Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(720 ILCS 5/48-7)
Feeding garbage to animals.
(a) Definitions. As used in this Section:
"Department" means the Department of Agriculture of
"Garbage" has the same meaning as in the federal
Swine Health Protection Act (7 U.S.C. 3802) and also includes putrescible vegetable waste. "Garbage" does not include the contents of the bovine digestive tract.
"Person" means any person, firm, partnership,
association, corporation, or other legal entity, any public or private institution, the State, or any municipal corporation or political subdivision of the State.
(b) A person commits feeding garbage to animals when he or she feeds or permits the feeding of garbage to swine or any
animals or poultry on any farm or any other premises where swine are kept.
(c) Establishments licensed under the Illinois Dead Animal Disposal
Act or under similar laws in other states are exempt from the provisions of this Section.
(d) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to apply to any person who
feeds garbage produced in his or her own household to animals or poultry kept on
the premises where he or she resides except this garbage if fed to swine shall not
contain particles of meat.
(e) Sentence. Feeding garbage to animals is a Class B misdemeanor, and for the first
offense shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 and for a
second or subsequent offense shall be fined not less than $200 nor more
than $500 or imprisoned in a penal institution other than the penitentiary
for not more than 6 months, or both.
(f) A person violating this Section may be enjoined by the Department from
continuing the violation.
(g) The Department may make reasonable inspections necessary for the
enforcement of this Section, and is authorized to enforce, and administer the
provisions of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13; 98-785, eff. 1-1-15