Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 5/26.5-3

    (720 ILCS 5/26.5-3)
    Sec. 26.5-3. Harassment through electronic communications.
    (a) A person commits harassment through electronic communications when he or she uses electronic communication for any of the following purposes:
        (1) Making any comment, request, suggestion or
proposal which is obscene with an intent to offend;
        (2) Interrupting, with the intent to harass, the
telephone service or the electronic communication service of any person;
        (3) Transmitting to any person, with the intent to
harass and regardless of whether the communication is read in its entirety or at all, any file, document, or other communication which prevents that person from using his or her telephone service or electronic communications device;
        (4) Transmitting an electronic communication or
knowingly inducing a person to transmit an electronic communication for the purpose of harassing another person who is under 13 years of age, regardless of whether the person under 13 years of age consents to the harassment, if the defendant is at least 16 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense;
        (5) Threatening injury to the person or to the
property of the person to whom an electronic communication is directed or to any of his or her family or household members; or
        (6) Knowingly permitting any electronic
communications device to be used for any of the purposes mentioned in this subsection (a).
    (b) Telecommunications carriers, commercial mobile service providers, and providers of information services, including, but not limited to, Internet service providers and hosting service providers, are not liable under this Section, except for willful and wanton misconduct, by virtue of the transmission, storage, or caching of electronic communications or messages of others or by virtue of the provision of other related telecommunications, commercial mobile services, or information services used by others in violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13.)