attorney and the defense attorney upon the discharge of the defendant. A former defendant so committed shall be treated in the same manner as any other civilly committed patient for all purposes including admission, selection of the place of treatment and the treatment modalities, entitlement to rights and privileges, transfer, and discharge. A defendant who is not committed shall be remanded to the court having jurisdiction of the criminal matter for disposition pursuant to subparagraph (1) or (2) of paragraph (b) of this Section.
    (c) If the defendant is restored to fitness and the original charges against him are reinstated, the speedy trial provisions of Section 103-5 shall commence to run.
(Source: P.A. 98-1025, eff. 8-22-14.)