Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 570/406.2

    (720 ILCS 570/406.2)
    Sec. 406.2. Unauthorized possession of prescription form.
    (a) A person commits the offense of unauthorized possession of prescription form when he or she knowingly:
        (1) alters a properly issued prescription form;
        (2) possesses without authorization a blank
prescription form or counterfeit prescription form; or
        (3) possesses a prescription form not issued by a
licensed prescriber.
    (b) Knowledge shall be determined by an evaluation of all circumstances surrounding possession of a blank prescription or possession of a prescription altered or not issued by a licensed prescriber.
    (c) Sentence. Any person who violates subsection (a) is guilty of a Class 4 felony for the first offense and a Class 3 felony for each subsequent offense. The fine for the first offense shall be not more than $100,000. The fine for each subsequent offense shall not be more than $200,000.
    (d) For the purposes of this Section, "licensed prescriber" means a prescriber as defined in this Act or an optometrist licensed under the Illinois Optometric Practice Act of 1987.
(Source: P.A. 95-487, eff. 1-1-08.)