Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 135/5-5

    (705 ILCS 135/5-5)
    Sec. 5-5. Minimum fine. Unless otherwise specified by law, the minimum fine for a conviction or supervision disposition on a minor traffic offense is $25 and the minimum fine for a conviction, supervision disposition, or violation based upon a plea of guilty or finding of guilt for any other offense is $75. If the court finds that the fine would impose an undue burden on the victim, the court may reduce or waive the fine. In this Section, "victim" shall not be construed to include the defendant. Except for traffic fines, fines and assessments, such as fees or administrative costs, authorized under this Section shall not be ordered or imposed on a minor subject to Article III, IV, or V of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or a minor under the age of 18 transferred to adult court or excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction under Article V of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian.
(Source: P.A. 103-379, eff. 7-28-23.)