Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/4-205
(625 ILCS 5/4-205)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-205)
(a) When a law enforcement agency authorizing the impounding of a vehicle
does not know the identity of the registered owner, lienholder or other legally
entitled person, that law enforcement agency will cause the vehicle
registration records of the State of Illinois to be searched by the
Secretary of State for the purpose of obtaining the required ownership
(b) The law enforcement agency authorizing the impounding of a vehicle
will cause the stolen motor vehicle files of the State Police to be
searched by a directed communication to the State Police for stolen or
wanted information on the vehicle. When the State Police files are
searched with negative results, the information contained in the
National Crime Information Center (NCIC) files will be searched by the
State Police. The information determined from these record searches will
be returned to the requesting law enforcement agency for that agency's
use in sending a notification by certified mail to the registered owner,
lienholder and other legally entitled persons advising where the vehicle
is held, requesting a disposition be made and setting forth public sale
information. Notification shall be sent no later than 10 business days after
the date the law enforcement agency impounds or authorizes the impounding of a
vehicle, provided that if the law enforcement agency is unable to determine the
identity of the registered owner, lienholder or other person legally entitled
to ownership of the impounded vehicle within a 10 business day period after
impoundment, then notification shall be sent no later than 2 days after the
date the identity of the registered owner, lienholder or other person legally
entitled to ownership of the impounded vehicle is determined. Exceptions to a
notification by certified mail to the registered owner, lienholder and other
legally entitled persons are set forth in Section 4-209 of this Code.
(c) When ownership information is needed for a
towing service to give notification as required under this Code, the towing
service may cause the vehicle registration records of the State of Illinois to
be searched by the Secretary of State, and in such case, the towing service also shall give notice to all lienholders of record within the time period required for such other notices.
The written request of a towing service, in the form and
containing the information prescribed by the Secretary of State by rule, may be
transmitted to the Secretary of State in person, by U.S.
mail or other delivery service, by facsimile transmission, or by other
means the Secretary of State deems acceptable.
The Secretary of State shall provide the required information, or
a statement that the information was not found in the vehicle registration
records of the State, by U.S. mail or other delivery service, facsimile
transmission, as requested by the towing service, or by other means acceptable
to the Secretary of State.
(d) The Secretary of State may prescribe standards and procedures for
submission of requests for record searches and replies via computer link.
(e) Fees for services provided under this Section shall be in amounts
prescribed by the Secretary of State under Section 3-821.1 of this Code.
Payment may be made by the towing service using cash, any commonly accepted
credit card, or any other means of payment deemed acceptable by the Secretary
(Source: P.A. 95-838, eff. 8-15-08.)