Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 35/1

    (705 ILCS 35/1) (from Ch. 37, par. 72.1)
    Sec. 1. Judicial circuits created. The county of Cook shall be one judicial circuit and the State of Illinois, exclusive of the county of Cook, shall be and is divided into judicial circuits as follows:
    First Circuit--The counties of Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, Pope, Johnson, Union, Jackson, Williamson and Saline.
    Second Circuit--The counties of Hardin, Gallatin, White, Hamilton, Franklin, Wabash, Edwards, Wayne, Jefferson, Richland, Lawrence and Crawford.
    Third Circuit--The counties of Madison and Bond.
    Fourth Circuit--The counties of Clinton, Marion, Clay, Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Montgomery, Shelby, and Christian.
    Fifth Circuit--The counties of Vermilion, Edgar, Clark, Cumberland and Coles.
    Sixth Circuit--The counties of Champaign, Douglas, Moultrie, Macon, DeWitt, and Piatt.
    Seventh Circuit--The counties of Sangamon, Macoupin, Morgan, Scott, Greene, and Jersey.
    Eighth Circuit--The counties of Adams, Schuyler, Mason, Cass, Brown, Pike, Calhoun, and Menard.
    Ninth Circuit--The counties of Knox, Warren, Henderson, Hancock, McDonough, and Fulton.
    Tenth Circuit--The counties of Peoria, Marshall, Putnam, Stark, and Tazewell.
    Eleventh Circuit--The counties of McLean, Livingston, Logan, Ford, and Woodford.
    Twelfth Circuit--The county of Will.
    Thirteenth Circuit--The counties of Bureau, LaSalle, and Grundy.
    Fourteenth Circuit--The counties of Rock Island, Mercer, Whiteside, and Henry.
    Fifteenth Circuit--The counties of Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Carroll, Ogle, and Lee.
    Sixteenth Circuit--The county of Kane.
    Seventeenth Circuit--The counties of Winnebago and Boone.
    Eighteenth Circuit--The county of DuPage.
    Nineteenth Circuit--The county of Lake.
    Twentieth Circuit--Before December 5, 2022, the counties of Randolph, Monroe, St. Clair, Washington, and Perry. On and after December 5, 2022, the county of St. Clair.
    Twenty-first Circuit--The counties of Iroquois and Kankakee.
    Twenty-second Circuit--The county of McHenry.
    Twenty-third Circuit--The counties of DeKalb and Kendall.
    Twenty-fourth Circuit--On and after December 5, 2022, the counties of Randolph, Monroe, Washington, and Perry.
(Source: P.A. 102-380, eff. 8-13-21.)