Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/3-808
(625 ILCS 5/3-808)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-808)
Governmental and charitable vehicles; Registration fees.
(a) A registration fee of $10 per 2 year registration period
shall be paid by the owner in the following cases:
1. Vehicles operated exclusively as a school bus for
school purposes by any school district or any religious or denominational institution, except that such a school bus may be used by such a religious or denominational institution for the transportation of persons to or from any of its official activities.
2. Vehicles operated exclusively in a high school
driver training program by any school district or school operated by a religious institution.
3. Rescue squad vehicles which are owned and operated
by a corporation or association organized and operated not for profit for the purpose of conducting such rescue operations.
4. Vehicles, used exclusively as school buses for any
school district, which are neither owned nor operated by such district.
5. Charitable vehicles.
(b) Annual vehicle registration plates shall be issued, at no charge,
to the following:
1. Medical transport vehicles owned and operated by
the State of Illinois or by any State agency financed by funds appropriated by the General Assembly.
2. Medical transport vehicles operated by or for any
county, township or municipal corporation.
(c) Ceremonial plates. Upon payment of a registration fee of $98 per 2-year registration period, the Secretary of State shall issue
registration plates to vehicles operated exclusively for ceremonial purposes by
any not-for-profit veterans', fraternal, or civic organization. The Secretary
of State may prescribe that ceremonial vehicle registration plates be issued
for an indefinite term, that term to correspond to the term of registration
plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1.
All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
(d) In any event, any vehicle registered under this Section used or
operated for purposes other than those herein prescribed shall be
subject to revocation, and in that event, the owner may be required to
properly register such vehicle under the provisions of this Code.
(e) As a prerequisite to registration under this Section, the Secretary
of State may require the vehicle owners listed in subsection (a) of this
Section who are exempt from federal income taxation under subsection (c) of
Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as now or
hereafter amended, to submit to him a determination letter, ruling or other
written evidence of tax exempt status issued by the Internal Revenue Service.
The Secretary may accept a certified copy of the document issued by the
Internal Revenue Service as evidence of the exemption. The Secretary may
require documentation of eligibility under this Section to accompany an
application for registration.
(f) Special event plates. The Secretary of State may issue registration
plates in recognition or commemoration of special events which promote the
interests of Illinois citizens. These plates shall be valid for no more
than 60 days
prior to the date of expiration. The Secretary shall require the applicant
for such plates to pay for the costs of furnishing the plates.
Beginning July 1, 1991, all special event plates shall be recorded in the
Secretary of State's files for immediate identification.
The Secretary of State, upon issuing a new series of special event
plates, shall notify all law enforcement officials of the design
and other special features of the special plate series.
All special event plates shall indicate, in the lower right corner, the
date of expiration in characters no less than 1/2 inch high.
(Source: P.A. 96-34, eff. 7-13-09.)