Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/4-107
(625 ILCS 5/4-107)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-107)
Stolen, converted, recovered and unclaimed vehicles.
(a) Every Sheriff, Superintendent of police, Chief of police or other police
officer in command of any Police department in any City, Village or Town of
the State, shall, by the fastest means of communications available to his law
enforcement agency, immediately report to the Illinois State Police, in Springfield,
Illinois, the theft or recovery of any stolen or converted vehicle within
his district or jurisdiction. The report shall give the date of theft,
description of the vehicle including color, year of manufacture,
manufacturer's trade name, manufacturer's series name, body style, vehicle
identification number and license registration number, including the state
in which the license was issued and the year of issuance, together with the
name, residence address, business address, and telephone number of the
owner. The report shall be routed by the originating law enforcement
agency through the Illinois State Police District in which such agency is located.
(b) A registered owner or a lienholder may report the theft by
conversion of a vehicle, to the Illinois State Police, or any other police
department or Sheriff's office. Such report will be accepted as a report
of theft and processed only if a formal complaint is on file and a warrant
(c) An operator of a place of business for garaging, repairing, parking
or storing vehicles for the public, in which a vehicle remains unclaimed,
after being left for the purpose of garaging, repairing, parking or storage,
for a period of 15 days, shall, within 5 days after the expiration of that
period, report the vehicle as unclaimed to the municipal police
when the vehicle is within the corporate limits of any City, Village or
incorporated Town, or the County Sheriff, or State Police when the vehicle
is outside the corporate limits of a City, Village or incorporated Town. This
Section does not apply to any vehicle:
(1) removed to a place of storage by a law
enforcement agency having jurisdiction, in accordance with Sections 4-201 and 4-203 of this Act; or
(2) left under a garaging, repairing, parking, or
storage order signed by the owner, lessor, or other legally entitled person.
Failure to comply with this Section will result in the
forfeiture of storage fees for that vehicle involved.
(d) The Illinois State Police shall keep a complete record of all reports filed
under this Section of the Act. Upon receipt of such report, a careful
search shall be made of the records of the office of the Illinois State Police,
and where it is found that a vehicle reported recovered was stolen in a
County, City, Village or Town other than the County, City, Village or
Town in which it is recovered, the Illinois State Police shall immediately
notify the Sheriff, Superintendent of police, Chief of police, or other
police officer in command of the Sheriff's office or Police
department of the County, City, Village or Town in which the vehicle
was originally reported stolen, giving complete data as to the time
and place of recovery.
(e) Notification of the theft or conversion of a vehicle will be
furnished to the Secretary of State by the Illinois State Police. The Secretary
of State shall place the proper information in the license registration and
title registration files to indicate the theft or conversion of a motor
vehicle or other vehicle. Notification of the recovery of a vehicle
previously reported as a theft or a conversion will be furnished to the
Secretary of State by the Illinois State Police. The Secretary of State shall remove
the proper information from the license registration and title registration
files that has previously indicated the theft or conversion of a vehicle.
The Secretary of State shall suspend the registration of a vehicle upon
receipt of a report from the Illinois State Police that such vehicle was stolen or
(f) When the Secretary of State receives an application for a certificate
of title or an application for registration of a vehicle and it is determined
from the records of the office of the Secretary of State that such vehicle
has been reported stolen or converted, the Secretary of State shall immediately
notify the Illinois State Police or the Secretary of State Department of Police and shall give the Illinois State Police or the Secretary of State Department of Police the name and address
of the person or firm titling or registering the vehicle, together with all
other information contained in the application submitted by such person or
firm. If the Secretary of State Department of Police receives notification under this subsection (f), it shall conduct an investigation concerning the identity of the registered owner of the stolen or converted vehicle.
(g) During the usual course of business the manufacturer of any
vehicle shall place an original manufacturer's vehicle identification
number on all such vehicles manufactured and on any part of such
vehicles requiring an identification number.
(h) Except provided in subsection (h-1), if a manufacturer's vehicle
identification number is missing
or has been removed, changed or mutilated on any vehicle, or any
part of such vehicle requiring an identification number, the Illinois State Police or the Secretary of State Department of Police
shall restore, restamp or reaffix the vehicle identification number plate,
or affix a new plate bearing the original manufacturer's vehicle
identification number on each such vehicle and on all necessary parts of
A vehicle identification number so
restamped, reaffixed or replaced is not falsified, altered or forged
within the meaning of this Act.
(h-1) A person engaged in the repair or servicing of vehicles may reaffix
manufacturer's identification number plate on the same damaged vehicle from
was originally removed, if the person reaffixes the original manufacturer's
number plate in place of the identification number plate affixed on a new
has been installed in the vehicle. The person must notify the Secretary of
State each time
the original manufacturer's identification number plate is reaffixed on a
person must keep a record indicating that the identification number plate
affixed on the
new dashboard has been removed and has been replaced by the manufacturer's
identification number plate originally affixed on the vehicle. The person also
must keep a
record regarding the status and location of the identification number plate
the replacement dashboard.
The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this subsection (h-1).
(h-2) The owner of a vehicle repaired under subsection (h-1) must,
within 90 days of the date of the repairs, contact an officer of the Illinois
State Police Vehicle Inspection Bureau and arrange for an inspection of the
vehicle, by the officer or the officer's designee, at a mutually agreed upon
date and location.
(i) If a vehicle or part of any vehicle is found to
have the manufacturer's identification number removed, altered, defaced or
destroyed, the vehicle or part shall be seized by any law enforcement
agency having jurisdiction and held for the purpose of identification. In the
event that the manufacturer's identification number of a vehicle or part
cannot be identified, the vehicle or part shall be considered contraband, and
no right of property shall exist in any person owning, leasing or possessing
such property, unless the person owning, leasing or possessing the
vehicle or part acquired such without knowledge that the manufacturer's
vehicle identification number has been removed, altered, defaced, falsified
Either the seizing law enforcement agency or the State's Attorney of
the county where the seizure occurred may make an application for an order
of forfeiture to the circuit court in the county of seizure. The
application for forfeiture shall be independent from any prosecution
arising out of the seizure and is not subject to any final determination of
such prosecution. The circuit court shall issue an order forfeiting the
property to the seizing law enforcement agency if the court finds that the
property did not at the time of seizure possess a valid manufacturer's
identification number and that the original manufacturer's identification
number cannot be ascertained. The seizing law enforcement agency may:
(1) retain the forfeited property for official use; or
(2) sell the forfeited property and distribute the
proceeds in accordance with Section 4-211 of this Code, or dispose of the forfeited property in such manner as the law enforcement agency deems appropriate.
(i-1) If a motorcycle is seized under subsection (i), the motorcycle
must be returned within 45 days of the date of seizure to the person from whom
it was seized, unless
(i) criminal charges are pending against that person or (ii) an application
order of forfeiture has been submitted to the circuit in the county of
seizure or (iii) the circuit court in the county of seizure has received from
the seizing law enforcement agency and has granted a petition to extend, for a
single 30 day period, the 45 days allowed for return of the motorcycle. Except
as provided in subsection (i-2), a motorcycle returned to the person from whom
it was seized must be returned in essentially the same condition it was in at
time of seizure.
(i-2) If any part or parts of a motorcycle seized under subsection (i) are
found to be
stolen and are removed, the seizing law enforcement agency is not required to
replace the part or parts before returning the motorcycle to the person from
(j) The Illinois State Police or the Secretary of State Department of Police shall notify the Secretary
each time a manufacturer's vehicle identification number is affixed, reaffixed,
restored or restamped on any vehicle. The Secretary of State shall make
the necessary changes or corrections in his records, after the proper
applications and fees have been submitted, if applicable.
(k) Any vessel, vehicle or aircraft used with knowledge and consent
of the owner in the commission of, or in the attempt to commit as defined
in Section 8-4 of the Criminal Code of 2012, an offense prohibited
by Section 4-103 of this Chapter, including transporting of a stolen vehicle
or stolen vehicle parts, shall be seized by any law enforcement
agency. The seizing law enforcement agency may:
(1) return the vehicle to its owner if such vehicle
(2) confiscate the vehicle and retain it for any
purpose which the law enforcement agency deems appropriate; or
(3) sell the vehicle at a public sale or dispose of
the vehicle in such other manner as the law enforcement agency deems appropriate.
If the vehicle is sold at public sale, the proceeds of the sale shall be
paid to the law enforcement agency.
The law enforcement agency shall not retain, sell or dispose of a vehicle
under paragraphs (2) or (3) of this subsection (k) except upon an order
of forfeiture issued by the circuit court. The circuit court may issue
such order of forfeiture upon application of the law enforcement agency
or State's Attorney of the county where the law enforcement agency has
jurisdiction, or in the case of the Illinois State Police or the
Secretary of State, upon application of the Attorney General.
The court shall issue the order if the owner of the vehicle has been
convicted of transporting stolen vehicles or stolen vehicle parts and the
evidence establishes that the owner's vehicle has been used in the commission
of such offense.
The provisions of subsection (k) of this Section shall not apply to any
vessel, vehicle or aircraft, which has been leased, rented or loaned by
its owner, if the owner did not have knowledge of and consent to the use
of the vessel, vehicle or aircraft in the commission of, or in an attempt
to commit, an offense prohibited by Section 4-103 of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)